Shedding misplaced Sentiments.

2 44
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago
Topics: Blog, Politics, Election

Wednesday, June 15th 2022.

Image

Hello good folks. How did your day go? Mine was a mix of dullness, and excitement. Especially, when I decided to engage a couple of persons on a little talk.

See, it had to do with the current situation of the country. Election is around the corner, although i would sooner it gets done and over with, still it is crucial i not get ahead of ourselves. Lol

Okay, so, I raised a question because I was curious to know who these people want to preside over them next year.

I asked them:

If your vote could decide the winner for next year's Election, whom would you choose?

***

Naturally, I always try my best to shirk away from anything that has to with politicking, especially since I figured there was always too much that doesn't sit right with me about it.

We can all agree that there are corrupt politicians, to some degree, in different parts of the world. In other countries there are more corrupt leaders put in their positions solely because of our imprudence. It may be true that we are/were at fault for electing them to their seats, seeing that when it matters most we always choose to put reasoning away.

They spoke amongst themselves, and frankly a large number decided on a particular candidate. It was like I was the only one who wanted someone different to take the reigns. It wasn't a fun sight. It was as if they'd go "off with his head" if I didn't choose wisely next year. Haha.

Matteo Paganelli, unsplash.com

In their "plight", they wondered why I would waste my vote on someone who doesn't stand any chance of winning. Basically, what they were trying to say was that the Man's rule wouldn't favor them - because he is unknown. So only the known, influential and powerful CAN win (/rig) any election. That's just wrong. A misplaced sentiment, is what I call it, and like before, they are choosing to follow a system that has caused more harm than good.

That's my thought on the failed leadership that plagued the nation over the last decade. We, the people, didn't do enough. But, now there's a chance to set things right, but it seems like they are going to make the same mistake. Now I'm not putting up this post to campaign or, anything for a candidate. I'm jus' sayin'...

The bottom line is, of course, my vote counts. It matters that anybody can use his/her vote in order to choose the one they think can lead their country.

If our votes does not count, when does it?

Writer's Note

I recall the infamous incident on October two years ago, a massacre, as many like to call it. The government weren't interested then, and rubbished eyewitness reports of the unfortunate event. It'll live on in the minds of many for years.

I'd rather OBIdiently cast my vote fairly next year. Like they say amongst my fellow Nigerians, if you don't gerrit, forget aboureet.

:D

Thank you for reading.

Until next time.

💐

3
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.01 from @Tomi-Ajax
Sponsors of VinceCharlie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago
Topics: Blog, Politics, Election

Comments

Lol, it's actually the last part for me, I get the message you're trying to pass across. "OBIdently"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The ball is in our court now. It is us who will decide if we need to continue staying under a bad government or not. If everyone would be of one mind, this supposed influential men will start taking us serious.

$ 0.00
1 year ago