Teen Pregnancy : The Decision I Made 20 Years Ago

20 37
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

I stood outside waiting for my turn, the kinky nurse dressed in her white uniform signal me in, I could tell from the expression on their faces that all wasn't well. Everywhere was silent, that I could hear my heartbeat clearly.

Miss Medusa how are you doing, the doctor asked. Am fine sir, I answered even though I knew I was scared.You are 3 weeks pregnant, he continued. The kind nurse walked up to me and placed her hand on my shoulder. I barely could control my tears anymore, as it dripped freely down my chin. How do I face my parent at home, their money, time and everything, all gone in just a night of pleasure. I collected the result and headed home, I wasn't happy going home but I had no other place to stay.

I opened the door, and there she was, for the first time in my entire life, I couldn't look at her face. Why should I ? Have let them down, I had to hide my teary eyes from my mom. I didn't want Her to know, all wasn't well. How long i was to continue masking my pain, was the big puzzle in my mind. I walked passed her into the sitting room, dad and my little bro were watching a Nat Geo wildlife. My favourite documentary, dad reckoned on me to come watch with them but I declined telling him I was too tired. He used to call me his Little girl, a name I was about to lose for the rest of my life. I entered my room and shut the door, lay on my bed and continued crying. I never knew I would be this unlucky at age 15.

I was scared of mom knowing, so I called Jessica my friend to come pick me up the following day to school. I looked outside and saw him laughing with his friends, why is he laughing that way, I fumed in anger. His name was Mike, the unknown father of my unborn child. Ever since I discovered I was pregnant, I began hating on him without a reason. At least, that was what made me felt good. Jessica knew about the pregnancy but Mike didn't. I just didn't want to bother him. We were both young and naive, so it wasn't our fault. I wish we had known better.

Jessica drove me home after school, sat with my family to eat lunch. I barely touched my food, I was hungry but needed to free myself from this little secret. I had to spill the truth, before it ruined me mentally. I cleared my throat and they both stopped talking and looked at me. Though the weather was warm but I was shivering. Am pregnant, I said while struggling to look at them in the face. How could you do this to yourself, dad yelled. Am sorry dad, I know this wasn't the future, you planned for me, I know have ruined everything, maybe I will just go far away from home. So nobody will never make fun of our family because of me, i said, this time i was looking boldly at my father. Mom, stood up and came and held me.

uunsplash.com

She walked me to my room, promised me everything was going to be alright. I knew it wasn't because I was still pregnant. Mom called quite a number of Organisation who supported teenage pregnancy, requesting for help but none really answered us.I knew the only way out, was to get rid of the pregnancy. I had to inform mike about the pregnancy And mom about my decision of terminating it. She suggested we see a counselor for proper guidelines on how to go about the termination. I knew mom wasn't in support.

She drove to the clinic, met with the counselor, I thought she was going to judge me or make me feel bad about my mistake. But she didn't, she made it seem, what I did was right even when I knew it was wrong. After a session of intensive talk, she offered me a free ultrasound scan just to feel the heart beat if the baby before I terminate the pregnancy.

uunsplash.com

I agreed but deep down, I had already selected my option. While I undergo the scan, I could see the newly formed heart, trying hard to contract and relax. I stared at the image for a while and felt guilty of my decision. I told mom I wasn't going to terminate the pregnancy even though I know it will cost me a lot. My parent respected my decision and I was delivered of a baby boy. His name is Cedric, He has brought so much joy to my life and family. Dad calls him his little man and he loves him so much. I knew life had made a total opposite turn but this was the best decision I made 20 years ago.

Bottom Line

Teenage pregnancy is now common in our society today due to lack of sex education and proper parenting, so also is the rate of abortion. But if measures are put in place and the younger generation are thoroughly educated. It will be reduced.

P.s : All characters, activities and place are a product of my imagination..

Lead image : unsplash.com

9
$ 0.25
$ 0.10 from @Jento
$ 0.05 from @HermaniGinger
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

Wow! I admire your courage! Thank you for sharing your story, it wasn't easy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate to this article so much my friend, tbough i was 20.whwn i got pregnant and I had a very hard time on it. But now my kids brings joy to my family and their father has proven that his worth it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am so happy you didn't choose the other option but you gave birth to the child

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's absolutely right my friend, unfortunately due to ignorance, pregnancy has become common among teenagers. I hope that they will be given enough education and awareness in every society.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think sex education should be included in their curriculum, so they get the required knowledge both at home and in school

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! I was reading with full attention as I was trying to understand how the scenario was when you spilled it out to your parents but they were so kind and calm not to compound more problems. I don't support teenage pregnancy and this is why parents should teach their teens about sex education at a younger age.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah it is very important

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't support teen pregnancy. It can be a cause of death.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So could abortion

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This one does concern me because I have 2 daughters but I will try my best to educate them about sex and their responsibilities. I got pregnant at 28 and I disappointed my grandma who wanted me to have a better future which made me sad until now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You shouldn't be sad because of your mistake, I understand your pain..but you made the right choice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Till now, my parents finds it awkward to discuss about sxx with us, they take it as if they pronounce or let us know more, we'll go into it more. But that's the complete opposite of it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nd that is what is leading to more teen pregnancy. Some a are even scared of telling their parent, they are pregnant

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't support take baby in young age. A girl should minimum 18 years. All man I request for enjoy don't do negative activities. It can destroy a girl life. Not only the girl the upcoming baby can die. As a man I don't do that ugly work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They were both naive

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you really made a good decision then, even though the pains were so much on you, but at least you have come up with a great testimony and a good result in the end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear.. Thank you so much for your kind words

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's my pleasure..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Teenage pregnancy is one of the biggest problems why overpopulation is occuring and increasing in rapid pace. I hope these kids will know the heavy responsibilities they can get to after the pleasure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of them don't consider the responsibilities but rather focuses on the enjoyment

$ 0.00
1 year ago