Tricking my son for him to drink his medicine and his vitamins

33 58

Blog:171-8th
Date :September 15,2022
Time :3:30pm

My son has asthma and it attacks from time to time.I had a hard time letting him drink his medicine especially a medicine with a bitter taste.I already tried a lot of different tricks like mixing the medicine to his milk but then it didn't work.

My son is clever enough to notice the color of his milk especially the bitter after taste of it so he usually ends up wasting his milk cause he will not drink it. I tried mixing the medicine with powder juice but then it failed since it really tasted bitter after mixing it together. We don't have any choice but to force him to drink it directly which leads him to cry so hard. It usually ends up for him not to finish all the medicine.

I even had a hard time letting him drink his vitamins. Usually, vitamins taste sweet but still, he doesn't take them. One time, I bought a jelly ace. I really thought its the usual jelly ace but to my surprise, it's a jelly juice so it's more on liquid. That made me think why not mix his vitamins with the jelly juice? His vitamins are colored pink and I mix them with green jelly juice so when the first time my son sip the jelly juice he notice the taste of the vitamins yet he still finishes the whole jelly juice. Seeing him like it makes me happy.YES! Finally, I found the perfect tricks for him to drink his vitamins. Anyway, the vitamins I bought for him were the vitamins for boosting his appetite. I think it's been a week since he started drinking his vitamins and I can see the progress now because he always wanted to eat. Just like last Sunday. He keeps on saying Mama eat. So I gave him scrambled eggs with rice and he finish all his food. One of his favorite food to eat is scrambled egg and corn beef. My son's Godmother(wife of hubby's brother) was at my in-laws' house and she bought a chiffon cake. Hubby brought the chiffon cake and my son saw it and he keeps on saying Mama eat. So I gave him a small slice of the chiffon cake but then after he finish eating the chiffon cake he run towards our table where he have seen the chiffon cake, then he was calling me Mama, Wa(Gone)so I ask him what he wants, he keeps on saying mama was, eat so I finally understand that he was looking for the chiffon cause he wanted to eat more. So I gave him another small slice of the chiffon cake but he was not full yet so I told my daughter to give her brother all the remaining slices of the chiffon cake. I was happy that his appetite is back. He is now asking for food. Unlike before that, he doesn't care about food. All he wants is milk.

I think it was 2 weeks ago my son have a minor cough caused by the cold weather knowing that it could trigger his asthma but luckily it is just a minor cough. I tried to let him drink his cough medicine but as always he doesn't want to drink his med. There was a time that I force him to drink it using the syringe but it ended up getting him to choke. I felt so bad after forcing him to drink his med. Seeing him coughing so hard after being choked. His face was turning red. I felt nervous at that time. Since then I stop letting him drink his med. Until I discovered mixing his cough medicine into Chocolate Malt Drink(Champion Energen) We've been drinking this Chocolate Malt Drink for a while now and my son loves to drink it too. So why not mix the medicine with the Chocolate Malt Drink? So whenever he asks for his milk when he wakes up around 6 am I give him Chocolate Malt Drink instead of milk so I can mix his medicine also when I got home from work I gave him the Chocolate Malt Drink with the medicine on it. After doing that for a couple of days already I notice that his cough is almost gone. I also bought him an antihistamine since he have a running nose since last week. I taste the medicine first if it tastes bitter but to my surprise, it tastes sweet just like his jelly juice so it would be perfect to just add or mix it to the jelly juice. Now after he drinks his antihistamine med for 3 days I can see that his running nose is almost gone.

Ending thoughts

As a working mom, it is hard for me to monitor and take care of my son especially if he is not feeling well so it is very important for me to find ways to make him drink his meds and also his vitamins. I am thankful to God that he enlighten or give me an idea on how I will be able to let my son drink his medicine and vitamins.

Maybe after we will finish all his multivitamins the ones we bought in the past months I will try the recommendation of some mommies in noisecash to try out the Ceelin Plus they recommended.

How about you mommies there? Do you also have a hard time letting your kids drink medicine or vitamins?

Photos used in this article are all owned by yours truly unless it is stated.

Lead Image and thumbnail edited using Canva

To my ever-dearest daily readers, upvoters, and likers. thank you for your precious time and for your efforts. I love you all.

To my amazing and generous sponsors who have been supporting me since from the start thank you so much for inspiring me to do better each day.

Sponsors of alicecalope
empty
empty
empty

14
$ 2.45
$ 2.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @kingofreview
+ 2

Comments

that's a great idea sis, kay mas ma stress gyud angbata kung pugson ug panom ba. just like my son. imb sgaluya na, pugson pa gyud ug painom, muhlak na hinuon. samot kaluoy . sakit sa dughan

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mao lagi samot luoy nuon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a great idea ate! hehehhe, I can use this for my nephews. Naku napaka challenging naman kasi magpainom ng gamot sa baby hehehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

sure sis.Pag nanay kana talaga eh lahat gagawan mo ng ways

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fortunately , i don't have problem with that bhe. Both of my children will just open their mouth to take it. Good thing you find ways to make it easier , most of the kids really hate the taste of meds.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Buti naman Kung ganun sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a very good idea. You have tried a lot. These children do not know that we are just helping them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well yeah. If they just know

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahirap talaga magpainom ng gamot sa bata sis, lalo na't matatalino na mga bata ngayon, hindi na mauuto. Si anak ko naman hindi siya mahirap painumin ng vitamins kasi nainom talaga siya, tsaka kapag may ubo at sipon naman siya hindi ko na siya pinapainom ng gamot, vitamins nalang, two times a day. Normally kasi isang beses lang siya nagtatake ng vit. sa umaga lang pero kapag may ubo or sipon, umaga at gabi. Gumagaling naman siya sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Happy for you sis at easy Lang painomin ng vit yung anak mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nah sis ,di ni mo saler sa akong junakis oy ,kabalo jud sa lasa. Maong mangisog ko oy ,bugno aron maka tumar lang😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mangisog bitaw ko saona sis pero Mao lagi pang sapdahon man niya ang tambal maong mayabo nuon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ingana pod ahu pag umangkon sis masayang ra ang gatas kay makalasa sija sa vitamins. Tingalon napod haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mao lagi masayang jud ky bisan wa pa matilawi sa akong anak ang milk makabantay man siya nga na change ang color sa milk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish your son a speedy recovery. and I congratulate you. you gave your son his medicine in wonderful ways

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you CryptoMan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rica ederim

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh you are woman. Nice meeting you here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

??

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What??😳

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You said Rica ederim?I thought that's your name

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahahahahahaha My dear You're welcome 👉(Rica Ederim) this is what I wrote in my own language. Ahahhahaha İ love yo my love

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh that's a turkish language. I'm sorry I didn't know

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No problem. Seni beğeniyorum Seni seviyorum

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang akoa sauna sis ang trick nako magpa sad or worried face ko para moinom hehe effective naman.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Maayo ky madala ra ug ing Ana sis akong anak nah bisan pag mangisog ko wa epek oi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao gyud nay lisod basta magka sakit ato anak sis kay lisod kaayo paimnon kinahanglan pa nato gamitan ug magic hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mao lagi. Karun pako Naka idea anang isagol ug jelly juice or sa chocolate malt drink

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lisod gayud sis labi na ang bata Dili makaayon sa lasa. Hehe relate ko sang bata pako. Mag mug ot nako pag patumaron kay dili ko ganahan sa lasa. Buti na encounter nimu ang jelly juice sis. Dili na hasol sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

mao lagi sis maayo nlang jud kay naka idea tawn ko .di na hasol magpainom niya ug vit ug med

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis kay kung wala sis hasulan gihapon ka sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahirap talaga magpainom ng gamot sa mga Bata sis, pero ang mga anak ko ngayon, malalaki na sila, medyo hindi n ako masyadong nahihirapan,. KAilangan talaga natin maging creative sa mga anak natin para sa kabutihan Nila Lalo na Kung may sakit.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

tama sis need natin maging creative.opposite sila ng daughter ko kasi di mahirap painumin ng gamot yun nang hihingi pa ng dagdag daw.

$ 0.00
1 year ago