How Free Am I ?

12 18
Avatar for Wrinkle
2 years ago

I was sitting today thinking about my life, and the topic free will came to mind. How free am I? That's how the thought started, and I began to think about my life from birth. Did we really have a choice to make? I grew up in a family where our parent dictated what happens in our lives, our decisions, friends we kept and even where we visited, so was they any free will.

Growing up and attending school, we were bombarded with different rules and regulations, even when I wanted wearing trousers to school, I was forced to wear skirt, so where did I really get the free will to do what I wanted?

What is free Will ?

Free will in my understanding is the ability to make decisions without interruption or corrections, without fear of being punished for breaking the rules. I changed my assumption of free will being self evident, the day I heard contemporary thinker, Sam Harris, asserting that free will is an illusion. It took time for me to be able to understand what he meant by that statement, and till Now am still lost in thought. Which in my own understanding he meant we don't have control over our background, the biochemistry of our brains and the effect of the environment on our development.

I have a collection of his books, since he is my favorite contemporary thinker, in one of his books titled "Free will" . "How can we be "free" if every action we take is undertook by our brain which we are entirely unaware. This makes me wonder, if we are really in charge of the decisions we execute? Even the little moment, we claim we are in charge of our decisions, our brain had already concluded it, long ago.

Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty

The famous writer asserted that determinism and randomness shapes the reality of our experience and since this two forces can't be put under control, there is no such thing as free will.

But dear readers is they any such thing as free will ?

Aristotle once said "the man is the father if his actions as of his children" , we could see philosophers really believed that they was something called "Free will" if there is why are we being controlled by our sense organs. I thought I should be able to put my hand in an ovens without feeling the need to take it off, because it was hot, if they was free will, I should have been able to eat whatever I want, no matter the quantity without having the urge to stop.

If they was anything like free will, then they shouldn't be law, I committed murder because I felt l needed to, but no! We are being controlled by our sense of goodwill, which is the conscience. It was just a random thought for readers to ponder on, is they anything like free will, if there is are we really free ?

8
$ 1.21
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @HermaniGinger
$ 0.02 from @Lara888
+ 3
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
2 years ago

Comments

You did the right thing, in your own criteria and philosophy of life, that is worth more than anything, we have been taught to be polite but they never teach us to say "no" when we don't want to. The good thing is that life is our best school.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats right..life only teaches us what we want

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not free but i like to be engage here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree that free will is just an illusion, we are always subject to a law or authority greater than us that dictates what we do, at home, our parents, at school, our teachers, in marriage our partner, at work our principal, these laws regulate life but prevent free will in its literal sense, we enjoy freedom Within specific areas, therefore, we cannot call it free will

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a thoughtful contribution. Ofcause, we can't call it free will

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so true, now, I am not sure if there is really free will when everything is like being programmed lol. Nice, one, dear doc.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right dear friend.. We live in a world where nothing is absolutely free..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true. Now I realize that Adam and Eve were not really free in the garden of Eden. They were kind of like preprogrammed. I am not into debate or something if you are religious, just wondering :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, if you read your bible keenly, they were set down principles for them to follow. So they had no free will..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the time I feel free myself as I have nothing to do even this time I also think that I should write article for whole month and should post them on daily basis but I am a lazy bird

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right dear, but your brain makes all the decisions

$ 0.00
2 years ago