Stop on assuming, ask a question.

16 38
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

What comes to your mind when you saw the title? Are you relatable to this? Maybe we are thinking of the same thoughts. I am a kind of person who always assume without asking a question and because of that I always lost my way. No. It is not all about love or anything but it is all about the experienced happened to me when I was new in Metro Manila. Did you know that I lost many time just because I assumed that I will find the right place I am looking for but ended up lost.

Let's me share you my story.

The first time I experienced to be lost was when I was in College. I am studying in PUP Sta Mesa that time and I am living in Western Bicutan. The only transportation that I knew that time was PNR with a route of FTI to Sta Mesa. It was weekend that time and my Aunt asked me to go on thier house in Sta. Mesa and I did. I go there via train and then I have no worries to go back on our apartment because the train has a trip until 7 PM.

I leave my Aunt house by 6 AM and ride on the last trip of the train and while we were taking the Pasay Road station , the train stopped and the announcer said it was broke and need to be fix but they didn't know if it will be fix soon. The other passengers already leave the train and ride on a jeep. I want to follow them but I don't know how to commute via jeepney and I didn't know also the place which is Pasay Road because I only ride a train everytime I go to Sta. Mesa and back to FTI. It's been an hour since the train stop and my mobile was battery empty.

I leave the train station and follow the other passengers who ride on the jeepney. I didn't ask a question about the route and just ride on the jeep. I am so worried that time because I didn't know what to say on the driver. I looked at the place and I am not familiar. It's already 8:30 PM that time and all of the passengers already leave the jeepney and I am the only one who stay inside.

The jeepney driver asked me. " Where are you going miss? " . I told him that I live in Taguig and I don't know the route how to go there. Good thing the jeepney driver was kind and he didn't accepted my fare and then he taught me the right route and where is the terminal going to FTI. He even told the barker to assist me because I don't know the route.

Before I leave the jeep. The jeepney driver told me. Miss , the next time that you didn't know the route , don't be hesitate to ask so that you can travel easily. There's nothing wrong on asking questions especially when you didn't know the place. I just nod at him and thanked him for his kindness.

I reached the house at 9 PM and my parents were really worried to me. My Uncle was ready to find me that time, good thing he didn't leave the house yet. I told them my experience and then they didn't asked for anything.

This experienced of mine was followed not just second time but a couple of times. I am smiling while thinking about those memories of mine when I didn't know how to travel in Manila from one place to another. Mostly , my experienced of losing my way was when I am looking for a building because I am applying for work. I didn't know what's wrong with me why it is hard for me to asked questions and I always assumed that I can find it on my way without thinking that is it easy to find a place when you asked people near the place that you looking for.

As the time passes by , as I experienced those and my confidence on engaging to people improve I must say that I am not the type of person who was like the old me. I learned to asked questions to strangers and because I work on field in Manila I almost travel the whole Metro Manila from Valenzuela to Muntinlupa.

Now I am not afraid to go anywhere, as long as I can ask questions to other people for sure I will not be lost again.

10
$ 31.62
$ 31.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Good thing at mabuting tao si mamang driver pra d xa nagtake advantage sau. Un ung nagagawa ng pagiging shy natin, nahihiya taung magtanong at just observed how other people do things tsaka ntin gagayahin.. truly natututo tau sa pagdaan ng panahon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganto rin po sabi sakin ni papa na everytime daw na di ako familiar sa place na pinupuntahan ko, lagi daw akong magtatanong. Si papa din po galing sa probinsya at isa sa natutunan nya dito sa manila ay ang kahalagahan ng pagtatanong hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate na relate ako sa title. Napaka assumera ko na ba non? 😂 hindi na muli akong mag aassume, tatanong na agad. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yays hahahaha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yieee, sabi sayo madam maganda ung nasa dulo ee, simple pwro rock ehee.

Anyway, ako naman mahilig talaga ako mag assume ahahaha. Kaya ayown nasaktan, lumagapak. Awts, pain, pighati, pasakit, siphayo, lumbay at kirot.

Ako, di ako umaalis mag isa talaga pag walang kasama kaya nevwr akong maliligaw. Pag wala akong kasama, ee di wala. Di hindi din ako aalis wahahahaha. Tangar ko pa namaj sa direksyon ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As in? Masarap minsan mag Isa gumagala haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

As in? Masarap minsan mag Isa gumagala haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

There is an adage in my local dialect that says "Those who ask for the route never get lost". This always rings in my ears and I have been to places I've never been to before and navigated my way by the virtue of asking questions. It's never a crime to ask. Some will politely tell you they don't know while others might still mislead you. So, I always ask questions at intervals to be sure I am on the right track.

It was a good thing you got home safely and of course, the Jeepney driver was a blessing to you that day for being so nice. We sometimes attract our kind and it shows you are a nice person too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also do the same thing. I asked questions twice or thrice just to make sure they are teaching the right route hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

That's better 🤣🤣🤣😂. Better to ask than to be on a wrong route.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Asking questions won't make us confused or lost our way. It is always good to ask questions so we don't end up stuck on the way. Even if you need to know someone, we need to ask from them and not assuming till we end up making it wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes , that's what I learned from my experiences 🙂

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Nung nsa Manila ako lage ako nagtatanong sa drivers at barkers.. Sila kc may alam.. Tapus google map narin or search about "how to get there" pra less question.. Minsan kc hndi mapapagkatiwalan ibang tao. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahiyain Kasi ako dati haha. Takot ako magtanong 😂 Kaya ayun lagi akong naliligaw . Dipa uso google map non. Keypad palang cellphone ko 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Ay sabagay.. 2017 pla ako sa Manila 🤣 Ako dn mahiyain kya lage google map.. Pro kpg wala choice.. Matanong tlga ako 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2011 to nangyari hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago