The Baby in the Trash Can

12 25
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

I tossed to and fro on bed like the hand of a pendulum clock, Scary thoughts filled My mind and I could hear his innocent cry, my mistake of 20 years kept hunting me. All this while Eric lay at the other end of the bed with nothing troubling him.

2nd May, 2002

I Stood at the mirror to examine my growing belly couple with My early morning vomits, I knew everything wasn't fine. I went to the clinic, test were conducted and it turns out I was pregnant. Everything started spinning round me. I needed to call him as soon as possible. I wasn't seeing anything and I could barely scroll through my phone.

I went to his place, confused and wondering how he was going to accept our fate. They he was having a beautiful nap, I knocked and he open. I stood still for some minute before I entered, his eyes scanning my body to know what the problem was. I acted like I was fine just to distract him. Inquisitive Eric, won't rest until he knew what the problem was. He finally broke the silence "Gwen have never seen you this disturbed, hope you are fine". I shook my head and amidst sobs I informed him of the pregnancy. They was a brief moment of silence and I could hear both our heart beats. I could tell the news didn't go well with him, how was he to cater for us, when he was still receiving stipends from his father. I understood with him but we had limited time on our side, since the pregnancy was already 3 months old. We broke the silence by screaming "abortion" , though I knew it wasn't a good plan but we weren't ready to bare the cumbersome load of parenthood, at least not now.

He made preparations for the abortion, while I continued hiding from people because of my growing tummy. The D-day came, I heaved a sigh of relieved knowing I wasn't returning with this unwanted visitor. We waited patiently for our turn. He was right there holding my hand and assuring me, everything was going to be fine. "Gwen Johnson" I heard from the doctor's office. My heart suddenly grew heavy, but it was too late to turn away. Tears dribble down my cheek as I walked in. 3 hours after the procedure, I opened my eyes, there he was, not in the incubator but in the trash can. Fear gripped me, as I watch the lifeless innocent baby being killed because of my mistake. My eyes were ready to spill its content religiously. The nurses came in, consoled me and I returned home .

At last, I wasn't going to hide from people again, I will get my perfect shape back, I spoke softly. But then I was never free from the lifeless picture I saw in the trash can, it began hunting me the day, I officially accepted to become Mrs. Eric. And for 20 years have been tormented by memories of the mistake of my past.

Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty

Am so confused right now, what can I do to be free from my the revenge of my past ?

Lead image : Unsplash.com

9
$ 0.12
$ 0.06 from @Shawon130
$ 0.02 from @Freedom007
$ 0.02 from @Lara888
+ 1
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

I agree that people have to respect the decisions of others, I agree that each person does what he thinks best in his life;

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah but every decision comes with a consequence

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think a person should do that in which he is comfortable if you have done abortion and you are comfortable so that is okay because happiness of person matters

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice point of view dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Babies when being aborted usually try to avoid the scissor or the knife, whatever it is called as much as they can. I guess that moment when Gwen decided to avoid the baby will hunt her forever. When I became pregnant at 28 and the guy didn't want it, I took the responsibility of raising my child. Now, she is 8.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was very thoughtful of you.. m happy you did

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, dear. If I did the opposite, I might not be able to sleep peacefully at night.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Abortion may be considered taboo from a religious point of view, but I, as a doctor, believe that abortion is better than bringing a child into a miserable life and not having his needs met.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you doc. Lara ... I think what Gwen is suffering from could be some psychological trauma

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Although this is a fictional story, it is something that's really happening in our society today. Young people engage in the act, and the memory tends to hunt them for life. It is better one abstains from it or if not possible, use protection.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right dear friend... Most people take steps that will mar them for lifemm

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Which is bad....

$ 0.00
1 year ago