What's on your mind? A Prompt!

14 40
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago

Tuesday, May 24th 2022

Image

Greetings, good friends here on read.cash. How did your day go? I understand the fact that most of us here live in different places in different parts of the world under different time zones, and the likes. But, permit me to ask, still... How your day went.

Today, I came to the conclusion that I have been struck with what all writers call the "writer's block". Of course, we're all familiar with the term - so, I would hold off trying to define the aforementioned.

I didn't want to write anything today. Because, I thought doing this, i.e, writing something that would not be of interest to the online populace here on this space, (Saw what I did there? Haha) equates to a total waste of time. I actually battled the idea of choosing to write for your consumption today or, not. I realised if I am to do this, in order to become a great writer, it wouldn't be just for the writing sake. It will mean that I have something inside me that I want the rest of the world to see through my creativity.

Speaking of being a creative, the topic I used above is nothing short of non-creative. I mean I had some really ridiculous options before coming up with that one. I'll name them below, just for fun.

  • Random ramblings: Say what comes to mind.

  • Topics you heard of, but can't talk about.

  • Where's my love?

Now, I'll explain why those weird topics came to mind, and how they'd turn out if I wrote on them.

First off.

Random ramblings: Say what comes to mind

This one, in particular, is the worst thing I could ever come up with for a topic in the history of worst topics. (I just said that with a straight face!) :|

What if I'd spoken on that?

What Impression would that have made on my readers?

I wouldn't know, right? Unless they actually read them. Haha.

I think, at times, most writers come up with the strangest of ideas for a book, short manuscript, a literary work or anything that has to do with putting pen on paper. Eventually, we discard of them thinking they aren't worth anything. That doesn't mean we'd give up though. Cos' who will read our works when we do?

Have you experienced these moments too?

Topics you heard of, but can't talk about.

Once I heard of this really bizzare thing about an app that locates spirits, and tell you where they are. I remember the part where some of the guys said it was specifically for ghost hunting. Basically, if you're intrigued by ghosts and want to know if they actually exist it'd would do its job of finding you one. Spooky stuff right there, init?.

Now that's a topic worth discussing about right? No. I'm not a fan of ghost and I most definitely don't wanna know where the next one's located, much less listen to it speak. I sort of have a phobia for those kind of stuff. And, no... It's not made up. Like someone used to tell me "Go make your own research". Maybe you should do yours. Sorry, I don't wanna sound harsh, or anything. :D

P.S I am not in any way disregarding those who spend their time doing what they love. It's just not my kind of stuff. I actually respect the creators of such an app, and the spirit world voyagers.

Where's my love?

This one actually makes a lot more sense for a story title. I wanted to do it. But, I felt like I'd been drained for a couple days now. So, I kinda need a refill. I should probably take more insights from my favorite authors, and perhaps, see a video or two about a forbidden love. Oops! I gave out the general idea for the story. Well, no harm done there. Haha!

I'll do this when I'm ready to. But, I must ask... Shall I? Or, shall I not? Which is it I's or nay. How do they do it again? I must be loosing my touch. :D

So that about does it for what's on your mind? A prompt!

Perhaps I should make it a writing session like my mentor @meitanteikudo does his. :)

Happy Month-versary

I am, however, celebrating my third Month on read.cash. I wanna make it a habit, or some sort of tradition, in order to give myself something to always look forward to.

I appreciate every. single. one., of you. Thank y'all so much for sticking with me.

To my sponsors, commentators, and up-voters. Y'all are awesome.

Until we read again.

πŸ’

14
$ 4.00
$ 3.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 7
Sponsors of VinceCharlie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago

Comments

I've been blocked too, there are times when the creativity to do my crafts doesn't come to me and I have to wait several days to do something.
Talking about love never tires me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Love is an awesome thing to tell someone about. We all need a bit of love in order to live in this crazy world. Thanks for stopping by. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Writer's block is literally my best enemy hereπŸ˜…. It always block me and so I already had miss one day. Suppose my goal is to write one article per day but now I have one absence. Anyway just write what comes to your mind when inspiration came, it is easy than researching a topic. Anyway congratulations and happy third monthsary to you in this platform.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, Garreth. You're first to wish well on my third Month-versary. Appreciate it. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Going for random questions is a life saver, I haven't written anything since yesterday but I'm considering answering these random questions

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know right. Yes, you can write on them too, if you want. I'll await whatever it is you can come up with. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whenever I am hit with writer's block, I just go through twitter and nairaland to look for a topic and it actually works out most of the time. But if I still can't find anything worthy to write about, then I will settle for one of those "random questions" articles that are flying around here, those things always save me at the last minute πŸ˜†

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Honestly, man. Those random questions are real Lifesavers. Lol But that's some really good method, using Twitter, to look for topics. I don't use Twitter, cos my account's been suspended multiple times. :( I miss being there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No holds barred (almost) writing... I like it! Hahaa.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hold on. You do? Wow. That's brilliant, pichi. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my, I hate that first topic lol.. because when not needed, my brain produces like a 1000 word theisis but when required to do some productive task, it will go brrrrr lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha. I completely understand you. I hated it too. Thank you for stopping by, blackdoll. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a lot on my mind but what I would regard as being the top one is having financial freedom to attain the kind of lifestyle I want

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I know, right? That's like the one thing that never leave my mind. And i understand the need to be financially free... Boy. The good that would do. Thanks for stopping by, my friend. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago