Crisis and my childhood experience

10 23
Avatar for Winx1988
2 years ago
Topics: Random thoughts

It's 3:41 in the afternoon while I'm writing this blog.Today,there's nothing that happens around which catches my attention,it's just that it's too hot from morning until evening.What am I thinking a while ago,is that how am I gonna budget our money to be exact for 15 days,for our food,travel expenses and emergency funds like medicines and other things.Yesterday,it was my husband payday ,since he is the only one who worked and I'm a full time mom,he got almost 5k plus,every 15th.

But because of the oil price hike ,were having a problem on his allowance for the motorcycle that he used everyday,he said that he need 1 1/2 liters of gasoline back and forth,it cost 120 pesos multiplied by 15 days ,it's 1800 pesos or $35,unlike before I just gave him 500 to 700 pesos for his travel expenses.One of his colleagues suggests that he can stay in the workplace for awhile,but he still want to go home everyday.

That's how life's changing lately,moms at home will surely having the same problems in terms of budgeting,especially when you are a minimum wage earner .

But I remember before when I was just a kid,my parents didn't spend money everyday for our food,because we used to have a lot of vegetables in our backyards like beans,and other vegetables.My mama will pick some veggies to cooked in the farm,we do have chickens to and goats milk every morning.As of now,we didn't have any plant vegetables here,because the place was already changed and the land was full of mangoes.I am thinking ,that we should never stop planting crops, so that we can sustain our needs each day,like sweet potato,balanghoy,gabi,banana,and many more.When I was a kid,we eat bread maybe once a week when my father will go to the market.

As of today,we almost eat bread everyday,and we used to buy at the store beside our house.So,I'm thinking I'm gonna be doing a cost cutting.I told my children that ,they only eat what we can prepare,and we will not buy or spend money.

When I was a kid,I remember we only eat guavas at the backyard,or in any place that we can see some fruits like santol,kaimito,mansanitas fruit,and other fruits which is not over the counter.That's we didn't ask our parents any amount of money to buy anything.We're just happy when papa will bring bread after going to the market and sold some firewood by riding our horse.Yes,my father used to sell firewood ey every now and then.

When I was 6 years old,which she put on the back of the horse and he will travel for almost 1 hour going to town.

After he sold it,he will buy dried fish,and bread,we called "Monay".Unlike some kids today,they prefer french fries ,burger and milk tea for snack,which really cost money.And because life gets harder for me,I need to cut off that kind of habit ,and turn to traditional snacks ,like banana cue,and boiled sweet potato,porridge,and champorado.

The reality is that,our lifestyle has already changed after many years,we are influenced with our lifestyle and the way we lived.But for the sake of spending less,it's always a better options to stay in a simple way of living.

Some things I can do for this tough times

Don't buy things which are not necessary.

There are some instances that I'm tempted to order online with things that I saw ,with what others are using like some beauty products .I have tried to buy a rejuvenating set and I do have regrets because it gives me pimples and cause me an allergy.We should first considered if it is valuable and usable for the moment,and not to be put aside.

  • Minimizing our expenses buy buying generic products but the same kind

I do consider less cost products which also taste good but not pricey ones ,like soy sauce,soap,detergent,oil and other things.There are some products which are good even if it is not a branded one.

  • Make a list before going to the market

Its for real,I never did this before,but for now,I'm always reminded by my husband to make a list,to avoid buying unnecessary things,it's because our budget was so tight.

  • I let my husband buy the groceries instead of me,he go to work everyday,and it's his convenient to go to the grocery store ,rather than me,and the fare in the motorcycle and tricycle was also going higher .

  • Don't waste food

There are a lot of people who starving nowadays,especially when the price of rice goes higher here in Philippines ,which is the basic food of Filipinos will become expensive too.Cooked only foods that are enough for a certain time,as much as possible we shouldn't throw foods anywhere ,just like a leftover rice,we can make a "sinangag"out of it.

When I was 13 years old,I think it's year 2000,there is a called "El Niño " in our place,where it last for almost 6 months.And because my father was a farmer,we didn't have any income when he didn't plant ,corn,banana,peanuts and other crops.Its a time where we don't have enough food,and no income.Our parents have decided to buy a yellow corngrits,which has lesser cost than white corngrits,by the way,I grow up eating a corngrits ,since it was the main crop that my papa have planted.

Everyday,I still go to school,by walking at least 3-5 kilometers everyday,we start to walk at 5 am.And I always bring my baon for lunch.One day,I bring my baon in school it's a cooked yellow corngrits with the egg on the top .Hahaha,I laughed first because my friends laughed at me,so my foods have the same color,it's all yellow.Because I'm already a single lady that time ,hehe or dalagang Pilipina .I used to eat at the side corner of our room while I'm trying to hide my food,sometimes I have dried fish and beans .And when I saw my classmates they eat chorizo,longganisa,pork , and other delicious food.

There's one of my classmate who used to see my baon at my back,and he said"what is your food?,why is that color yellow?hahahha,he laughed and walk away.And they stare at me,I feel like a melting candle,on one corner.But I never talked,I just keep on silent ,because that time I was very innocent .

Later on,I find out that I'm not alone in the class who eat yellow corngrits,I have a companion who also lived in the same place where we lived,at least I have someone with me .

My father was sick those months of El NiÑo,his skin turns yellow too.We are thinking if it's because we are eating a yellow corn.He was brought to the hospital but later on he was fine,he become over fatigue due.

It was very memorable days for me,we still survive those crisis of our life even we do t have enough money.

And today,we still survivecan with this,it's not just about money but it's all about perseverance and working hard to keep our family well provided despite of the scarcity .

Just like what happens before ,the crisis just passed after a few months ,let's be positive and believing that all of these things will just pass by.

(Matatapos din ang lahat ng ito),we should never lose hope,instead,we keep on trying our best for our family .

Stay resilient .

Published March 16,2022

Hello,my sponsors ,upvoters and co writers,regards to all of you.

I'm too sleepy while writing this one.

Have a beautiful day.

10
$ 2.08
$ 1.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
+ 2
Sponsors of Winx1988
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Winx1988
2 years ago
Topics: Random thoughts

Comments

Budgeting is necessary for us common people, with time also we should make adjustments. As with this we can survive lots of difficult situations. I had a similar type of experience, half of the life I lived in village and half in city (currently in city) , city life is so different, for everything here we need money while in village for food we rarely used to buy anything except meat. Time will pass. Huge respect to you for holding and managing your family in such a responsible way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nung nasa Davao pa kami, di kami namomroblema din sa uulamin kasi may mga gulay lang sa bakuran talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang pinaka problema talaga ng mga mommies ay ang uulamin sa araw araw,mas mabuti talaga may gulay sa bakuran,nasa Davao del sur ako ngauon ,.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dapat talaga sis mag coat cutting ngayon, grabe ang mamahal na ng mga bilihin eh, di lang petrol product.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga sis,ang pera natin ngauon parang ang bilis nauubos,tapos konti lang ang mabibili natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama sis. Don't waste food talaga. Dapat marunong tayo mag budget sa lahat. Yung iba nagugutom kaya be grateful anong meron tayo at hindi magsayang. Dapat yung unang bibilhin yung mga essentials lang muna. Iba din kasi pag may tanim sis nuh. May magugulay ka na libre kasi sa tanim mo nalang ka kukuha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely things will be better soon but for now we have to find ways to tighten our belts and these are helpful tips applicable to all. I agree that we should plant what we eat. Healthier choice :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan din kami dati ehh, naalala ko tuloy, subrang hirap, pero need talaga magpakatatag para maka survive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis,hindi tayo dapat panghinaan ng loob,para sa pamilya natin,lalo na ang mga bata.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama kah dyan sis, fight lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago