What Do You See, Your Reflection Or Someone Different?

7 26
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Lately I have been avoiding everything that gives me joy and I know it isn't right. Looking at my reflection in the mirror all I saw was a lady filled with dreams, aspirations and goals. When I step put of my room I saw a different person, someone who is scared to try everything and anything, scared of being called a failure when I truly know everything good doesn't come so easy.

What Do You See?

Yes! It is a question directed to you, aside all that your friends said about you, what do you see when you look at how far you've come? 

When the world sees a man who's struggles will never end what do you see? You don't need to climb the highest mountain just to see a better version of you. All you need right now is to look at yourself with the right mirror, your personal mirror and not the world's own. 

Troubles were bound to set in and hearts were meant to be broken, of course you will get betrayed by your friends, lovers and even your family. Does it really matter?

To those who uses the world's mirror it does but to those who own their own personal mirror, it doesn't matter. 

Life was meant to be tough, rigid and filled with turbulence times but what do you see when you look at the storm is all that matters. There is this saying that when life throws you limes, do you keep quiet and watch or will you turned it into a lemon juice? Life is what we make of it. 

I walked in to the hospital today, everyone greeted me "Good morning Doc" they felt I was happy. My grandma once told me, the happiest people are doctors and nurses, I wish she was here for me to prove her wrong. The thought of watching your patient give up and the loud cries of the relatives could torment you for days. I recently had an encounter and it knocked me off for days. She died while undergoing her second dose of chemotherapy. 

Was it my fault because I knew I had taken necessary precautions. Of course not, but this is me staring at the face of a young promising doctor, who thinks she is a murderer. 

No one knows that pain when you had to have a flash of what really happened and you knew there was nothing to be done. The guilt of killing her will surely wipe off and I will be free again but for now all I see is a murderer dressed in a white coat with a stethoscope hung round her neck.

Moving On!!

Unsplash.com

You don't need to be in a place where all the memories still reminds you of your past, you have to move on was all I could think of.  I packed my bags and left hurriedly, without listening to the pleas of my colleagues, nurses, laboratory attendants and even the patients. I couldn't face them anymore for all I saw was the picture of the lady who died few days ago.

As I enter my car, I bid them goodbye for the last time, I knew I was never going to see them again but they held a special place in my heart. I drove home crying but I knew I made the right choice. I rushed into the washroom and looked at myself once again,I saw a lady filled with dreams, goals and aspirations. I saw the happy doctor u was before the incidence, but what change my image when I look outside my mirror. I guess I did, it was my mindset pranking me that I was a murderer, if only I was able to take this image in my head in the washroom outside, maybe I would have stayed to save the lives of my other patients.

What do you see when you look at yourself? A victor, a loser or a confused being. Whatever you think of yourself, always use the right mirror to have a final glance. Don't let the world tells you who you aren't because you are scared to look into the right mirror. 

It came from a busy mind and I hope it met all my readers well. Do have a wonderful time out there and never forget to smile. 

Lead image:unsplash.com

10
$ 0.78
$ 0.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.01 from @MaeAntoinette
+ 2
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

I don't let my past give me the description of who I am when I look in the mirror. I let bygones go.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The truth is, it is never a doctor's fault when a patient dies when being treated but I feel you were assuming you killed her, no. You didn't and it wasn't ever your fault. One slogan they say is that doctors treats but it is God who heals.

I hope you don't feel too bad with such incidence and return to your normal being where you will see the best side of you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life has never been a bed of roses, life is tough, life is hard and it's just meant for those that are ready to survive. We all have the surviving ability, it all boil down to how we see things and how we go about it. It's just like you stated it, when you see more of yourself via the world's mirror, then get ready to be directed by the world, but when you see yourself and your capacity, then you're good to go

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This was masterpiece, you said it all dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True my friend. We shouldn't stay at the place where there are a lot of things that can remind the past which painful. Just step and move on. It's the better option.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear, we need to stay off things that will always put us down

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes friend. Let go, move on then start a new. It's the best option.

$ 0.00
1 year ago