At your service

16 33
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Journal, Diary, Blog, My day, Life, ...

Today has been a little busy day for me. I feel like I am back to working but not totally. Last Sunday my brother called me just to vent out his frustrations with their new business. It was when one of his staffs closed the food cart 30 minutes before closing when there were still people in nearby establishments. There was even a group of people who was going to go to their store but because they already saw that the cart was already closed that they did not proceed anymore. I told him that 30 minutes was too early to close for a food cart business and it can be done in 10 minutes. They are not a restaurant that requires to close their fryer 30 minutes before closing time. As it turns out, one of their staffs had to go home right away since she has a date with her boyfriend that night because they are not allowed to have rest day on Valentine's day.

My brother was really pissed that he wanted to lash out at his staffs but he controled his temper. Honestly, I find my brother a little cute when he was telling me ALL of his complaints. Take note on the word all. LOL. I found out that there are a lot of things that my brother has been noticing with their staffs but he did not say a single word. Now he now knows how I feel whenever I am in a restaurant operation. So he requested for my services and now as of drafting this, I am here at their store observing everything from staffs to display items to operation. I was here since opening and I have already noticed a lot of things and listed it down on my Notes app.

My brother and sister-in-law are just so good that they find it hard to talk to their employees. When it comes to overseeing the store and people handling, I am really strict in a sense that my workmates know that it was purely work. That is why my brother had to request for me so I can help them on how to talk to their employees but I still do not know how I am going to talk to all of them most especially to that particular employee. They do have a supervisor already though the problem is that he is also shy to ask for commands to his staffs. I do admire him for wanting to always move and work around the store. I can see myself in him but if there are some reports that I needed to submit, that is the time that I will sit down and focus in front of a computer.

The last time that my brother requested for me was last December. Thought that time I just wrapped some gift baskets for Christmas gift ideas and because they were still starting with their business, they did not implement any rules. Now that they have another business and an additional work for all the employees, they need to make some rules especially because they are now handling food unlike before that they only sell packaged Korean food and drink items.

I remembered my former area manager who would always have surprise visits once or twice a month to check on the store's overall performance from cleanliness to food quality to uniform to service and a lot more restaurant operations. She would also check on our sales. She hated it whenever you would answer her that you do not know what is happening to your store and your people. All the more if you are not aware how much your sales was because she feels like you are not concern about your store's performance. Everything that I have learned from her, I am applying it here at my brother and sister-in-law's business.

Well kudos to all my brother and sister-in-law's employees as they know everything that is happening in the store. Although this particular employee is more like a supervisor. She really has an attitude as she would not want to wear the uniform that came with the food cart business. What's even more irritating is that when she puts on her hair net, she would not include her bangs. So this morning, my sister-in-law talked to her and she reasoned out that it was the fan in the food cart that made her bangs out of the hair net. Actually, majority of my concerns today are all because of her.

I have already started talking to 2 of their staffs but I do not know how I am going to point out what I saw and what I will be seeing in the coming days. Although I already have an idea on how I/we are going to do it. I think we should pretend that I am my brother's operation's manager. LOL. Being able to work again in a service industry made me miss working in a restaurant. However, I am not sure if it is because I am fat or that it has been too long that I was unemployed but I was always sitting most of the time. I can manage standing for longer hours before plus holding trays of food and beverages but it is not the case now. I would always be seen sitting in the cashier's area and would only stand up if I feel like walking and stretching my legs. This is really bad. I guess I have to challenge myself tomorrow and will let you know about it.

Overall, I am just glad to be able to help my brother and sister-in-law. They kept on messaging me from time to time asking how we were and how much are sales was. I understand that they are just really looking after their first 2 babies and I really hope that their business will be successful and profitable.

February 16, 2022

P.S. lead image is a photo during the grand opening of my brother and sister-in-law's first business.

12
$ 3.77
$ 3.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Shohana
$ 0.03 from @kingofreview
+ 5
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Journal, Diary, Blog, My day, Life, ...

Comments

mas okay na ang kumausap jan is ung pinaka owner talaga sis at aun nga kahit ba kanang kamay kalang ba eh wag mo muna patulan ung mga ganyan wahahha. Kapag paulit ulit na ginagawa or ganyan attitude, saka mo or ninyo bengbangin wahaahah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When workers are responsible and more than a supervisor then the business going to be success. This is one of the good strategies, hardworking and dedicated employees rarely found unfortunately.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is why I was lucky that my team in one of the restaurants that I have worked with in the past were all hardworking and dedicated. They really loved working in the company and we also treated ourselves as family. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ey naku mahirap yang ganyan na naghahanap ng reasons eh obvious naman na ayaw ata sumunod sa mga rules ng business... good thing anjan ka sis...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice sis. Finally responding to your brother's request.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For sure their business will be profitable. Anyway, that kind of workers exist, nagpapa init ng ulo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go bbs, be the best operations manager 🤗 I am pretty sure you can handle them and bring success to your brother's business.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hhaha yes cashier's always sit on thier chairs:) btw yeah there are times when we get super angry but we keep it to ourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, there's always that one person eh no. 😂 Sign na yan na balik ka na sa full time pag manage ng resto, exercise na din diba? Kaya mo yan!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Sign na nga ata itetch. Hahahaha. Kayanin ko pa kaya magbuhat ng mga food trays? Nakakamiss actually magbuhat ng mga trays tapos sabay itataas. 🥰

Sa akin di talaga pwede may nag-aattitude. Gusto ko ako lang nag-aattitude. Hahaha. Kagigil na naman siya kanina. Nag-iinarte. Hinahayaan ko lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit mo hinahayaan? Sampolan mo! Chariz , BI ako. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe you are not used sis that is why you got tired easily. The supervisor should be the one to talk to that employee with attitude. It his/her responsibility to do so. Hehe, it is a good reason for me na shy siya pagsabihan

$ 0.02
2 years ago

May sinasabi si supervisor na reason din bakit ayaw niya pukpukin at magkamay na bakal sa store. Pero gusto ko kasi siya or owner ang kakausap kasi baka mamaya isipin ni attitude na atribida ako. Hahahaha. Kapatid lang naman ako at di mismong owner.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not necessary naman na kamay na bakal, kausapin niya lng. Hahha hindi naman siguro atribida, kapatid ka naman eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With all that you know how to do, I'm sure you'll find a way to talk to employees and get them to follow orders. Best of luck

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Frankmart. 🤗 yes I have already thought of some ways how I am going to talk to her or how I will be able to pass the message to the particular employee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago