Payday is like an illusion.

20 46
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

I saw this image when I was scrolling on my Facebook account then I saw a comment there saying " Gusto ko nalang bumalik sa kinder tapos magcolor color " and I smiled because I also want to be back as a kindergarten kid when problems didn't exist at all. I mean there's a problem but not as hard as the problem in the adulting stage.

I also felt the phrase when adulting hits you very hard and there's a lot of comments there saying about the bills and other expenses that they need to pay because they are an adult too.

Credits to the Facebook page of Klasik Tito's and Titas of Manila.

Way back on my OJT days on the Accounting Department on our Municipal Hall , the staff there told me " One of the happiness moment of life is being a student. Once you graduated , that's the time that you will truly see the reality.

I don't have any idea of what she said until I graduated and got a job. When I was in college I want to graduate instantly and got a job so that I can earn money to help my family and buy the things that I want.

My first salary.

I spent my first salary buying my siblings and my parents pamasko in Baclaran. Baclaran is like Divisoria where you can buy affordable clothes. My first job was front desk assistant and my salary was minimum wage that time. My next salary was also given to my mother because it's nearly Christmas time that moment and we need money for that coming season.

As I continue working , my lifestyle also changed because my thinking was I will be having a salary and as a minimum wage earner I can't able to save some money.

No time for being lazy.

As an employee , you need to work 5 days a week or even 6 days a week with the given schedule of the company or sometimes rendering overtime for a couple of hours. Sometimes I feel that there's something strange on my body resulting that I just want to lay in bed and forget to go to work but I still manage to go because the daily salary is "sayang".

Payday is like an illusion.

Everyone is happy everytime pay day came but at the end of the day , pay day is just like an illusion because your salary is like sliding in your hands because of the expenses.

I remember everytime the pay day nearly coming , me and my office were talking on what to do with the salary next pay day. Yung tipong wala pa naman sa palad mo pero sa isip mo ubos na. You know how it feels? I know you knew.

Rendering overtime because you need money.

I experienced to work the whole month without rest day and go to work 12 hours a day because I need some money that time. Imagine I will leave the house 5 AM and go home 9 PM because the commuting time in Manila takes long because of traffic. Then time comes that I need to be in middle shift after I went to morning shift. Its like going home by 9 PM and sleep by 11 PM then woke up 4 AM. Sayang kasi yung OT.

Our supervisor said to us that time " Parang ang dami nyong binubuhay ah" because we are always present everytime there's an overtime. I almost earned 30 thousand that time and give it to my mother because she want to build an another room in our house and that's our room now. Katas ng overtime.

Looking for career growth.

Being a minimum wage earner is hard especially if you are a bread winner. It feels like you are just working to sustain the needs of your family and it's not fulfilling at all because the routine repeat itself and time comes that you want a career growth and better compensation. When I was working as a Data Lift Auditor , most of my batchmates that time already resigned and find a new better job with high compensation while us stayed on the company. We stayed on the company even if the compensation is not high like my other former colleague because of the friendship formed in our department. That time I am not minimum wage because our supervisor talk to our operations manager and asking for increase until I got pregnant and resigned.


But even if adulting hits me very hard , I still enjoy it because of the people around me. Even if theres a lot of bills to be paid , we make sure that we also reward ourselves every payday by eating in a fast food chain because that's the only we can afford special those bread winners. Eating after shift or calling the food delivery and eat on our break time.

Traveling can also be an option of rewarding ourselves but I only did it a few times because I got pregnant.

Authors note: I think most of the minimum wage earner will relate to this but if you are working with high compensation then sana all po .

9
$ 9.31
$ 8.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @ulf
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

parang mas masarap biglang mag aral CHAR HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@Ulf , thank you so much for the upvote ♥️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Okay lang naman po yan no ate. Kahit wala naiipon at binibigay sa Family mo Kapag nagwork ka. kasi yon naman talaga gusto natin, Makapag tapos ng pag-aaral tapos makatulong sa Pamilya. 😊 parang natupad mo nanga po yung isa mong pangarap eh. nakatulong kana po sa parents mo at ginagawa mo padin po hanggang ngayon di po ba? Okay lang kahit wala matira ang mahalaga eh nakatulong tayo sa pamilya natin at natuto din naman po tayo sa mga bagay bagay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo Naman hehe. Pinupunto ko lng e masarap bumalik sa pagkabata hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Illusion tlga madam. Yung kakakuha plng.. Next moment wala na parng bula 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate. Nun time na nagwork pa ako as in wala ako savings sa sahod ko kasi pinapadala ko sa probinsya dahil na rin siguro sa goal ko na makatulong sa family ko hanggat sa napagod at nag asawa na hehehe. At ipanagpatuloy ang pag-aaral na makatapos ng college but then now na tapos na at wala pang work sa hirap maghanap ng work namimis ko yun studyante days na projects at assignments lang ang inaatupag.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate ako dun sa kakasahod mo lang pero iniisip mo na yun gagawin sa susunod na sahod mo, hahaha.. Ganyan din ako noong nagwowork, tapos if may overtine sige paatusin kasi sayang din. Kaya ang payat ko noon eh. Then kapag sahod na kain s labas, ineenjoy talaga. Hay namiss ko tuloy magwork, Simula kasi nun nabuntis ako, di na ko nakapagwork, ayaw kasi ng asawa ko.. Pero dito nakapagwork akosa Capiz. Kaso pinatigil din ako dahil sa selos..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha relate po ms. Yen! Ako din nuon gusto na grumaduate pero ngayon mas gusto ko nalang mag color2 din 🤣 pero di natin yon mababalik kaya laban lang tayo talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yong ang daming humihiling na sana maka graduate na sila kasi gusto na nilang magwork. Hindi nila alam, mas malala pa sa naranasan nila nong college days ang mararanasan nila in real world. As in as a worker. I don't have experience, but I know some na talaga namang nakuu. Look at us now, wishing that we can go back to the days na assignment at project lang ang pino problema.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo madam hehe. Yang nga convo nmin ni sj sa noise. Yung tipong exams Lang pinoproblema mo

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Kaya nga, tapos before ung iba nga crushes lang ang pinoproblema ee ahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga hahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Oh thanks for reminding me, haha, still my KAYA ATM (Cooperative bank) has money inside I almost forgot hahaha.. That's my first salary and now maybe I could used that LOL.. sabi kasi nila keep daw muna first sahod eh hahaha 8:01PM_8.7.21

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sino nagsabi ? 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Mga matatanda dito hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate. I am an employee with low salary too, but I can't leave my company because of the people I've been with everyday. They are awesome!! We all have low salary though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kalungkot Kasi kapg umalis no , another pakikisama na Naman hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Oo saka another requirement na naman, pandemic mahirap mag asikaso sis. Saka Di ko kayang Iba na yun kasama ko, nasanay na ko na sila ang kasama ko sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku sa panahon ngayon swerte mo na Kung may trabaho ka

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Kaya nga kahit mababa sahod, tiis muna ako hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago