Flashbacks Friday

2 15
Avatar for Venvie
Written by
1 year ago

I remember a six year old who didn’t like going to school but is very brilliant. She would create excuses and sometimes feign illness just to miss school for the day. When she’s in class she’d annoy those that were bigger and older than her even to the extent of even challenging them to a fight when she knew that she can’t even throw a punch herself or stay any close to a multicolored chicken (lol) but then she had those who could beat anyone blue and black. This little one is the perfect description of small yet untouchable. I know this girl so well because I am HER.

At that time, I was in primary one; the smallest but the one who called the shots(winks). As the captain of my class, I am second to our class teacher. I was in charge of distributing books kept in my class locker to my classmates, make sign out notes, represent the class in any competition, sometimes help the teacher to correlate test or exam scores and my favorite of them all write names of noise makers. I practically leap for joy each time I hear the words “write the names of noise makers” not because I loved seeing my classmates being punished but because I carry out my own special assignment. Each time I’m given this instruction, I write the names quite alright and even add (X2) to the name of anyone who has refused to listen to my warnings. When the names get to 15 and my class teacher isn’t back yet, I begin my personal execution.

First I’d announce that am taking the names to the school disciplinarian and my classmates knowing fully well how ruthless he is would beg (just how I wanted them to react) then they’ll suggest that they prefer I do the spanking to the disciplinarian. (It panned out just the way I wanted them to. sound good to me) I would then go find a cane and do the needful. When our class teacher gets back and asks for the names, I’ll simply tell her that everyone behaved well.

My classmates became too relaxed and don’t listen anymore since my cane strokes don’t hurt so much. This gave birth to a fresh idea. I decided that not to spank anymore but for every name that appears in my list, a fine of 20 naira is automatically attached or else I would simply report to the disciplinarian. They had no choice but to adhere to the new changes.

What I’m given by my parents in a week, I got in a day. I wished that students make more noise so I can get more money. I kept saving the money in a piggy bank my brother had then. After a week or two out of curiosity, I broke open the bank. I got a 1000 naira which is a lot of money in my eyes then. I walked to my mom and told her that I want to sell sweets and chewing gums in school. I can never forget her loud laughter (before telling mummy, I already tried it and made gains) she asked how I’d get the money to start and I said I’ve been saving my lunch break money. She smiled and asked me to forget about the idea and focus on school instead and I did

As days go buy, the noisemakers list started decreasing in number. Those who couldn’t afford to pay decided to adhere to the rules. No one ever reported my act.

Author Views:

Collecting money from my classmates was wrong. Maybe the money they gave me was their lunch money for the day which meant that person will have to watch while other kids buy things during break. Not cool!

I’m still wondering how I came about that business idea @ 6. Is that how much I liked money? Lol.

So this article has inspired a prompt. Have you done something not cool, shameful or funny while in school as a child? Kindly share and tag me so I can enjoy and catch a good laugh too.

Thank you so much for reading

Do like and subscribe.

2
$ 0.69
$ 0.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
Sponsors of Venvie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Venvie
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Exactly. Thanks for your comment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, that is what I think. That the money you got from them maybe their money for lunch because for sure you are not all rich or even have big allowances. But for sure you use the money as savings and for the things you need.

$ 0.00
1 year ago