Am I Spending Too Much Or Is It Just The Inflation That Kicks In?

8 35
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
1 year ago

Am I spending too much or is it just the inflation that kicks in? A question that I suddenly asked myself.

I am that person who never fails to remind himself to save up money for the rainy days. A practice of mine that I know I can use for emergencies. This worked for me even before during my highschool years.

But lately, since I haven't been publishing blogs and being active on platforms where I earn, I have used some of my savings. Well that's not really the case since I intentionally saved up for situations where I can use it. I just noticed that every time I withdraw money, it just easily goes away. It's as if it just slips down on my hands for a split second. For instance, when my one thousand pesos becomes a smaller bill, I would just notice and be in shock that my one thousand pesos will just go down to 500 pesos in just a day.

I am shocked by what is happening to me, just like on Wednesday when I left the house. My mom gave me 600 pesos for a 3 days allowance. That's what I also asked from her because I know it will be enough. 250 pesos for my fare back and forth and 100 pesos for a whole day meal for each day. But I was surprised that after staying for a night in my dorm, I already spent half of my allowance. And that made me think, have I changed? Am I really that spender now? But these questions were put aside when I also questioned the prices of goods. Am I the problem or is it the inflation rate that is making it hard not just for me but for everyone to fill their tummies?

If it's really the inflation, then, how are we going to survive this? As someone who earns his own money and comes from a middle class family and still being affected by the increasing prices, I cannot help myself but to ask, how about the others? How are they going to cope up with this problem?

Screenshot from Google

I just researched the peso to dollar exchange and the dollar is too high, it's as if the Philippine peso is losing its value from day by day.

Some Filipinos abroad are rejoicing by the increasing value of the dollar in the Philippines but should they be really happy? For me, no. Not to invalidate them but as someone who experiences the effects of the inflation rate, I am not happy about it. Because it means that the Philippines economy is becoming weak and the amount of money they'll get for exchanging pesos to dollars is not going to make a change in the country's high inflation rate. It will all just go to the high prices of goods.

Photo from Unsplash

Not all of us have privileges, and not everyone is affected by this. Only the rich have a VIP pass from all of this fiasco but what about the marginalized sectors? I have been thinking about them lately. By this, may we all hope that all will be well in the coming years and nothing will result in a situation where people will be poorer to the point that the only choice that they'll have is to do illegal things.

God, help the Philippines survive all of this.


Lead Image

7
$ 2.38
$ 2.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
1 year ago

Comments

Surely, the inflation due to the pandemic and wars where the activities of the world are somehow restricted and limited. Unti-unti naman na tayong nakakabalik sa normal this year. Hoping na lang next year na magboost naman ang economy natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is just the Inflation, really kick in. Nanotice ko na ysn even before coz I always have 500 as my allowance. And i noticed that, ang bilis na talaga na nga maubos aigooo. Nakakasad laang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ba Ateeee, plus the increasing price pa ng pamasahe ngayon. Huhuhu. Dumoble na din talaga ang presyo ng lahat. Pano na tayo nito? 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Many times, no matter how much we save on a daily basis, if there is a high inflation in the country, the money we have been saving with a lot of effort will evaporate like water.

I have wanted to save the money I have earned and I do not buy expensive things, I only eat the basics and even much worse, because the money is not enough no matter how hard I work, I remember when the pandemic started I could buy 7 chickens and it cost me $5, then little by little the price of chicken was increasing in less than 3 months, 3 months after the pandemic I could no longer buy 7 chickens for $5, I could only buy 1 chicken for $5 and like that many other things.

Since the beginning of the year I have been saving, but every time I go shopping which is every 15 days or is what I try, all prices have gone up, something that cost $1 a few days ago today is at $4, inflation and the economy are making things very difficult and the experience in my country, I do not know how yours is, but I hope that everything improves for both and that our savings can be worth, that inflation does not make our effort worthless.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's the same here in my country, the prices of goods plummeted to almost double and sometimes triple the price. For example, onion and garlic now are more or less $20 per kilo as I can remember. Before, a kilo is less than $5.

I guess, even if we try our best not to spend much, our money will still evaporate because of the inflation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really sad and true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me, mamsh? That's just the inflation. Kahit gaano pa tayo magtipid, if the prices keeps on increasing? Balewala pa din pagtitipid na 'yan. Yes! Masaya ako na mataas value ni USD kasi dollar-based tayo dito pero not that much kasi peso pa din ginagamit ko when paying such things. So hopefully, sana matapos & ma-solve na 'tong si inflation. Huhu! Mas lalo tayong maghihirap ih. 🙇🏻‍♀️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hays, parang nababalewala din yung efforts natin sa pagraket dahil dito sa inflation. 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago