A father's love

14 29
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Emotions, Random, Life, Memory, Journal, ...

Of course if there was a mother's love, there should also be a father's love. But first and foremost I want to greet everyone here and your dad a happy father's day. How did you celebrate father's day? I don't really know the details but my brother's family was not able to come but we had video call this afternoon.

The foods that he ordered last night except for the potato salad and chicken wings. The chicken wings were his take out from meeting his friends yesterday. We have eaten half of it last night and we still served it for lunch.


With the Youtube video that I have mentioned yesterday on my previous article, Not my typical evening, I have realized that a parent will really sacrifice everything for their child. I am aware of the sacrifices that my parents did for us in order for us to have a good life. Like with the case of my mom, she had to stop working after she gave birth to me. Though before it was the husband who works for a living and the wife will be the one who would take care of their children. Compared to how it is nowadays where both parents would work and at the same time both of them would take care of their kids. I do not know how it is with other families but it is what I have observed from my cousins and friends. Either they will leave their kids to their grandparents or they have a nanny. After work, they would have their quality time as family.

I forgot where I have mentioned this but my dad had to sacrifice his time for us by working in different regions that were assigned to him here in the Philippines. I think he missed my high school and college graduation. I do not know what he missed during my brother's special events but I know that he missed a lot of our birthdays. Though during our younger days, my brother and I were able to hang out at my dad's office. His driver would pick us in school and bring us to his office. I do not know what time we would go home but as far as I can remember, there were no more employees in the building. My brother and I would play in the whole floor. Yes it was a little scary because the building was old and dark but I was brave because I was with my brother and I know my way back to my dad's office. One of the memories that I can remember was when we would go down the stairs. Our dad's floor was on the 3rd floor and my brother would go down by sliding himself down with his stomach by the rails. Of course I also did that but the first time my brother did it, his school uniform had a long line from his chest down to his stomach because of how dirty the wooden rails were. LOL. Our mom scolded us when she saw how dirty my brother's uniform was.

Whenever my brother and I would enter his whole department, his workmates would say that me and my brother were his juniors as we look after our dad. He was the happiest when they would say that. They would not even call us by our first name but by our dad's name (they would only make mine into a female counterpart). Some of them I have remembered because they would look after us when we were at the office and also they were always invited when my dad would celebrate his birthday.

One thing that I got from my dad aside from his looks was his color. Kidding. LOL. But yes I got his skin color. Seriously speaking, I got his people skills and being friendly to almost anyone no matter what their status in life. I know my brother also has people skills but I feel like he's not as friendly as much as I do. He's approachable but not to the point that he would be interviewing them. I love talking or interviewing people (and not the other way around. LOL). I think it was because of my past working experiences where I have enhanced dealing and talking to anyone.ย  My dad and I both love celebrating our birthdays by having a party either simple or grand as long as all the significant people in our lives are invited.

If there is something that I wish I got from my dad I think it would be his public speaking skills and intelligence. If you have read my article about fear and my darkest past, you would know why I said those 2. However other than my dad's looks and skin color, what I got from him are his vices. LOL. My dad was not a chain smoker but he smokes occasionally. He quit smoking after he suffered a mild stroke when I was in college. I also quit a couple of years ago. Well for drinking, he still drinks but because of the pandemic, he takes a shot every special occasions. I still drink but I enjoy eating more. LOL.

The things that he wanted to have with my brother, I got it. I remember during his birthday this year, he thought that my brother's driver will be driving them here. He said that he would have asked him to drink with him but we all answered him that my brother's driver does not drink. He rarely asks me to drink with him. Probably because he is not used to drinking with women. There was one time when he asked me if I wanted a beer and of course I said yes. Honestly, my heart melted when he asked me. We were with our other relatives in a restaurant that time and he wanted to drink with the whole family as his brothers were all present. It was really a very memorable and fun day. My only bonding with my dad or my parents is watching Netflix and now it's NBA. Speaking of NBA, we will watch the first game of LA Clippers and Phoenix Suns later at 3AM so I have to wrap this up real quick. Who is your bet? I know @Jeaneth is for LA Clippers because of Kawhi Leonard. I am actually torn between the 2 but I will still pick the Suns even if Chris Paul will play or not.

Anyhow, like I have said in some of my articles that my family and I are not that vocal with each other. My dad just doesn't feel like saying "I love you" or even "bye" even if we are just going to step out of the house. He's uncomfortable with those words as he feels like something bad is going to happen. So we grew up not saying those words though I still say it to them through text or letters. Do/did you say those words to your parents? He may not say it nor show it but with all the sacrifices and that he did for all of us just to give us a good life, I know in my heart that he loves us and I truly appreciated everything that he has done.

P.S lead image was during Valentine's day 2018.

6
$ 10.53
$ 10.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
$ 0.01 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Emotions, Random, Life, Memory, Journal, ...

Comments

I was also not vocal to my mom (I grew without dad) when I am a kid. But when I grow older, I've realized that I should learn how to say I love you to my mom just like how I express my love to my friends and partner. The first time I told her I love her was priceless. She almost cried and that's when I realized the inpact of our words to them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I got teary eyed after reading your comment. I can just imagine the reaction of your mom. Why is it hard for us to not be vocal to our parents and then easy to say I love you to other people? But then again I grew up with that kind of set up. Can't even remember when my dad told me he loves me or did he even told me that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was really priceless ๐Ÿค—. Anyways, I believe that each of us has different ways in expressing our love. Just like what they said, we have 5 love languages and you just gotta find yours ๐Ÿ˜˜.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh I do not know about that 5 love languages. Gonna research about it. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh, Happy Father's day to your father, late na mee ehehe. Gusto ko nalang talaga magpapaampon sa inyo, sarap ng foods ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sa pag bati. ๐Ÿ˜Š hahahaha. Naku nung father's day lang yan. Pero kung di pa nalasing tatay ko nung Sabado eh hindi siya magoorder ng pagkain. Hehe. Bicol express at pancit canton lang talaga plano kaso ayun nagdecide day before. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehhh ahaha kailangan pala lalasingin muna si father mo hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Gusto niya inuman with guys or by group. Kaso panay kami girls dito sa bahay at siya lang lalaki. Nakakamiss uminom pero at least hindi na ako ganun ka uhaw sa alak ba. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we just stayed at home sis... we just greeted our fathers here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy father's day to your dad and to your husband. ๐Ÿฅฐ I am late in responding. Sorry. I haven't read your articles as well. Lately I have been so, so, soooooo lazy. But I promise I will make it up to you and everyone. Kisses to Matti.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no worries sis..take care also!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our parents sacrifices for us... They hides their pains in front of us, and fulfills our wishes.. and really its very pleasant time, when someone known us to our parents name...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

in my family, im not close to my mom, im more of my dadโ€™s. sadly tho, my dad passed away 5 years ago. One good outcome was, my relationship with my mom right now is smooth. smooth for now because like your family, im not vocal to my mom also. everytime she asks me about my life lately, i shy away. โ˜บ๏ธ im not used to talk to her regarding these things especially when its about love life. lmao

but parentsโ€™ love keeps on growing and never stops.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww. Sorry to hear about your dad. I know it has been years but the pain still feels like it was yesterday. Anyhow, I am not comfortable also talking about my love life with my parents. Although most of my love lifes were illegal. LOL. I share my love life to my friends. But there are other things that my parents and I would talk about like the news and current affairs and then with my mom sometimes we would talk about the celebrities or the Youtubers that she had watched. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago