Catcalling: The compliment it isn't

26 58
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

This article has been stuck in my drafts for months now so it will be hard to pick up where I left off. Also, the irritation I was feeling when I started writing this faded already as I had not encountered any catcallers since I mostly stay inside.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
But first , check out this amazing people

As many of us know, catcalling is probably something that will happen when we walk by the streets with people hanging around.

The catcalls vary from a joking "angel/ganda (beautiful)" to something more disturbing. This is usually accompanied by a collection of laughters from others.

If you happen to be a brave one and confront them, the lot of them have a weird logic of "you should be happy we are complimenting you". Something that I had never understood.

Catcalls are a big part of the reason why I do not go out as much. And even if I did, I try to make sure that I wear something that is comfortable on me like jogger pants and hoodies (not that it deters the catcalls).

I am sure that I am not alone when I say that catcalls are not compliments nor do they feel good to receive. I have never met someone who is happy to share how a group of strangers shouted lewd things at them as he/she is passing by.

The times I encountered them I felt afraid

Imagine walking alone in a mostly empty street and the you passed by a group of strangers looking at you. Then, they started saying disturbing things to get your attention.

There is no one else there so they must be talking to you. What would you do?

For me, I usually just try to walk faster and that is saying something because I usually walk fast. So what walking faster is to me is kinda sprinting but not, just on the verge of it.

Sometimes it deters them as they do not want to get up from their place on the street. But most times, part of their group stood up to follow.

These guys will get extremely close for comfort, surrounding me as I try to just ignore them.

I am short, so they almost always tower over me.

The feeling of being surrounded with the cheers of their friends in the background is sickening.

But still, I try to walk away without even giving a glance in any of their direction which always seemed to piss them off.

If I had to endure an uncomfortable situation then I will make damn sure that they are irritated as much as I can make them. I refuse to be the only one who will leave the "interaction" in a bad mood.

If they have yet to stop following me, I go in the direction that I know will have more people even if it was not where I am going. They usually tend to stop following once they realized where I am walking.

There was another time when I was wearing a skirt and long sleeves when someone passing by stopped in their tracks and tried to talk to me.

"May boyfriend ka na ba?" (Do you already have a boyfriend?)

When I moved so I can go to a place with more people he followed me and continue trying to talk to me even when I had shown no interest in talking with him.

The area was not busy as it was weekend and I was around a school. The gates were locked so I could not exactly go inside.

He was getting closer and bolder because he can see that I was realizing there is no one around. But thankfully the friend I was waiting for finally came and chased away the creepy dude.

And then there are this frequent catcallers that I encounter a lot of times before the pandemic.

They are the ones that stay mostly out on our street so I had no choice but to walk there. I have since learned when they are out so I make sure to always try to not go out or go home during that time.

They are mostly annoying as when they tried to touch my arm to listen to them, I slapped the guys thar tried. I slapped him hard. And walked away.

After that they keep to just jeering but not tried to touch me again.

Of course there are more instances but I do not want to ruin a good day thinking about those times. So I will stop here.

I just don't understand

Why are there people who think catcalls are just jokes or compliments?

It is also not just done by men but also by women.

I just find it so weird that people still think catcalling others will make them fall for you or whatever it is they are trying to do. It just does not work.

Anyway, this article is just really to say I hate catcallers. I have never felt complimented when someone catcalls me. On the contrary, I felt bad and guilty for maybe wearing clothes I wanted to wear or doing my hair or something.

I don't know. But the point is I used to blame myself for getting their attention. Now I know that their actions have nothing to do with me and more to do with them.

The catcalls do not stop no matter what I am wearing even when I am wearing unflattering clothes or even if I go out without brushing my hair.

So it is not me that I should be placing pressure on. I just wish that someone who knows a catcaller can call them out when they are doing it because they are more likely to listen to the people they know than strangers.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want someone to talk to about random things, you can find me here:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for my first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/JKwEDQhfTib

18
$ 10.54
$ 10.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 8
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Hello. I'm so sorry that you got to experience this kind of behavior. It's really disgusting. I witsh that people would be kind to each other instead of this. 😟 Like... It doesn't take much to just pay attention to yourself and be kind to others. And about the sayings that "you should be glad for the cat calls" because "we are just calling you pretty" - I'm so angry at this! It's all about context you stupid. My boyfriend or my family can call me pretty all they want but you are just a stranger to me! It's VERY different, so understand the difference omg. I guess I'm kinda lucky because I can't recall this ever happening to me... Stay strong and careful ❤️ don't let it get to you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

YAAS they do not understand that a strangers words mean nothing to me but annoyance.

I hope that you never experience being catcalled. Thank youu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Boys will be boys, to them it's exciting catcalling girls but they barely realise what effect it has on them, it's part of this "being part of the larger crowd" cliche, "everyone is doing it so it must be right " but it isn't. The best to do is just ignore them. Of course, even if they get punished one time for doing it, or get scolded, it won't stop them from repeating it, very annoying

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think "boys will be boys" should be a term that describes mundane activities like playing in the mud, making up immediately with their friends after a fight, etc but never for doing sexual harassment. This idea than preying on women is just natural is why so many boys grew up thinking that that is the case. It is not the natural instinct of men to prey on women, they were just raised to believe that way when people keep using "boys will be boys" to excuse their behavior against women.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayaw ko makaencounter ng ganyan sis, masaydong nakakakaba kapag ganyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehhhh, buti nalang talaga wala akong naeencounter na ganyan. If ever man magkaroon baka masipa ko nga. I mean, pinagbawal na tu diba, para nabalita noon sa t.v. Nakakatakot ang gsnyan pag nataon na gabi nangyari. Wala kang mahihingan ng tulong if ever mag decide sila na you know Goshhhh. I hate that kind of people. Si ba nila mahalata na uncomfortable na yong inaano nila 🙄

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hopefully never mo na sila maencounter dahil may batas na against them. Buti nga nagkaroon ganun pero sana maimplement nang maayos talaga.

Sa tingin ko alam nilang di komportable. Wala lang silang pake. Kasi sa mga teleserye, books or anything madalas pinapakita na if they are pushed hard enough women tend to say yes even after saying no multiple times in the beginning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha naalala ko nanaman yung viral vids about sa cat calling. Yung lalaking tinawag na Baby ng isang G*y LOL..

pangit talaga kapag may ganyang cat caling in the ladies, napaka unprofesional and unjust..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nakakapikon yung catcalling kahit sino gumawa. Nakakainis kasi di nila magets na di masaya maz-catcall. Pero sana magstop na kahit papano dahil may batas na dun di ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also don't like being catcalled. I really feel it's rude to do it specially to strangers you have just saw randomly.

I have experienced it too a lot of times already when I was younger and now I am still a minor.

I usually get it when I go to school and when I go home. And I think the people that did it to me are perverts cause they knew that I am a student and yet... Like why would they do it to a growing up child ? I easily get shy and don't have a lot of friends so I just ignore them but I really feel uncomfortable with it. 'Till I get home I still carry it inside my mind and silently cursing at them .

President Duterte of Philippines had already signed a law declaring catcalling, wolf whistling and such other street harassment are punishable and is a criminal act.

Yes it is good but some people are still ignorant of it.

They (some, especially those boomers) still tolerate those acts, I mean they literally made it as just "normal" and is already part of the Filipino toxic CULTURE.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They can't just stop with the nonsense attitude, I was walking the streets with my sis and they still did that rubbish....Zehra don't let that get to you, you are beautiful and they can't just seem to control their self. I'm sure if nobody was there ultimately it turns into rape or assault.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh no, I am so sorry to hear that your sister still had to experience that despite your presence. You are right about it being turned into rape or assault if left all alone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the reason why I didn't go outside alone especially when I go to the place that I am not familiar with. Nakakainis lang Kase Minsan akala nila Nakakatuwa pa yung ginagawa Nila, Hindi Nila alam na sobrang kabado ka na. And kaya rin Yung dahilan kung bakit tinuruan ako Nina kuya Ng basic self-defense.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Totoo lang nakakainis. Kala nila biro biro. Nakakasad na kailangan pa natin mag arap ng self defense just to feel safe sa mga gantong tao.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu! I feel you. I get harassed because I got big boobs. Some girls love to have it but for me, it loses my confidence, and feel stress every time they notice it.

I will write an article about this too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Truue, I also have big boobs and I do not understand why other would love to have it. They just cause me back pains and unneeded attention

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May taser ako, sis. pahiram ko sau hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ay hindi po ako marunong gumamit niyan HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's certainly a very disturbing experience. Some people just really don't have logic, they don't think that it could happen to their family members like sisters or even their mother. It's really not about what you wear, but it's just their dirty minds. Hopefully, you won't encounter any fools like that again. Stay safe and have a nice day!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I really hope so since there is now a law that forbids it. Stay safe and have a great day as well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every woman should have Taser or Stun Gun with her all the time for her safety.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's sad that we have to think about bringing such things with us always because of the catcallers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I hate walking or going out alone because I know that there are a lot of people like that in the streets esp. To the store and I know that I am not that attractive just like other girls but i deserved a respect too. 🥺

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True, respect is supposed to be for everyone no matter the perceived level of attractiveness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isa din yan sa mga reasons na ayaw ko maglakad mag-isa. Nakakairita ang mga taong ganyan. Minsan kahit magdamit ka pa ng maayos, may magcacatcall pa rin. Di ba may batas na ata sa mga ganyan?

Anyway, thank you sa blessing.🥰

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yas, may batas na siya ngayon. Di pa ako masyado lumalabas ulit kaya di ko sure if tumigil na sila pero sana naman.

You're welcome po hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago