The feeling of being shortlisted: An aspiring freelancer journey.

13 33
Avatar for Yen
Written by
1 year ago

July 12, 2022

2:21 PM.

Last month when I decided to learn more about freelancing. It is not so easy as I need to start from scratch and I need to motivate myself to learn on my own with the help of different webinars and helpful videos on the internet as I don't want to enroll a paid course. There are times that I feel like I can't do it but on those times I also find ways to be more optimistic.

I had my first ever client on Upwork last month. It's just a one week project but still I'm glad because I experienced to communicate with the client and experience how to deal with them and for a stay at home mom like me who used to earn crypto for 2 years without a boss it's quite hard and strange.

I didn't pressured myself to learn about freelancing in an instant but I make sure that I will learn little by little as the days passed by. It's been 2 weeks since I didn't open my OLJ account after the incident that I applied and scheduled for an interview with crypto related job but looks like scam.

Then on July 5 I opened my OLJ account and from there I saw a job posting about Pinterest VA. As usual when I thought that I know the job description and I know that I can do the job I will apply. I applied July 5 and forgot about it. I don't know whats wrong with me but I forgot to check my email maybe because I didn't expect any replies coming from the client.

So July 9 when I opened my email and I recieved a message.

He replied to my application on the same day that I applied but I read it late. I replied to the client saying an apology for a late response and also answered the set of questions that was attached on the email.

I am very happy on this moment but I also worried because it's been a couple of days after I replied.

The night of July 9 after the Hive Onboarding Program I checked my email and recieved this. Imagine if I got hired I will be recieving $350 per month. Thinking about it makes me happy and hopeful but when I read the second question I was worried and not too confident with my designs. The only graphics and design that is available on my Canva account are those photo covers that I created for my blogs plus the logos of my Facebook page. As for the pins I don't have a pins that I will attach as the only pins that I created for my client last time is just a plain text only. Like what I said it's not part of my job but I still created a pin on my last client to help him promote his website on Pinterest but those pins is not so good I admit.

I still send those sample designs of mine to him and I told him that I am not too confident with my works. I know it's a wrong move to say that I but it's all done.

In the morning of July 10 I recieved a message which is this saying I'll inform you again when you are selected.

On this moment I don't want to expect anymore as I already felt that I didn't get the job. I remember there's a Filipino thing like this " Don't call us we will call you " . But on the other hand , as an employee of a BPO company and applied on several BPO companies in the past they are not like that. They are straightforward on saying that you failed or something.

As of this moment I am not expecting anything. This is my second application on OLJ and I am happy because I got shortlisted. This experience of mine is also a reminder for me to set up my portfolio already because it's a must.

7
$ 1.80
$ 1.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.02 from @itsmeCguro
+ 2
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Ano yung OLJ?.. iniisip ko pa nga lang e push freelancing parang napapagod na ako hahaha jusko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good experience nga to ate, sana makuha ka po ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm planning to find a part-time online job, hopefully. Let's pray hard that you will have a positive result soon! God bless you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember one time I joined a challenge on Instagram and the people that hosted it contacted me but I didn't see the message, not until I checked the request message which later became too late to reply, this is a reminder for us to always try and check our mail or dm

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck ate hehe. Kung ako rin pinagawa ng ganyan, wala akong confidence kasi di ako talented with that matter. Ako ate gusto ko rin mag-apply don sa OLJ kaso di ko alam kung may age limit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala Naman yata age limit don

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

WHo knows Yen, you might get the job. Ang laki ng sahuran ha and mukhang may pabonus pa kapag nagustuhan ang gawa mo, hehehe.. Goodluck Yen!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

E eme eme Lang Yung pinasa ko mommy kaya dinadin ako mag expect haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Hahaha, malay mo naman di ba..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Malay mo naman ate diba, pero atleast, naentertain ka pa rin. Hirap kaya maghanap dyan sa OLJ and Upwork.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayun nga Kaya happy nadin ako kasi napansin ako kahit Di matanggap atleast learn from experience nalang

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Whoo! Tuloy tuloy na yan ate. Sana matanggap ka no? Ang dami palang process dyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mukang negative na nga 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago