Afternoon Realizations

30 53

Afternoons in the Philippines are incredibly hot. If I had a choice, I would just sleep through the hottest part of the day and just move around during the cool hours. But alas, there are things that need to be done when the sun is up and shining.

This afternoon, I had a realization after some journaling.

I was going through all the times that I felt like I wanted to leave the house and just live on my own.

It might seem like a pretty dream but I have done some math back then, and I could afford to do that with my current savings plus the monthly stipend that I receive.

So, in other words, if I one day decided to leave, I know that I can take care of myself well enough.

But still, I am here. Living in the same roof that just a few years ago, I vowed to leave as soon as I can manage that.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Check out my incredible sponsors.

A story from years ago

When I started in high school, the distance between me and my family started to grow. This is because I was mostly out doing group activities and when I am at home, I am doing more requirements.

We always had fights about it, and I always find myself bitterly passing the blame onto them since my parents were the one who wanted to me to attend a Science High School.

I remember feeling jealous when I encounter my elementary acquintances and they were out having fun, their problems were 2 quizzes on the same day and just that.

While for us, we had 3 quizzes plus projects, assignments and tons of groupworks every single day.

School had taken up a good chunk of my life back then. And younger me blamed my parents for it.

I know that if I had asked, they would have allowed me to go but the school is not that easy to let go of students. I know because I tried it during Grade 10.

After years of abusing my body to the point where I look like a skeleton and my mind is always empty, I finally broke down and asked my parents to transfer me to another school.

But like I said, the school is not easy to let go of students especially when they are part of the pilot section. So I rested then came back during major examination week without knowing the lessons I missed. I passed all of the tests, even getting highest for about half of the subjects which further reinforced the school's belief that they made the right choice forcing me to stay.

Anyway, this bitterness in me lives on until Senior High School even though the subjects got easier since we are just following the normal curriculum so the subjects are not so overwhelming like before.

Sure, the teachers adjusted the lessons to make it harder and more advanced but it was easier since instead of staying at school from 7:00am to 5:30pm, we only had to stay until 3:30pm. That 2 hours difference already meant a lot to us since it gave us more free time to think and to rest.

But my parents still find ways to make me feel worse (or so I thought).

It happened one night

They caught my younger sisters using their phones past 10:00pm and decided to confiscate oue phones by 10:00pm every nights since then. Even me who was asleep by that time.

Sure, it should not have mattered since I was asleep by then but it still made me angry at them because why was I part of the punishment when I did not do anything wrong.

For the next 2 years, I will be planning how to leave the house soon as I reached 18.

When I got my first job at 18, my father will always bring me to my workplace and is always there to pick me up when it is time to go home. So I basically just go to work then go home.

I could have left then and I would have been okay. I had a stable salary, and I already signed a scholarship grant that gives me monthly stipend.

Back then I had a choice to leave. But I did not take it.

Why?

Because one time I waited for more than an hour for my father to pick me up from work. My out is at 3:00am but he did not hear the alarm he set and only woke up at around 5:00am. I was already sleepy then and I really wanted to go home but they told me not to commute during those times even if I can. So I waited.

You might think that this should have been the last straw for me. That this should have been the push I needed to leave but that is exactly opposite of what happened.

It was the moment that made me decide to stay. It was the moment when I gave most of my salary to my parents and only getting some money for my lunch everyday at work.

It was the moment when I saw just how old my parents were getting.

It made me realize that they already need to rest but still they work hard to make sure we have a better life than them.

They might do things that I do not agree with. They might say things that hurt me. They might be toxic sometimes.

But they still did their best to help us have a brighter future.

When most parents would have given up when I was struggling to fight my demons, they did not leave. They did not understand what I was going through but they still did their best to help me through it. They did not make me feel alone.

When I had a nasty fight with them when I was sure that I would leave the next day. I would remember how they always stay up all night until all of us (sisters) are home safe.

Sometimes it feels like the pressure put on me is too much. Sometimes it feels like my worth in the family is only measured by how much money I can give now and in the future. But I hear them whispering about problems that they never told us. I see them using all their money for our needs, and never for their wants.

Sure, it is their responsibility. But I believe that they no longer have to do that when we can technically take care of ourselves.

Sometimes, there are still moments when I wanted to leave and I know that I can. The hurtful words play in my mind like a never ending tape.

But I stayed still. Toxic may it be sometimes but they are trying.

We grew up in different generation so what they believe in may no longer apply to what we believed in. But they are trying to understand. And even if we disagree on a lot of things (especially politics and relationship views) they are still doing what they can to help.

When we mess up, they could have left us to deal with it alone but they carried it with us.

The life I can think of when I live my home is peaceful, quiet, and oh so incredibly lonely. So I stayed despite the times that I could have left.



Thank you for reading my article!

If you want someone to talk to about random things, you can find me here:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for my first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/KuvhT1ORMib

16
$ 7.08
$ 6.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
+ 12
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Minsan naiisip ko rin yang mga bagay na Yan especially kapag nagkakaroon kami Ng misunderstanding pero bigla ko ring marerealize na hindi na nga pala sila pabata. Siguro may mga situations lang talaga na Yung mga parents at anak ay may magkaiba Ng pagkakaintindi. Oo Minsan nakakasawa kase sobrang strict Ng parents ko to the point na parang Di na ako makahinga pero at the end of the day , Parents ko pa rin sila and I know that they only do the best things to guide me as a better person. Alam ko rin na Minsan pare-parehas lang kami napapagod kaya Minsan namimis interpret lang natin Yung mga actions Nila.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yas, mahirap kasi talaga since magkaiba na yung mga pananaw. Yung akala nila pagmamalasakit lang di nila alam nakakasakit na talaga ng feelings. Pero at the end naman talaga lahat naman ginagawa lang yung iniisip nilang best. So compromise na lang talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like my Mom, yamot na yamot talaga ako sa kaniya kasi ang higpit nya sakin. Yong ang dami kong di magawa dahil sa kanila. Nagtanim ako ng galit, nagbalak bumalik sa pinaggalingan ko at kung ano ano pang naiisip ko na gawin before. Peri diko din nagawa, umaatras ako kasi naiisip ko ung mangyayari if ever lumayas ako so no. Nevermind, sabi ko titiisin ko nalang. Masasabay din ako. Natetake ko naman ung mga words nila minsan pero may time lang talaga na mapupuno ka ee. Iyak nalang ang magagawa.

But look at me now still here with them. Di na ganon ka tight si Mommy ko like before. Nawala man ung resentment ko sa kanya ee. I'm okay we're okay. And I understand them. Ginagawa lang nila ung alam nilang makakabuti satin.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Parang same situation po kayo ng bestfriend ko. Hirap na hirap siya sa sobrang strict ng parents niya to the point na feeling niya nakakulong siya bahay nila. Pero at the end of the day hindi niya talaga kaya umalis kasi di rin matiis ang parents

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be happy, don't stress yourself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

minsan nakakainis sila kasinagiging toxic at annoying pero sa totoo lang mahal ko magulang ko. parang wala sakin ung laki ng naiipon ko basta pagdating sa mga kagustuhan nila gusto ko sila maspoil habang andito pa sila sa mundo

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Totoo yan sis. Kakapagod minsan intindihin yung pagiging toxic nila lalo na kapag ang close minded na porket mas matanda sila dapat lagi tama. Pero agree rin ako jan na gusto sila ispoil habang andito pa. Kasi ayoko naman yung ang laki nga ng ipon ko pero di ko naman naparanas sa kanila yung kahit konting enjoyment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our parents may become the most annoying and toxic person , but we cannot deny the fact they are still our parents. The one who cared and loved us. The people who sacrifices a lot to give us a better life. The one who stays even if everybody else already leave us behind.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is so true. Sometimes this fact is hard to remember especially when we are angry and hurt but at the end of the day, whatever actions they take are usually because they believe it is the best course of action for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naenjoy q lang din nman s science class kc my, allowance kmi.. Usually yun jun to dec. Sa dec ni ibinibigay kaya naiipon pang pasko din hhahha taz 1 yr ahead ang subject sa reg class.. Though malapit lng kc yun skol q di tulad sayo anlayo pala, napalayo ka tuloy sa family mo..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yun lang po talaga dahilan bat gusto nila ako mag sci high sksks dahil sa stipend. Kaso naman napagod ako sobra kasi dalawang science tas minsan tatlong math subjects sabay sabay. Tas di pa sila kuntento sa basics lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe sabagay ako nga hindi nman din sa akin napunta yun pera sa lola ko pambili ng bigas.. Stressful lang tlga kc pati teachers ang taas ng expectations nila pag nasa sci section ka..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Someone once told me that the greatest love you can give to someone is Sacrifice. even without being recognized by other people, sacrificing for the ones you love and care for are worth more than you could ever gift. I hope that you keep writing more articles. ❤︎

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It sounds like you are surrounded with wise people. I agree that love even without recognition is definitely worth it.

I hope that you also keep on writing articles. I definitely enjoyed reading your works 💕

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello. Just newbie here. I feel you and I've been there. Just please enjoy life and don't stress yourself too much. Life is good. We must enjoy this borrowed time of ours 🙂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi, and welcome to read.cash! You are right, we need to enjoy our time instead of stressing ourselves too much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the warm welcome 🙂. Yes, let's just continue enjoying life. And just to share, I am so much to have this type of platform read.cash and also noise.cash. Imagine you are just sharing your feelings and experiences and you'll earning. Not the same with other social medias, you'll be judge instead. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right about how different bothe platforms are to other social media. Instead of judgement, you receive support here. And instead of toxicity, you will have some extra money in your wallet just for interacting hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also experience my phone confiscate my phone during my high school days. Anyways, you are strong despite of what you experience to your family you still manage to stay with them. i also have the same experience like you that I almost want to get out of this place because it become toxic but later on I learned and realize some things so I did not continue my plans.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Some time spent on thinking things through can really help us stop in doing impulsive decisions haha. Glad to know that you realized things before it was too late

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Correct. Plus I am happy to my virtual friends they help me to not thinking negative and toxic things ☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The sweet story I enjoy the follow of it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I am glad that you enjoyed it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another brilliant article, you are my new role model, your article is sooooo....I can't even find the right word for it, as someone who has tried to run away from home a lot, I agree with you, sometimes parents can be annoying but they really do their best to love and protect us, so they should be appreciated. Thanks for sharing this article with us

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aww, I feel so humbled to hear such kind words coming from you. Thank you so much for your support!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just enjoy yourself, and we should note that family will always be family. We can't abandon them forever.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True, no matter how strained our relationships with our family became, we can never truly leave them behind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why you write so emotional stories. Be happy and don’t force your self to stay in bad vibes, If you have good vibes then do remember them always and try to spend your time with those people who love. Btw, I am your first reader Got my reward ☺️. Can you tell me please how to make this kind of reward link ?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hello, I am actually more happy now that I am writing emotional articles than when I am writing happy articles hehe. This is just my way of ridding myself of lingering thoughts.

Thank you for the advice, anyway.

Congratulations, and thank you for reading my article. I make this link on the bitcoin.com wallet. I choose send and then choose shareable link. I pick the amount I want to give and then click send. It will generate a link like this one and I just copy and paste it here on my article.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Then, It is perfectly fine. If you are doing anything that makes you happy then do it always no matter what the other people think about you.

Btw, Thank you for telling me and for your previous time. ☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago