Outrage of Super Typhoon Odette In Our Place

20 47
Avatar for Yzza0625
2 years ago

December 24, 2021

Greetings everyone. How are you all? To my fellow countrymen, I hope you are all safe.

Last December 16, 2021, super typhoon Odette with international name Rai hit our country. As of now, life casualties reached 200+ and billions of infrastructures were destroyed. Millions of people were affected by the said typhoon. Many houses were severely damaged. Many trees had fallen and destroyed that made the mountains looked so near and visible. There were many landslides in high areas that made us hard to pass. Electrical posts were down.

Two days after the typhoon, I visited my parents because their place was under signal number 5. I was so worried about them because I heard that there were many people died in our province. The day after the typhoon there was an earthquake happened that added up my worries. Our way to our province was not passable because there were many big landslides in some areas so we look for other route just to be there. Luckily there was one route that was passable and it took us more than 4 hours to travel for us to arrive in our place. My partner and I took that chance. While we were in our way to my parents place, I couldn't hold the tears in my eyes while looking the houses that torn into pieces. My heart was so broken with the view I was looking. When we were already near in my parents town, I cried looking the devastating view. Our town looked like a ghost town. It looked so lifeless. I can see the grief in the face of every person that we passed by.

This is our town plaza.
The port area.

The devastating images above are the situation in our town. I captured these when I we were in our way to my parents house.

When we arrived at my parents place, I was relieved because I saw them safe. I'm happy seeing them in one piece but at the same time I am sad because our house was also destroyed. I feel pity for my father and mother who tried to pick up the debris of the house that can still be useful. Our fruit trees and coconuts were down because of the very strong wind. They said that there was also a hurricane during the typhoon that made the houses totally damaged. Good thing my sister was able to buy groceries before the typhoon. They have something to consume for the meantime. But it worries me because their food supply is good only for a week. They gave some to our neighbors that has nothing to eat. So, I promised them to be back and contact to our other family members and relatives to asks some help. After I made sure that my family is fine, I checked my cousins and relatives to make sure that they are safe. But my eyes witnessed a very heartbreaking view. Our place is situated near the coastal area. It was the most heavily affected by the typhoon because of the storm surge. Just like what happened to typhoon Yolanda way back in the year 2013, there was a storm surge occurred.

This is my parents house. My cousin captured it after the typhoon

Three houses of my cousins were totally washed out and leave nothing even the cement floor or a post. The storm surge took every piece of the house. My cousin were so devastated because they almost finished their dream house and there were only few things to do for them to move this month, but the typhoon took it in just one snap. The hard work they exerted were gone to waste. They weren't able to save their clothes and things especially for her baby. They have nothing to eat because their one sack of rice that was newly bought was also washed out by the waves. My heart was so crushed looking at them. They can't contact their other family members because there is no electricity and the network connection was also cut. I promised them that I will contact their family members when the internet connection will be restored in my partner's place.

The photo above is the house of my cousin that is totally wrecked by the big waves during the typhoon.

Tomorrow is Christmas day. I feel so sad thinking about my family, relatives, friends and all victims of the typhoon that they are going to celebrate Christmas without electricity, no shelter, no delicious food in their table and cannot contact their family to greet them. On the other hand, I'm still thankful to God that there is no life casualty in our barangay.

Final Say

This time many Filipino people are heavily challenge by the nature. It is literally true that when nature speaks its anger, we, humans can't do anything. But despite this situation that we are facing right now aside from the COVID-19 that is continuously affecting our country, I know we can rise again. We, Filipinos are resilient and brave enough to face any struggles that is being thrown to us. All I want and ask from you who is reading this is to include us to your prayers. Help us pray that we can surpass this calamity and we can survive our situation.

I want to extend my gratefulness to all of you who supported me continuously. Thank you so much.

All images above were captured by me including the lead image that I edited using the Foto Grid app.

10
$ 3.86
$ 2.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Jane
$ 0.50 from @Bloghound
+ 7
Sponsors of Yzza0625
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yzza0625
2 years ago

Comments

Parang yolanda din pla 😭😭. Im one of the survivors of that typhoon... Btw, Merry Christmas and happy new year πŸ™‚..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabi nga nila sis Yolanda 2 daw ang bagyong Odette. Salamat nga pala sa malaking upvote. Merry Christmas and happy new year din sayo.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so sorry to read this. Grabe yung gianwa ni Odette. Pero buti nlang at safe ang family mi sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga sis eh. Di bale ng nasira ang bahay. Ang importante ligtas sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very Sad :( thanks talaga kay god kahit na ganyan kalakas ang bagyo ei safe ang mga tao. Merry christmas sayo sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga sis. Thankful pa din kami. Merry Christmas din sayo sis. Happy new year din.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry you and your family are going through this. I pray for the strength you need during this time and I'll like to believe the worst has happened and things will only get better. Thank God your parents are safe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the prayers. I know we can get through this. We just have to be positive. Thank you friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ate grabe gayud makahilak gayud ko. Coastal areas d.i mo te. Kami sad te maong arang kulbaa nako. Tinuod bitaw ng hurricane. Naa daw gayud te kay naay nakakita pud sa Calian mao daw nagpaguba sa mga balay plus ang mga dagkong bawod pa gayud.😭

Hilak² gud ko te sa kakulba kung naunsa ra akong family adtoa.😭 Wa nagud koy tulog te.😭 Thankful ko kay safe lang sila adtoa. Kamu te kumusta man mo araa?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok ra mi diri sa lugar sa akong partner Lang. Though gibaha pud mi pero wa ra ni katunga sa kadaut ngadto sa lugar sa akong parents. Grabe jud Lang, magtu jud imong luha magtan-aw didto. Perti jud nilang luoya labi na tung naay mga baby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you God safe mo te.πŸ™ Nakalbo ang mga bukid te.😭 Hangtud run dili ko katuo sa panghitabo tas didto pa gayud mi 3rd landfall sa Liloan arang duola ras amu te.😭 Kung kanus a magpasko mao sad nag kabagyo ug perti kakusog.😭 Mao gayud te perting looya.😭 Musta man ang mga pagkaon dihaa te?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same gyud tag sitwasyon ani te, hope okay namo dira. Kagahapon lang mi naka signal diri, pero until now Wala gihapon kuryente

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok ra mi diri sa lugar sa akong pares sis. Ningbalik na among kuryente diri. Ang akong gikabalak-an kay ngadto sa lugar sa akong parents. Luoy man kaayu sila didto uy. Hinay-hinay lang tag bangon ani sis. Amping mo diha. Naa napud ra bay upcoming nga bagyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so sorry to hear this, sis. I am including you in my prayers. Please hang in there!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis. Makakabangon din kami soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ang kadaut na dala sa bagyong Odette sis, ang sa ako kuya ug papa , na washed out sab ang ilahang mga balay. Ang sa ako ate ug lola naguba kay natumbahan ug lubi ug kahoy. Hay kapait jud, hangtod karon wala pa kuryente sa probinsya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi sis uy. Gipahapa jud ang mga lubi ug kahoy. Luoy kaayu sis. Medyo madugay-dugay pa jud na ug siga balik sis kay perting daghana man jud nangatumba nga mga poste sa kuryente.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, ingon akong ate na one month pa bago makabalik ang kuryente. Pray lang ta nga makabangon tang tanan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was heartbroken when I saw it on the news, I wasn't aware of the landslide though, so many lives and properties were lost, I'm glad your parents are safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The landslides were not given an attention because it didn't give much damage. The most heavily damaged were on the coastal areas. Many houses were being washed out by the waves. Yes, I am happy that my family and the people in my place are safe. It's fine for us that our houses were damage. We can build it again. What's important is that we are all safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago