Joining the Prompt Factory

8 51
Avatar for aaskelter
2 years ago

Picking a specific topic can be quite an arduous task.

Inasmuch that one doesn’t really have to and should not feel too pressured about coming up with a post as it is not a requirement and such, with the vast selection of possible stuff to discuss and share in an online journal, writing can be quite challenging. Don’t get me wrong, though, writing is something that I actually enjoy too despite the occasional struggle of coming up with something pretty decent and cohesive.

The lengths to which our words can take us is actually the best part of writing. It takes us places and it introduces us to a part of a world that we would not be even aware that is existing. It opens a lot of possibilities and opportunities to help us learn the ropes of life and grow…. and live.

At first it may seem like we are only rambling but writing is very cathartic… especially at present when it is one of our forms of release.

Pick up your (virtual) pen and write.

Right now, I have a couple of drafts that I am yet to revisit but I am glad to FINALLY have the time to do so. Work can be quite demanding at times (not that I am complaining because I do think that I am one of the privileged ones who get to work from home and I am grateful to still have a job despite the situation that not only the country, but the world is facing). It may not be always a taxing day but one day, you are chilling and the other you are rushing to finish a requirement.

It just so happened that it feels like every workload amps up on a Friday when your mind is basically set to just spending your weekend resting and in extension, we even had to render work on a weekend. (It’s paid work and we get to earn extra, but still, the idea of working on your rest day is not quite appealing as it is blurring the line between work and life balance.)

Over the past few days, it even feels like everything is a routine. You get up in the morning, refresh and then go to work. You rest and sleep and reset the other day. (I am not the only one feeling like this, eh?) It even gets harder to track which day of the week it is already. And yes, it did happen to me back on the early days of the quarantine. I was so out of it and felt like doing the same things every single day and you cannot even go out for leisure. And being an extrovert who enjoys being out there makes the situation extra challenging. However, it also gave me time to think and learn more about myself. See, it even made me take up on new hobbies that I would not have expected (but secretly wishing) to learn doing. (One of which is crocheting)

This is one of my recent wip projects and it is the first ever bag that I get to finish. I am so happy because prior to this, I have been only doing coasters and amigurumi (whales)

Making up for the lost time with the family surely is one of the best things that came up in this pandemic situation. We might be living precariously and previously we only get to see our families over the weekend making every moment precious, but the time spent together these days are even more special. Spending the whole day with them can get too much to deal with but still, a great opportunity to do stuff that we are not able to do back when we are busy living outside and on our own. Homemade meals are truly appreciated more. Getting to eat together at home is a blessing that not everyone is privileged to have. If anything we’ve been closer and I am grateful for that. Also because the oldies are not getting any younger and staying at home with them gives us opportunities to show how we care and to treat them with only the best options possible. We lost our grandfather not so long ago, just this year too but we were able to show him that we truly care for him up to his last days on Earth.

Paying attention to your surroundings — I think the situation told us that not everything is going to be all about us. It reminds us that everyone is struggling and it won’t hurt to be more passionate and caring to people around you. We get to be each other’s lights, per se. And that is the most beautiful thing.

Treat every moment as if it’s your last and you would get to appreciate what you have even more instead of looking for what you lack. You will realise that you already probably have what you need but you have been too busy chasing for what you want.

Friendships and other relationships didn’t suffer, surprisingly. We may have lost the physical aspect of bonding but it is nice to know that we still get to discover different ways to spend time together albeit only online. One time, we even had a virtual Christmas and karaoke party thru WeSing (it is a virtual karaoke app in which you can take turns in singing and all that). It was unusual but we still had fun.

These are some of the core memories* that we got that are worth treasuring.

(*with reference to the film “Inside Out” if you have already seen that. If you still have not, this is your cue to consider it on your next movie night)

After all of this is done, as optimistic as ever, I look forward to spending time with them again. I miss traveling and discovering new places with them. We still get to watch virtual concerts together but nothing beats the euphoria of being in the crowd, singing along with your favourite musicians, dancing along with your fellow spectators.

Cats are one of my sources of happiness in the past few months. too. The pandemic situation gave me time to fully tend to them and see them grow (as opposed to the pre-pandemic days in which I only get to stay at home on the weekend)

One of them even gave birth already. Two of the four kittens unfortunately didn’t survive.

Little floofs of joy!

Today, I just enjoy each day, to be honest. It is when you are not expecting anything grand that life gives you bits that would make you feel genuine happiness. The little things are even more priceless in the long run.

Opportunities and provisions keep on coming when we least expect it, so try to improve and ready ourselves for the goodness that is to come.

Every struggle is valid. Every emotion that you feel is a part of who you truly are. Never let anyone make you feel otherwise.

Read cash and Noise cash are blessings in disguise and I am glad that my friend has introduced me to it. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank @King_Gozie (my newest sponsor and @FarmGirl for renewing the sponsorship. It still baffles me up to this day thinking why I deserve their goodness. But I am grateful and glad and I also try to be a blessing to others in return, even in the smallest ways that I can.

Check out their works! They are truly amazing too (and they are very active!)

Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty

You deserve just as much energy that you are giving out to the world and don’t let anyone make you feel any less. I would never get tired of reminding you that.

This post is all over the place and it doesn’t have a specific theme. I don’t really know what I’d like it to be and haven’t planned anything except for some random life updates; just random ramblings trying to come up with acrostic paragraphs leading to PROMPT FACTORY (put in bold).

This idea is from @meitanteikudo actually. She has so many prompt ideas that can fire up the sleeping writer in you. One of these days I’m going to try to write more and apply the topics on my posts but like I said, no pressure. Take everything in your own time, too. Just enjoy!

See you all around!

A

End Note: Photos are taken by me unless credited otherwise.

7
$ 3.01
$ 2.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aaskelter
2 years ago

Comments

I'm really feeling this post. I have a lot of drafts and a huge load of writers block. I took up crocheting during the pandemic and I really like the fact that this community exists

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Talk about super cute! I like posts that are all over the place just like mine hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sometimes we just go with the flow and see where my mind can take us 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that this is the best way 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omoooo those cute little toe beans. Kagigil HAHAHA

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ang bilis nila lumakiiii haha pero super cute pa rin!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh i love cats so much so cute and loving. So sorry for those who didn't survive ahhh so sad.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes it’s sad especially when the second one didn’t survive. Partly i think it is because of the weather. :(

But these two remaining kitties are healthy, thank God

$ 0.00
2 years ago