Trick or Treat

14 39

Everyone missed this events, because of a two year gap because of pandemic. Everybody is celebrating this event on the end month of October until the first day of November. Many are excited to join the celebration in every specific events, some held from their company, some held from school and some from the subdivisions and barangay's from each towns.

Each is requested to wear your favorite costumes from your favorite character in any fictional stories and fairytale's.

Some improvise their own costumes others bought from online shops and thrift stores.

What is Halloween?

The night of October 31, the eve of All Saints Day commonly celebrated by children who dress in costume and go door-to-door asking for candy.

Photo from Pinterest

Why are Pumpkins Used for Halloween?

  • Hundred of years ago in Ireland, Halloween traditions involved carving pumpkins into jack-o'-lantern in order to scare the evil spirits passing away through the Irish farms.

  • Later when colonization took place in America, other vegetables such as pumpkins were discovered and due to their abundance and harvest in autumn, it was decided to change the vegetable and replace turnips with pumpkins.

Personal Experience...

I was raised by my late grandmother and late mother, I'm fond to go with my cousins to go to the cemetery where my cousins laid in the cemetery he was gun shot made by the ambush from Kabangkalan Negros, because he was a Philippine Military Academy soldier he was gun shot by the NPA.

I was just a little girl, from that time, and everytime they went to cemetery I go with them. My late mother would let me brought ginger put it into my pockets and telling me not to touch it.

From my innocence, I didn't know that we were celebrating all souls day in the cemetery, because I remembered that my cousin would bring a lot of foods in cemetery, I thought its normal it's later that I brought back from that memory I smiled and telling myself that's why it has many foods.

How we celebrate All Saints day and All souls day

Before when my husband and I resides to their home at the city proper, we went to my mom's grave, funny to think because everybody from hubby's nephews and nieces wanted to come with us, and they were little kids from that time. So we went there like we are having a picnic. Buying some chips and curls and also beverages we like. Then my husband find a time to download some horror movies and we watched it in the evening.

My sister-in-law will cooked some kakanin foods like suman, and kalamay hati (it's a sticky rice grind to make it like a flour texture then have the ingredients of, coconut milk, brown sugar and cooked, continuously stirring until it's very sticky, blend it well ) and we will gather from that simple celebration and sometimes they cooked valenciana too, its like a paella, but we used sticky rice instead of rice.

I remembered too, when my husband and I went to the Robinsons Place Iloilo, we go to the grocery store and we went out from the vicinity when a guard called us, I thought we were something up to, but he only called us because husband was wearing all black outfit, and he won from the contest a simple grocery items From.

What will be Your Costume If you Happen to attend in the Halloween Party?

I wanted to wear a witch costume because I like being one, you can cast a spell, have powers to do everything they want but they have a bad image from the people because they ate little children, I think that's only a myth. There's no truth about that. A witch it's only a legend who was told by the many specially during civil war.

Image from Unsplash

But sometimes I wanted to be Tinkerbell, a fairy loves Peter Pan and jealously, she despises any girl that lays for Peter Pan's affection.

Because she can fly because of her pixie dust and being tiny can enter to someone dresser's drawers and sleep there.

Tinkerbell

Image from Pinterest

If you are Given a Chance What will be your Costume in Halloween?

Maybe anything you could think of, your fantasy escape from the chaotic world, from the tired work loads, from the daily routine from homes.

Sometime we could think some of them or breaking the simultaneously sequence of our daily lives. It's good to have a pause from all of them. To nourish the thoughts that there are still has many things to do other than your everyday work loads. Its not only that by living with those, we need sometimes to take a step forward from what was yesterday you've been doing, from what you're doing a minute ago.

Take life lightly by not pressuring ourselves to what are the standards and implementations.

Seoul Halloween Crowd Stampede

It was just this recently when hearing a sad news from South Korea, that on the night of October 29 this year of 2022, Halloween festivities in Itaewon Seoul, cause stampede due to many crowds were at the event and it's sad because there were, at least 155 people died and at least 152 others were injured.

Maybe too many people from other parts of the world are excited to these event by rushing to these. My views from, hope the local government from Itaewon have safety measures and controlling the number of people to let join the event.

Provide medical staffs to every corner of the area, hope next time the event organizer will consider it. Sad for the people who died, they've just sent their lives to these event to say goodbye.

How's everyone Halloween party or all souls day? Hope everyone has fullfilled their plans about this Halloween party, till next year of the same event.

5
$ 0.85
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.06 from @Erickchristianmontajes

Comments

I remember back then when I was a kid, me and my father carved a pumpkin and put light inside to creep out our neighbors at night hahaha one of many happy memories before they broke up, anyway congrats napansin ka rin nya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ako marami din memories pero Hanggang doon na lng siguro sa memories, part of being mature na rin lang, huo nga hindi ko na expect pinansin niya ako maraming salamat sa pag motivate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Keep moving forward, ganyan talaga ang time, no turninc back, just bunch of photos and memories

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nung bata dun ako gusto sumasama sa sementoryo pag undas kasi prang may pagpiknik ang dating tpos prang reunion na din. To answer your question wht custome hmmm I think witch haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

marami pala nasa isip ko kung ano pala mga costume na suotin ko meron pa mga anime hahahha, di bah ganda yung witch na costume.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha maldita kc ko kya gusto ko witch hihihu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We just stayed at home for halloween. Di kami nakiuso ng trick or treat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

years before hindi yan nauso satin, na surprise lang ako lately nauso nasa Pinas yan. May bagyo din naman hindi makagala kase baha din

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yon nga. first, na uso sa manila kasi yon ang in. hanggang naki uso na din sa other province like cebu.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My Halloween was ok. I just handed out candy. If I went to a party maybe a pirate just a hat and eye patch black shirt and pants easy. Ya large events can be dangerous especially if over crowded.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you on your last sentence

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just stayed home at this Halloween and all souls day, And lit the candles from our altar to pray for the souls of our love ones. Children are happy to received those candies from you, That's great Halloween costume you have. Thank you for appreciating my work. Have a great day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako magcostume ako ng anime na nakakatakot nyahahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ay nakalimutan ko sis anime pala yung profile picture ko hindi ko na alala yun hahhaha ako if anime ako gusto ko yung whiskers away hahahaha or Hellgirl.

$ 0.00
1 year ago