The Night we Met.

5 19
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago
Thursday, June 2nd 2022.

It was a cold, and dark night. I'd just left the restaurant where I worked after leaving school. There I was alone at the edge of the road waiting for a taxi to take me home. As I remember, I was impatiently glancing at my watch every ten second. (It's something I do whenever I get anxious about anything). So, I decided to wait it out a couple minutes longer, but the cars only drove past me as quickly as they came.

At that point, the cold was beginning to numb the exposed part of my legs. I knew if I'd stayed there any longer it could get worse. So, I guessed that it would do me more good than harm if i take the long, dreadful walk home.

I haven't walked past a few meters away from where I was when I heard someone walking beside me. At first, I thought maybe he was just a random person, who also made the same decision I did. That figures. However, the more my steps receded I noticed his was just the same as mine. Now, I couldn't let this stranger make a fun of me because I was getting tired of walking. So, I turned towards him to give him a piece of my mind.

"Hey, stranger!"

"You shouldn't be walking next to me the way you are. What's the big idea?" I said.

"I'm sorry. But, it's brass monkeys out here tonight." He answered.

"Don't I know it." I deadpanned.

"Ooh... I apologise, ma chéire. I'm Henri, without the Y." He said.

"Did you just call me ma chérie?" I said, seemingly taking offense with his remark.

"Yes. You don't like it?" He said.

"Oh, no. I'm not used to people calling me anything like that. Ever!" I replied.

"But, I only stated the obvious. I had thought girls here loved flattery such as those." He said.

"So, because you're what... French? You somehow deluded yourself to believing such rubbish." I said.

"It seems to me you're trying really hard here to take into consideration something so unnecessary." He shot back.

I gasped. Only to notice the beautiful face behind the covers of his hoodie, and just like that I felt my heart for the first time. If I were to describe it rather extensively I'd say that, at that night it was as if something struck me. My heartthrobbed like they were going to give out. It was so surreal. I couldn't have imagined to ever feel like that. Especially not on this freezing cold night.

Sighs

"Well... I'm sorry, Henri."

"Uhh... You are?" He said.

"Yes. I overreacted. I shouldn't have." I answered.

"Let's start over, shall we?"

"Err... Yeah, sure."

"Hi, Henri without the Y. I'm Sophia."

"I'm American. My parents moved here when I was ten, and..." I stopped.

I realised I was overdoing it. He didn't ask where I was from but I just inadvertently mentioned where I came from without thinking. I tried not to make it as awkward. Still, I was sure Henri realised just how much the conversation spiraled. You could say it was pretty much bred from an oversight. I wasn't sure of my feelings for this utter stranger. It was weird enough that our first meeting wasn't pleasingly romantic just as I've read in books. I wanted it to get better, so I offered to go for a drink at the nearest pub.

"Well, I'm open to a pint of drink or two." He said.

His eyes glistened, and I was beginning to get excited. His countenance was warming. It was as if I got drawn to him somehow. Thinking back now, I couldn't have understood it.

The live music played in the small space that divided the counter from a couple of seats. We sat at the far back away from the drunken cheers from a couple of people. Anybody would question our presence there by reason of our appearance, but surprisingly enough, not one of them raised as much as a fuss. I was eighteen, and Henri must've been what..., twenty. I was curious, so I asked him.

"Wait, Henri. You're above eighteen right?"

He looked at me, smiled and nodded. I was relieved. We were left on our own - perhaps they were considerate because of the freezing cold outside. (Except we weren't to do anything illegal, that is.)

I was mindful of the amount of drinks I took, but Henri however was beginning to get intoxicated. A far cry from the two pints of drink he wanted when I offered. Maybe it was because we'd talked for long periods. A couple of minutes later, a particular song played. It started with a soothing melody that sort of calmed the moods in the room. Then, Henri glanced over towards me and offered to dance.

"Would you like to dance?"

"Uh... I don't know. I haven't danced in a while". I said.

"Oh, come on. It's not going to harm you." He said.

I took his hands and he ushered me to the center of the room bearing my hands on his shoulders. It was like we'd been lovers for the longest time. I liked the feeling. I didn't wanna leave his arms. But then he whispered what sounded like, "Just give yourself to the music, Sophia. I plan to make this night a memorable one."

Image

I was glad I was able to mend things with him. Our meeting started rather strangely, with me venting at his remark and stuff. I didn't want to care for his cheap words. However, at this point, I realised he meant it. Like a love made only for movie screens I was undoubtedly and utterly his chérie, his dear. And, I was glad he made me feel wanted. After the night was over we exchanged numbers, and promised to meet again when we have the time. I went home that night with a basket full of memories. It was a night that had all the sparks, the fun, and the glamor that it made me yearn to go back to the night we met.

The End.

Writer's Note

Hi, guys. Happy Thursday.

This is another creative writing session which took me almost two hours to write.

I wanted to create something special, and see how it'd pan out after getting a topic. I'm glad it went great, and i hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

Tell me what you think in the comment section.

Thank you for guys reading.

Until next time.

💐

4
$ 0.08
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
Sponsors of VinceCharlie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago

Comments

While reading this, memories of my past love flashed back. It was fun and worth it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sure it must've been memorable. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha of course nor

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Short but sweet :) I hope they got to meet again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course. Hehe. Thanks for stopping by ARTicLEE. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago