Am I ready to go back? Limited Face-to-Face Classes Thoughts

8 41
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago
Source: Google

One thing that we students want to happen is to go back to our schools because it's too difficult to learn in an online class. This type of learning is not suitable for all and it affected the way we learn. There are a lot of hindrances: internet connections, signals, power interruptions, household chores, and etc. Having to experience all of these things made us wish that life would go back to the old normal. It's so much easier to learn when we're at school when the teacher is in front of us implying knowledge to us. Not like in our homes which isn't an ideal place to learn.

We lost so many lives due to these learning modalities and the health of others has deteriorated through the course of time. Learning is difficult in this time of pandemic and one thing that we want is to open the schools. But alongside our wishes to get back to the old normal, there are a lot of factors to consider.

Just recently, my university conducted a survey about the limited face-to-face classes that they/we are trying to implement. It has been so hard for all of us to conduct laboratory activities at home, it was not the ideal place to do the activities. In the survey, there were questions such as the vaccination status, willingness to conduct limited f2f classes, what type of vaccine and etc.

I am glad that my university is already preparing for it through the surveys but we are far behind other universities here in Bicol. Some of the institutions here are already conducting limited f2f.

It isn't easy to get back to the way we were. We were asked to put our concerns in the survey and I answered them wholeheartedly. As a praning, I asked if the school is really ready to conduct limited f2f classes, have a backup plan, suggested that the computer laboratory should be available for the students to use, and most importantly assurance.

The university cannot monitor 24/7 the students and staff. Once they are out of the school premises, the university will not have an idea of their whereabouts.

These are just my concerns:

  • Since the students/staff will be going back and staying in boarding houses, the possibility of bonding and drinking out with others should not be crossed out. What if one of those tested positive for COVID-19, what will be the plan of the school?

  • We (students) did not really learn from this entire time of attending online classes. Some of us are afraid of failing once the limited f2f classes will be implemented. Will, there be additional class hours that will be implemented?

  • How will the university convince our parents that it is safe to conduct face-to-face classes?

  • Will the transport fare be reduced?

My professor broke the news to us yesterday that the limited face-to-face classes are going to push through since they (faculty) have already talked it through. I was shocked by the news. All these times of wanting to go back to school got me questioning myself if I am already ready to go back.

I even questioned the capability of the school to rise up for the expectations. Some schools are posting photos about their preparation for their limited face-to-face classes and my school isn't. We need assurance. We need proofs that they are prepared.

It's not an easy thing to do. It's not the same anymore. I don't have a boarding house that I can get back to. I don't have a known person that potentially can be my roomie. I don't have the resources such as a laptop that I can use for possible reportings. And it's too scary to commute.

All of my concerns are just easy if it's the old normal. I can find a boarding house and a roomie who can be a friend or an acquaintance. I can just go to the computer lab to create my reports. And I can commute without the fear of getting the virus.

Every move is not easy now, it feels like everything can kill me. The fear of getting the virus is always present. I just wish that the school will live up to the expectations of us students and our parents for the #LigtasNaBalikEskwela.


Author's Note:

How about you, are you excited about the limited face-to-face classes? I know we miss going to school and bonding with our friends after classes but it's just too scary.

Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty

Check out my previous articles:

Lead image

First Image

9
$ 11.05
$ 10.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Comments

Personally, I do not like to have f2f muna. Mahirap pa masyado. Di pa sure lahat. Everyday may mga bagong cases. Nakakatakot pa talaga sa totoolang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din nga po eh. Baka kasi nag cause pa ng mas matagal a lockdown ang pag push through ng limited f2f classes kapag dumami ulit cases.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hays nakakatakot padin for me pumuntang school mga ganyan. Tapos nasa iisang room lang kayo walang kasiguraduhan if ligtas padin o hindi ang places lalo madami din students.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun na nga eh tapos we're breathing the same air. Hahahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aigoooo, if nangyari na mapush and ftf classes ibayong ingat ang need nyo jan. May ina pa naman na porket pinayagan ng lumabas kala mo ay mga nakawala sa kural na talagang magwawala di nila alam malaki pa rin ang panganib kahit maluwag na nga tskkk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mapupush na talaga Ate. Hahahaha. May announcement ngayon ulit. 🥲

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot have changed due to the arrival of this pandemic to our lives. Yung univ din namin nag paplano ng mag conduct ng face to fcae class. Pero I doubt if ready na ba talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas maganda kasi kung may pinapakita silang pictures na may ginagawa talaga sila. Hindi yung puro announcement lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago