I made the wrong decision

29 57

In the years that went by when I finished junior high school, I had made a lot of decisions that I had to live with for a long time.

Some are definitely for my benefit despite my initial reluctance while some decisions became a crutch which limits my actions.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Check out my wonderful sponsors

September is coming which means the start of a new academic year. I will be 3rd year in college soon and I still have no idea what I am doing with my life.

Sometimes, I envy people who has a clear direction of where they want to go. Or the people who have set examples to follow. Or people who knows someone that already travelled the path they wish to take.

It feels like I am alone in this journey of mine. When I stumble I have to catch myself or risk further delaying my progress. When I am lost, there is no one to guide me back to the right path nor do I have a compass I can use to find north again.

I do not know where I am going. I am still not sure if this is the path that I should take. But there are merely a few years left and I know that I am stuck in this path I had chosen when I was still undecided.

I just posted these thoughts on noise.cash and as i was wriring it felt like I have more words that I wanted to say. I cut it short on noise.cash and decided to share more of what I think here.

How I found myself here

I mentioned in a previous article that I studied in a Science High School for six years. There are other schools in our city which offers a special science class per year but for us, all classes are under the Science High School curriculum.

This does not just mean advanced classes but also additional subjects for math, science, and english. There is also a different subject dedicated to research aside from the 2 science subjects that we already have.

I remember that we have 10-15 subjects, all of which demands our best. The teachers disdain seeing students resting even when it is our free time because we "chose to study there so we must prove ourselves".

I remember the culture shock in my Grade 7. I was overwhelmed that for the first week we already have tons of assignments to do aside from the usual requirements of notebooks.

In my first week there, I experienced for the first time staying up all night just to finish all the things that needed to be passed tomorrow.

It did not stop there. Instead we had to live on pur sleep deprived state for the years we stayed there.

The pressure of being a Science High student is already a lot but it triples or more when you are part of the pilot section.

In our orientation, I remember hearing the teacher said that the students there are the "cream of the crop" of the city. Every contests our school joins, we win no matter who the contestants are.

If a probationary student leave the school they would then find themselves top of the class in regular high schools.

So for the pilot section, we are the cream of the cream of the crop. The best out of the best students the city has to offer.

Teachers gave us harder tests. If the other sections have multiple choices and essay tests, we will have modified true or false, enumeration and fill in the blanks. If the math tests the otger section take are all just similar to what was taught, ours were much harder close to what college students arr expected to answer.

If other sections are allowed to pass an okay research topic, we are expected to provide something more different, more complex.

In the pilot section, competition is encouraged. Teachers intentionally pit students against each other. The idea that you always have to be part of the best group is planted in our minds. We were taugh to out the ones who could not do their part. To remove their names and not ask them why they cannot participate.

In the pilot section, we are taught that we are better than the other sections so we must always come out on top in every school activity.

If you fail to keep your spot in the pilot section rest assured that you will be facing bullying when you are at the other section. I did not experience this personally but I heard the stories of what happened to a former classmate.

She trusted a person with her password so that she can pass an activity for her. But then this person decided to snoop around the private messages. She found some explicit images which she then distributed to the whole class.

This did not just happen once. It happens a lot of times. I cannot say that the pilot section is free of this cruel action because we are not.

The ones who managed to snagged the spot of our former classmates had to fight for them to be recognized as classmates. They mostly stay together as a group.

This harsh environment made our population smaller that by the end of Grade 10 only 3/4 of us remained. And half of the remaining decided to leave the school for good during Senior High School. By the time we graduated Grade 12, there were only around 35% of us that has been there since Grade 7.

I lost my way

The years I spent there, I was stuck on thinking that I have to excel in academics or else I will not be successful. I stopped drawing and writing. I focused more on the academic side and just pursue the things I love as hobbies I barely do.

In my mind the path has already been laid down that I needed to take a math-inclined or science-inclined program in college. I did not stop to think about what I truly want.

And even if I did, I chased those thoughts away when I learned that I passed in the scholarship i applied for.

I needed to take a priority course to keep my spot. And I chose something that is a relatively engineering course.

I do wonder sometimes what could have happened had I chosen differently.

This path I am taking feels like there is not pathway laid down for me. I had to stop every step to lay down the path.

And then I see others who are already known there because they are part of a long line of relatives that took the same course. They have someone to guide them. Someone to tell them what to focus on. Someone to ask the professor to nor fail them.

While for many of us, we are the mercy of the roulette game the professor is using to decide our grades.

I often wonder if I am lost. If maybe this is not the path for me. But it is too late to turn back now.

I will be 3rd year in college soon, and the period of shifting courses to keep my scholarship had passed.

I feel like the path ahead is so dark and yet I know that I will still walk this way until the time that I could tell this version of me that I worried for nothing.

Until then, I might feel lost but I will learn to find the way. I will take note of the rocky terrain for my younger relatives who also wish to embark in this journey.

And I hope that it would be enough to right this wrong decision.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want someone to talk to about random things, you can find me here:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for my first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/hhdk8vj3Uib

12
$ 9.14
$ 8.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 5
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I too feel lost. I have no idea what I'd like to do in my life and it's really discouraging to know that everyone around is pursuing their dreams already. I hope we will work something out. :) There's nothing wrong with doing something else in your life than what you studied for. Remember that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganiyan talaga ang life ..Pero kahit saan man tayo sumuksuk na butas and kahit anong landas man ang tatahakin natin kung talagang pursigido tayo na makamot lahat ng ninanais natin na pangarap ..mararating at mararating natin yun.. Just like me ..last year life struck me so hard to the point of stopping my study.sana 2nd yr college na sana ako ngayong school year but not..Ngayon na nahanap ko muli ung right track ..continue lang..babangon mula sa wala..sabi nga nila. From nothing to something and from something to everything.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ang pressure talaga pag pilot section, nakakawindang pero dapat laban lang, soon all our struggles, pain and sleepless night, will all be worth it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You will never be lost for as long as you trust yourself to fins your way back..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do whatever you want and face everything with brave heart... Success is on the way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also had that fear when I was in college. I asked myself if I made the right decision. But then, my teacher told me that maybe this is my call.

You already in that year level. You surpassed all the hardships during your previous years. So, maybe that is your call. Just have faith in yourself and do not put much pressure. Remember always your goal. God bless on your studies.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am thinking of this course as a stepping stone towards what I truly want to do. Since I wanted to major in biomed engineering but ended up pursuing a course that might lead to it skmeday due to the proximity of universities

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kung san ka masaya dun ka, minsan mawawala tayo pero babalik parn tayo kapag kumalma lahat

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tama hehe. Kahit ma maligaw mahahanap pa rin yung daan papunta sa gusto talaga nating mapuntahan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kinakabahan ako di naman ako nakaspam diba?? Di ako makapaglike ng articles maski sarili ko bawal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So government is funding science high schools to create cyborgs but will not provide resources once they get some science or math degree to develop things in support of R&D to make us less dependent on multinationals who are raking in the big bucks for stuff like medicines, medical equipment, technology to improve agriculture, create a real unified database of every citizen, etc. Wow, what a load of c**p! Sorry for the rant.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Therr are actually a lot of government programs for research and development. Most of what I know is what DOST offers. The scholarship and financial grant ranged at about P50k per month depending on the level of research.

The country has the money for it. It is just that most professionals choose to leave the country when they can so there is barely noticeable progress in our technology.

This is why DOST-SEI started offering undergraduate scholarships for deserving students. The clause of the scholarship contract is to do a return service equivalent to the years of the scholarship grant.

With this scholarship, more and more progress in the Science and Technology department has been made. More and more professionals are being encouraged to give back to the country first before lending their services to other countries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, there are many undergrad scholarships from DOST, but after college, there is little support from government to pursue R&D.

It can be frustrating for those who study abroad and wish to serve here because government does not provide adequate support nor gives importance not only for technological advancements but for locally-made products that can lower costs and make these more affordable.

And while there is return service clauses in scholarships, you can buy it out to leave, which is what others do.

Just look at vaccines - why can't we develop our own instead of always relying on multinationals for our pharma needs? Our homegrown scientists do not feel appreciated, and their growth is stunted so they would rather leave and work overseas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right that the scientists are underappreciated. Not just by the government but the citizens as well.

It is obvious now since you are telling me they are underappreciated, yet you might have not heard that there is going to be an established Virology Science and Technology Department Institute of the Philippines (VIP). With this, the country can finally develop our own vaccine.

We lack facilities, yes that is the fact of being in a third world country. But that is slowly changing. The technology use is slowly shifting to become more modernized. (A fun fact that the astronomy department of the country have first class equipment to help them in their research. The specs of their instruments are not something to scoff at.)

Also in this pandemic they have proven their worth and showed great use of the funding they received. The scientists discovered a cheap way to test for the infection of COVID. Even now, scientists are researching on the effectiveness and safety of mix-and-matching different vaccine brands to help in containing the COVID variants.

You said that their growth is stunted in the country, you are right. They are not stunted due to lack of support from the government nor financial assistance. They are stunted due to lack of public support. They are stunted by people who claim to support them but never bothered to find out more about their work.

For years, the budget for the S&T branches of the country is continuously growing so more and more researches are being funded properly.

It came from researchers themselves that I personally know, "The country has the money for researches and development. The problem is that professionals choose to work in other countries where people recognized their work."

It is a misconception that after college, researchers received no more support. The support they can get are actually MUCH more than the undergrad scholarships (just the monthly allowance is triple or more than the regular wage; it is around seven times more than the monthly stipend that undergraduates receive). The problem is that people do not bother to get to know the programs that have existed for years. The problem is that people think scientists receive no financial support when what they really need is the public support.

When people start to pay more attention to their work, then they would start to realize that there are so many amazing things being discovered and done by the scientists of the country. But no. They would rather spread the narrative that scientists receive no support so they choose to leave.

Of course, return service can be bought with interests. I am sure that many have done that but much more have been staying. Some find themselves in the industry, sharing their expertise to the benefit of the country. Some started their own business to start providing for other hopefuls scientists. Some became educators, molding the future generation. Helping them realize that the country's researchers are already doing so much even if the citizens do not pay attention. They become the guide to the youth to point them to the proper direction, to recognize the support they could get if only they know about it.

I suggest following more S&T organizations' pages to know more about the country's R&D plans, assistance, and achievements. There are a lot :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for enlightening me about all this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whatever makes your soul happy, go for it. It's not too late to start over. Goodluck, sis! Just don't spread yourself too thin. Take it easy. Xoxo.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I will do that hehe. I like challenging things as well so I enjoy my program sometimes but there are times when I doubt my path

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all get lost sometimes but that doesn't mean we should give up, it's a test of strength...although I think you should find what you actually have interest in doing from personal experience.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I remember now that I topk this course as a stepping stone towards what I truly wanted to study. I was not able to apply for the program because of the distance of the universities that offer them but I think if I continue going this way, I will be anle to find myself in that path someday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's ok to get lost as long as you have the courage and belief in yourself that you will find that the that you are looking for in the right... so for now..try to enjoy where you are and enjoy the rocky terrain as they said... the beautiful view is always after the rocky terrain.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I will definitely enjoy the journey. I have learned a lot since I started and I know that I will learn more as I continue forward

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep.. because life is a never-ending journey of learning

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We have the same thoughts, entered in a course that I'm not familiar. My future is not secured, I don't know if I can find a job after I finish college, I don't know if I can graduate, I don't know if I will become successful. Lots of doubts are playing in my head, I feel like I was born as a display on this world. I amzed those people that secured on their future, how I wish I am too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope that we can let go of the doubts we have of the future. Maybe our path seems murky right now because we still need to experience some things first before we find our own paths.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's the reason why as long as opportunity like readcash came, I will try my best to save money as much as I can. Atleast, once I have no job in future, still I have money to spare.❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Don't worry you're not the one experiencing that but you still have 2 more years to think and know what you really want in the future. Goodluck sa pasukan :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Even if I did figure out what I want, it is too late to back out of my course now hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, I feel the same way as you did, only tomorrow, I'm starting my final year. I feel so lost looking at my friends who are really committed to the major we're at. Though I can't really relate to your experience as a student in the best school, my college can be said as the top 3 in my country, so the burden of being a graduate from here is really high. I can only hope that along this final year, I can find my true passion, whether it be in this major or another one. Hopefully, you can find your way too. Good luck!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Good luck to you as well. I hope that you manage to find the same commitment that your friends have even if it is not exactly related to your major right now. Once you do, know that I would love to hear about your journey so that I might find a bit of comfort in knowing that everything works out in the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago