Beauty: is it just a trap?

20 54
Avatar for Yinye_xo
2 years ago

Photo by Zachary DeBottis from Pexels

Every generation, the definition of beauty changes.

Years ago, beauty was a tall figure, little *ss and small breasts with thin lips.

Years later, it became thick girls, big butts and full lips.

At different occasions, we see some celebrities looking darker than they truly are. Then we say they got a "summer tan".

Or a black lady looking extremely lighter and the person is praised for "glowing".

When in fact, she bleached her skin in order to please her audience.

At a time, the rate at which women were undergoing surgery to achieve fuller lips was really high.

Some apply lip liners above the corners of their lips to make it appear fuller.

Boys with health issues push themselves to gym because they want to achieve the "buff" look that drives the ladies crazy.

Photo by Victor Freitas from Pexels

A lot goes on just to suit the modern day definition of beauty.

But have we stopped to think?

Is it sort of a trap?

You're trapped in the illusion that you are not perfect the way you are.

Trapped in the opinions of people (both strangers and acquaintances, enemies and friends)

The difference between pizza and your opinion is that I asked for pizza ~ Anonymous

At times, we find ourselves making the mistake of talking down on people's look.

We find ourselves saying, "That guy is too short, he's not my spec"

Or "She's really skinny and ugly, she needs more skin"

How God comes in.

God created everything in this world.

All fingers are not equal, so there's no way all guys on earth will be tall or all the girls will have thick bodies.

Not all will have clear skin and the perfect pointed nose.

At a point in my life, I hated the way I looked. On various occasions, I was told me that my nose was big and when I get pregnant in future, it'd be twice the size and I'd look horrible.

I was also told that my head was really huge.

I was never happy with myself. Those were the only things I saw whenever I looked into the mirror. Those statements trapped me in a corner to the point that I promised myself I would get a nose job as soon as I got rich. (So glad that I'm over that now lol)

People still change themselves when they know that trends will always come and go. Why make permanent changes when situations are always temporary.

The song by Alessia Cara- "Scars to your beautiful" sheds more light on this.

As part of the lyrics says;

You don't have to change a thing the world could change it's heart

Surgery might not be the 'trending topic' in the next few years. So why make a change that might keep you happy for a while?

When there's a new trend, people tend to mock or insult those still living in the old one.

So what's the meaning of beauty?

Over time, I understood that beauty has more to do with the character than looks.

Outer looks doesn't define beauty.

Funnily enough, most people who get into relationships solely because their significant other was pretty or handsome were often disappointed by their character and attitude.

They'd say, "I don't know what I saw in her. Beauty without brains".

Whether we like it or not, people will always have their "type" or "spec".

But others should not be termed "ugly" because they can't meet the standards.

So let's not dwell or be trapped in the society's definition of beauty. But bask in the glory of good character.

Photo from unsplash

This is my entry for the prompt "Beauty" by @JonicaBradley

I hope you enjoyed it💞.

Why don't you join in, write your article and submit it to the Promptly jonica community 💗.

Can't wait to see yours. Xoxo 💞

Love @Yinye_xo

September 6, 2021. 21:40

12
$ 0.26
$ 0.08 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 4
Sponsors of Yinye_xo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yinye_xo
2 years ago

Comments

It is true that beauty is not solely determined by one's physical appearance, but also by one's character. Thank u for sharing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No one is ugly ,we are all beautiful🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every single one of us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beauty in today's generation is commercialized with make-ups, surgeries, and the like. But true beauty is the one that shines from within. If it comes out, it outshines any physical imperfections.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the realest truth... But in today's society, everyone wants to believe the lies

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well at least we don't so not everyone :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah... So sorry.... I meant most people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, no worries, No need to be sorry :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beauty isn't all is cracked up to be, I get it. I liked reading your perspective on this issue. Thank you for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you 💞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did justice to this topic Onye👏👏👏 Beauty truly is not all about the physique or looks but character.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks 💞✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Body shaming is a serious problem in the society and have led to people commiting suicide. Everyone is beautiful in their unique way and we must all understand that our flaws makes us unique. We should all endeavor not to live according to the standards of others, beauty is subjective and totally depends on personal views and tastes 👌 lovely entry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope we learn that as soon as possible... Thanks❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're beautiful love! 🥺❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😩😩😩... Thanks 💞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baby girl, I don't think a better job could have been done. You sabi assignment 😩🤝. I particularly love that clause, "why make permanent changes when situations are always temporary?" It hit me hard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lmao 😂😂... Thank you ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder...but it even goes deeper than that, you need to be the first beholder. You need to first love yourself before you can expect to be loved by anyone. No one is essentially perfect, but it us those flaws that makes us who we are, if we change that just to please people, we start to loose a part of ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this😩❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago