Took Myself On A Date

12 23
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Before I start telling you what happened on my self-date, let me tell you how it all started. It all started with a bucket list. A list of all the things that I want to do on my own --- a test of independence.

These are one of the many things that I have on my bucket list: attending the mass alone, eating alone in a public place, traveling alone, etc. I have done most of it. It is a promise to myself that I made before attending college.

It was full of what-ifs at first and the shyness that exists in me. Like how people would stare at me when I'm alone and the worst is to have eye contact with them. I've tried eating alone in a public place when I was a kid but due to the time that passed by, the shyness in me had accumulated.

The first one that I checked on my bucket list is to attend the mass alone. It wasn't as easy just sitting there but lining up for the communion, standing up, and singing is not an easy thing to do. Until I've attended one and it has been a continuous routine of attending all by myself. Similar to attending the mass alone, I've done the two that were mentioned above --- eating alone in public and traveling alone.

It has been my tradition to take myself out and eat the things that I want. Of course, there is also window shopping that always leads to checking some items out. For me, taking myself on a date is how I make my hard work worth it --- the sacrifices and the effort that I exerted.

Pre-pandemic was the time where I would always go out by myself. Going to the city and entering mall by mall. It had just stopped because of this pandemic. I still can remember the last time I ate outside. It was in Shakey's Naga City. That was the time when we had an activity in our department and I took the time before heading home to treat myself to eat. It was a nice day for me.

Anyways, let me tell you what happened today.

I posted this on Twitter last night but I was still undecided if I will push through for this day.

The original plan was to visit the Café here in my hometown. To have some burgers, fries, and a cup of coffee or matcha. I left home at 5 o'clock this afternoon, it's quite late already. The café was already closed when I arrived leaving me with options of heading out of town or going to the mall and just grabbing early dinner at Biggs' Diner.

I ordered Barbecue kebabs, coleslaw, mashed potatoes, and Pepsi for my drinks. Anyways, if you are planning to eat at Biggs, make sure to bring your vaccination card to have a 20% discount.

I stayed at Biggs for an hour indulging in my food and enjoying my company. If I would rate my overall experience in Biggs Diner for today, it would be 6.5/10. Because the coleslaw wasn't thinly sliced and then sauced was the usual combination of ketchup and mayonnaise. The mashed potato wasn't also that fine and not tasty. And the barbecue was makunat.

I've stayed here for half a year now and I'll do a face reveal. Hahahaha. Echosera! Everyone, this is my blooming face.

Excuse my not-so-good haircut. Anyways, don't mind my face. I just wanted to show how I look since I've seen some of your faces already.

Before I head home, I went to grab some coffee in the marketplace. That's it for today. This is my definition of Alone But Not Lonely. I enjoyed how my date ended and for sure, I will do it again and again.

Anyways, how do you guys treat yourself?


Author's Note:

It's almost New Year and I know we are so excited for 2022 to come. As we end this year, may we feel the contentment in our heart and leave the negativities that this year has given us. Thank you for reading this!

Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty

XOXO


Check out my previous articles:

5
$ 3.59
$ 3.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Comments

wow that's a day well spent. :) I would like to date myself some time soon too. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should! I am rooting for that to happen to you. ;")

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll need to save money first. I'm an expensive guy to date. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same. Hahahahaha lol. I. Spent almost $20 when I dated myself. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha but yeah of course... it's worth it. Self-love wins!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always. 🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is simple bucket list that me myself can't do except for going to church alone. Huhuhu. Ma-i-goal nga din tu next year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can do it! Just don't mind the people around you and focus on what the Priest is saying. :")

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah nice to finally see a face behind the nickname! 👋 Hulloo!

The one thing I haven't resumed in my self-dates ... Foot spa and full body massage. Hahaha. Howell. Maybe real soon. The time that I finally gave in to that want to treat myself to a foot spa, it was already almost holiday season and that the restrictions were lifted off so the usual place I go to for it is crowded. So wag na lang mun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, Ate! Hihi.

Better to find a time na walang masiyadong tao and kung maaari, pili ka na lang nung place na may reservation para alam mo talagang onti lang ang tao. Keep safe always, Ate! ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your bucket list idea! It is important to be able to be alone!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is highly recommended to do things alone sometimes. :")

$ 0.00
2 years ago