After All These Years

18 30
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Thunderous claps emanated from all angles, there was my best friend Lisa, saying yes to the love of her life. I thought the cheers were for Lisa and her husband, but I was wrong because everyone stared at my direction. I looked round there he was, kneeling holding an engagement ring, pain mixed with anger filled my soul.

Hello, you are about to read the diary of a lady, who believed in love. My name is Tina, I grew up to know love was harmless, painless and true. Hoping for the day I will meet my own Gilbert, you probably haven't heard of the name but in my community, he was famous. Not for owning beautiful mansions nor flashy cars, but for how he valued his wife. I was jealous of my mom, but they was nothing I could do, than to pray love found me too. I was an introvert, making friends wasn't easy but I had Lisa. She was my best friend. We did everything together, and went everywhere together. We both were clingy, chuckles! (Just saying that to relief myself). We took turns to sleep at each others place and our parents were comfortable with it.

We went to the park one day, and saw this group of guys who kept looking at Our direction. They later joined us at our table, we chatted for long, exchange contacts and left. It was a fun filled day, atleast we had other people to talk with. The one who picked interest in me was named Gilbert, yes! My dad's name, and you could see how happy I was. Poor me! I never knew names don't really matter.

We started dating when I entered the university, I to my Gilbert and Lisa to her man, Andre. At first I felt he was the one for me, so caring and loving. Truly, I had found my Gilbert. I wanted telling mom on phone but was scared of her scolding me. Months passed and our love grew stronger. I wasn't interested in anything else but my Gilbert. He knew how to make me happy, from lullabies to breakfast in bed. Gosh! He swept me off my feet. Little did I know, he was after my treasure, and we he got what he wanted , he started behaving oddly. Yea! A week after our first love making, Gilbert changed, he was now rude on phone, he barely picks his calls and was never free to see me.

My whole world came crashing down on me, who do I turn to, I wished I had listen to mom. She warned me about guys like Gilbert, that anyone bringing so much joy and no reason to frown, that I should be careful. But how was i to know, I wanted love and love was all I got. I stayed in my room for days without going to school, I lost interest in everything. All I ever wanted was my Gilbert, I visited him since he wasn't taking his calls. I found another lady in bed with him. That was the height of everything, I pounce on the lady but was beaten to stupor by Gilbert. Yeah! I called him my Gilbert because I never wanted sharing him with anyone. But here I was lying helplessly at his mercy, begging with the last breathe I had.

I woke up in the hospital and the first person, I wanted to call was Gilbert. But his number was gone, how did it happened, what went wrong. I screamed in pain, not for the bruises or kicks but for the lover have lost. Though he became a monster but I couldn't forget his good deeds in a hurry. My parent hurried in, I was shocked because I wasn't expecting to see them. I told them everything because I was just too weak to lie. I thought mom will scold me as usual, she hugged me and reminded me of her words of caution.

I knew I had failed them, but I wasn't thinking straight because I was missing Gilbert. I was discharged from the hospital and I went to visit him. Yes! My Gilbert, all I wanted was to look into his eyes, I never wanted his apologies. So foolish of me! . Alas! I was at his door , Baby am home, was all I could scream. But what I got sent me back to the hospital.

Dad couldn't bear it anyone, so I was sent to study abroad. I didn't want to go, but I was also scared to stay. I texted him before leaving to the airport but he never replied. I left for school with a broken heart. My broken heart got healed with time but I swore never to have anything to do with any man again.

Six years after, here is the man that caused me so much pain, kneeling beside me with an engagement ring. Memories of how I was badly treated rushed through my mind. After all these years, my heart still beat for him. I stretch forth my finger, he wore the ring. Stood up and while we were about to kiss. My mom screamed my name "Tina, wake up, it's 7 already, won't you go to work today? I woke up smiling, it was all a dream.

Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty

Dear beautiful readers, never stay in an abusive relationship, no matter how deeply you are in love with the person. Don't allow his fake tears and pleas make you return to him, once an abuser will always remain an abuser. If he truly loves you as he claimed, he won't want to see you sad.

I love you all so much...

Pictures used were from unsplash.com

9
$ 1.24
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Shawon130
+ 3
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

This is so touching, it's not good to stay with such a partner

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow I am going to be a big fan of your stories.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwwwnnn thank u

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank God it was all a dream because I don´t know if Gilbert had changed from being a monster after six years. The story is interesting and I wish it continues 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such people hardly change

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a dream! If I met a man like Gilbert and treated me like this, I would make him regret every moment he thought about using my feelings, I would not chase a man no matter how much I love him and this is what all women should do,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish all women were like you 🥲

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm becoming a fan of your stories, in fact I love it because one of the loves is called Gilbert and my crush is Gilbert from the series Anne with an e

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow thats nice... I wish to update more..thanks for the encouragement

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello! My comment is not directly related to the post. But I wanted to thank you for the sponsorship. Thank you very much :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A story full of lessons. I agree, never stay in an abusive relationship- let's love ourselves first.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Similar I also have wrote on respect in relationship which is permanent part of any relationship

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, respect should be a tool in relationship

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought it was all true, glad it was just a dream. Anyway I had fun reading this my friend🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am so happy, you enjoyed reading it. The bottom line is, never to be in a toxic relationship no matter how much we think we are in love with the person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have been in a toxic relationship before, it took a while to discover it. But i am glad today that i made a great decision of exiting the relationship that would have cost my life. Even though the story isn't real, i feel sorry for Tina.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am glad you left the relationship, most people would have stayed back, hoping their partner will change, which he may not change

$ 0.00
1 year ago