To be more than just talented

15 49

I had a hard time choosing what to write about today which is why I was so tempted to not write anything. However, as I was thinking that, this topic keeps coming back into the forefront of my mind which is why I am writing this.

Before I get any further into my thoughts, I would like to encourage everyome to go check out my wonderful sponsors and their articles. They write about various things which are sure to catch you attention.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Today, I would like to share some of my thoughts when someone use the word "talented" as a compliment for someone's work.

I would break it down into 2 parts- background of why I am writing this article, and my explanation of why I dislike the term talented.

What do I mean by my article title?

Well to give a little background, I have been posting both my crochet and artworks on my noise.cash account. I had also included some other crafts there before like sewing, and using air dry clay.

Most times there will be someone in the comment saying:

"Sana all talented." (I wish everyone is as talented.)

"Wow! Ang talented mo po." (Wow! You are so talented.)

"Gusto ko rin gumawang ganyan kaso di ako talented eh." (I also want to make something like that but I am not talented.)

I know that when people typed those words they mean it as a compliment. Early on, I actually felt happy seeing those words, as I feel validated.

I had always been second best in everything I do so it was nice to see people admiring my works. However, as the word "talented" keeps being thrown around, I started to wonder.

Is it really meant as a compliment when it invalidates the struggles I have experienced to get to the level of where my crafts lie today?

Or is it in some way belittling the efforts I made to be reduced into being merely as simple as talent?

Is talent really the only factor that drove me to make the pieces that I made?

Why do I dislike the term talented as a compliment?

Being called talented implies that the level of proficiency one reaches is because of an innate thing, something that is there since birth. It implies that the person got to where they are by relying only on their talent and nothing else.

It does not cover the history of failures one experienced to reach their skill level. It does not tell the struggles one faced to be where they are.

Being called talented reduces everything you have done into something you are just lucky to have and nothing else.

While there are rare number of individuals whose genius are innate, most people with expertise are not just born with the talent that you see. Sure, they might have more affinity for it more than anyone, but that does not mean that everything they achieved is just because of their innate talent.

I think it is so lazy to call someone talented and yourself talentless just so you will have an excuse to not pursue their crafts too. Sometimes, you will not have an affinity for things and that is okay. But remember that you can also learn it by patiently studying how to properly do the skill you want instead of not starting and just believing that you can't do it.

How will you ever learn to draw if your mind is stuck on thinking that you will never get past drawing stick figures?

How will you ever be able to create something handmade if you never even tried to learn the basic things related to that craft?

It is disheartening to see people view what one can do as something they are just fortunate to have. Rarely is it talent that we see, most times it is the dedication of someone to learn and to improve their chosen skill.

The finished product that you see always hides a story of different failures that were made to be the foundation of one's skill levels.

People like to think that if they are talented they could draw a perfect Mona Lisa in their first try with ease.

They think that people who can create things with their hands are just talented and they can never do that because when they tried it the first time, it did not turn out as good as what someone else did.

Do you know why?

Because people wants to be able to master crafts without exerting efforts to learn it. They would rather believe that it was just talent doing all the works, and because they failed the first time they tried then that must mean it is not for them, and it is not their talent.

Failures upon failures

Let me show you a glimpse of what "talent" looks like.

This is surely made by a talented person right? Someone who could paint with their eyes close, upside down with only their imagination.

It must have been made by someone who started very young and already have a lot of knowledge about art.

But that is not the truth. Before I could make that piece, my once favorite was this:

This was the best piece I could make just a few years ago. It looks simple and cute but it is nowhere what I can make today.

But did that stop me? Did that make me think that is all I can do for the rest of my life?

No.

I wanted to achieve something greater than that so I persevered. I put in effort. I alloted time. I made sure to practice and to do studies.

Do you know how saddening it is when people think everything I do is because of talent?

As if the times when I dealt with struggles and pain in my journey are nothing. As if they are not part of me because what I am is talented and someone who never struggled.

Being called talented feels like people ignore the hardships I had to overcome and the efforts I put in.

This is a free hand halter top that I made last month.

This is a frog hat I made too. This is my favorite so far and I this it is the cutest thing I have done.

These are projects where I finally managed to make a perfect rectangle with straight edges instead of crooked ones.

But before all these projects, I had a hard time straightening a granny square.

What you can see in that picture is my first granny square. It was the first time I encountered the term double crochet and I feogged (tastas) it a hundred times before I get it to resemble a granny "square".

Even before this though, I struggled. I cried so hard when I was starting.

Looking at the picture, it is not noticeable where I miss my stitches. What is noticeable though is my super tight tension, the crooked edges, and the times when I missed stitches or accidentally made an increase.

These are all "failures" but with them, I learned a lot. With them, I experienced being a beginner. With them, I laid the foundation of where I can build my skills on.

I am not just "talented"

When I started drawing, I sucked at it. A lot.

I do not have any idea how anatomy works or how to make something flow better in paper.

Slowly, I figured out where my strengths and joy lie. I found great comfort in trying to imitate a reference instead of designing my own character or own world. I found joy in making simple vector arts instead of finding a unique art style.

But still, a friend still side eyes my work as if it is not real art since I mostly do semi-realism/realism. They never said it to my face as they want to appear supportive but I see them argue against realism. I understand why. And I think they are entitled to their opinion as a fellow artist.

But still, this is where my strengths lie even if I might never be able to make something uniquely mine. I can always try to capture the world I see as it is.

For crochet, I cried a lot. It took me a lot of time to learn how to make a simple chain.

I remember feeling that I might not be cut out for crochet. I thought that maybe, I should have just bought knitting needles instead.

But I did not let those tears stop me. I felt frustrated beyond belief. I felt hopeless but I repeated the motions until it clicked. I watch videos until I find one that fits with me.

I did it again and again until I feel that yes, this is easy. Why did I ever cry in the first place?

Everything I did was not just because I was talented but because I allowed myself to fail and to learn. I am not just talented. I am determined.

What am I trying to say?

You see when you actually allow yourself to be a beginner, you open up a lot of opportunities. You learn to see space where you can improve.

But when you start out something and want to be an expert immediately, chances are you will have a hard time finding what you are good at.

Personally, I think talent is just an affinity of which where we are better than the others. Not necessarily the best but just a bit above average.

It is up to us to explore that affinity or find a skill that we would like to have more affinity with.

Allow yourself to not be "talented" at something at first. Learn some basics for a little while. And if you find no enjoyment in what you do, then maybe it is truly not right for you.

But don't cross out something you have yet to try. That simple stick figure can be animated into different actions. That tight chain can be a foundation of a new crochet pattern.

Work on what you have and build on the failures that you will encounter. You will encounter failures a lot, but learn to embrace them and listen to what they teach you instead of fearing them.

If you never failed once in your life, then you are not really growing.

Whatever you do, remember to be more than just talented. Be determined. Be passionate. Be unafraid of failures. Be the person you want to be instead of being stuck in the place where you see yourself as talentless.



Thank you for reading my article!

This is only my personal opinion on the matter and you are free to disagree with me, you can even share why disagree with my points. Your input will be greatly appreciated.

If you want to have a new friend to talk to about random things, feel free to reach out to me:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash:Β ZehraSky

Tumblr:Β Zehrasky

9
$ 6.13
$ 5.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jinifer
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Comments

What an amazing talent..Those projecta are awesome..😊It takes a lot of patience to finish all of those..and you did great. hello nice to meet you. Just a newbie invading your article.😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I let go all of my talents. I stop because I always compare to other people and they are just bunch of people who are just temporary love my works. funny right? So I envy you for being brave and still continue to pursue all of your talents. While me? I'm being stuck and being scared of going back to the days that i feel inlove with those talents of mine. it become my trauma. πŸ˜“

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I did that too not long ago. I was so buried with my insecurities that I could not find joy in what I do. I let go drawing back then because I saw my friend finding their own art style while I cannot seem to improve. I let go of writing because my friends write "better" poems than me. They are more acknowledged as the writers and I was just an after thought. I let go of guitar because I couls not deal with seeing others play complicated skngs while I keep forgetting the propee way to strum.

I think more than being brave, I was just tired. Tired of feeling not enough so I stopped lookig at others. I rarely used social media back then to help alleviate the insecurity I feel.

I hope that soon, you find your joy in doing your passion again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well it's okay because I can just be write and write here. It makes me feel happy than doing the things that I do before

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're right. People tend to reduce ones effort to just lucky by claiming he/she is talented. Just like Lionel messi the famous footballer. He has been at the top of his game for over 10 years. This can only be the result of hardwork and perseverance.

But people overlook that and call it talent/luck

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is really sad to see comments like that. It is as if the achievement were just handed out instead of something one worked hard for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prang si ate Judith magaling dn jan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hindi ko po gets HAHAH sorry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si ate judith sa nag gaganyan dn. . haha. Check mo article nya dto at posts sa noise

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Panu yan? Wala talaga akong talent eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang po yan. Meron ka namang skills eh lalo na sa writing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alam mo before I really hate to write an article kasi nasaisip ko dapat ganito ka ganyan, nagfail ako ng ilang beses bago matuto. Nagfail ako ng ilang beses sa lahat bago maglaan ng effort, fi ako naglalagay ng effort sa mga bagay-bagay, ni di ko alam kelan nagstart to HAHAHAAHAH

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Buti na lang nagstart ka pa rin despite yung mga doubts mo. Pagstart talaga pinakamahirap na step.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel so guilty while reading your article. Because I, myself know that I'm one of those people who're so lazy and didn't even put much effort in everything. Hays πŸ˜”πŸ˜ž But I admire how you put efforts in everything that you do ❣️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I believe that you might be being too hard on yourself. There is nothing wrong with resting or doing things that we enjoy after all. Thank you for your kind words πŸ’•

$ 0.00
2 years ago