Doing what I can, when I can!

2 27
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago

Date: Friday, May 6th 2022.

Image

It is a gloomy day, today. The rain only stopped pattering a few hours ago, and the weather seems clear, and the view from where I'm seated outside my house is just NICE. I had enough sleep. Ate good food. Drank 'nough water..., amongst other things.

When i awoke a couple of minutes ago, I read quite a number of Articles. Commented on the ones I can, and up-voted some really nice ones. (I can't believe I almost forgot I had such wonderful writers here). Their work is what gave me what I call, at this point, an idea to do this one for myself.

In my not-so recent post, I said something about me being away for days. Well, I had a situation back home. It was quite something. Somehow, I still keep holding on to the belief that "THINGS WILL GET BETTER". They just have to, don't they?

Have you ever had a moment when you just aren't sure anymore which way is forward? And, that you've been stuck in an area for a long time with no solution whatsoever comin' to light? It turns out, I was at that point. Maybe, I still am. However, I'm trying my best to doing what I can, when I can. I could do with some little wins right about now. Cos' it'd be a relief!

Anyway, the past week hasn't been all doom and gloom. In my absence, I did some reading. I checked out on some old friends. One, in particular, called me at night. At first I was like "Sorry. Who's this?". Then she answered, surprised. Like I've done her the world's greatest injustice. She said "Don't tell me you don't know this is.", But how could I? We haven't spoken in a long time and here I was trying to make out the voice of the person on the other end of the phone acting all kiddish.

To cut the long story short, she mentioned her name. I remembered her, and the call ended really awkwardly. So much for me "doing what I can, when I can". Hahahaha

Here are the number of books I am GOING to read in the Month of May. (Just in case, I'm not spacing out on you guys, and my presence here seems limited. Lol) Just kidding.

1. An Imperial Affliction - Peter Van Houten

One really fascinating thing about this book was that in as much as it was written from a sick person's point of view i.e.., generally, from her perspective of life... The author, as mentioned above, portrayed it in such a way that it'd leave the reader wanting more from it. I hope I am giving off spoilers here. But, that's how I have come to understand it from the book I am now reading. "THE FAULT IN OUR STARS" by JOHN GREEN. Although, I still am in it's Ninth Chapter... However, after reading his other work "LOOKING FOR ALASKA". I make bold to say that he's now become my favorite author.

2. Claire Dewitt and the City of the Dead - Sara Gran

This book makes the second in this list because of it's obvious eerie title. Okay, so there's this group I'm in called the READER'S CIRCLE on my WhatsApp. We read books given each Month and by the end of it we'll converge to drop summaries about it, and answer questions. (I havent been really active there as well, I just pop in only when it's time to get something interesting to read). Lol. I'm lazy like that. Muahahaha.

3. Pride and Prejudice - Jane Austen

This one makes the last of the list, but what really draws me to the book is that despite it's seeming popularity amongst many young people of any age. I used to feel like it wouldn't live up to the hype. And, frankly I'm still not convinced. Although, I love to satisfy my curiosity. I'm hopeful that this would make a really good read.

What do you think? Have you read any of the books mentioned above? If not, you definitely should read 'em.

Note: I am in no way advertising any of these novels. It is, but, a friendly post about my list of To-dos for the Month of May.

Greetings!

Hi guys.

So, that ends the post for today. I wasn't sure I was gonna post today, but as you saw how this one went... One thing led to another and there we have it. It's just me doing what I can, when I can!

Thank you for reading.

Until we read again.

5
$ 0.35
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 3
Sponsors of VinceCharlie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago

Comments

That point you're referring to; where you'll just feel tired of almost everything, feel so down, I've been there also and I was even there today. All I can say is that you should just keep pushing and try ignoring those sad thoughts.

Oh! Vince, these are indeed lovely books, I haven't read any.. but I hope to improve on my reason skills this month.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know, right... You definitely should read at least one of them. Thanks, Elle. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago