Check Them Up

4 20
Avatar for Venvie
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Memories, Friends, School

Yesterday, I was scrolling and watching my contacts whatsapp status for it has been a while I’ve done that; been busying around the whole week and the holiday I was given at my workplace wasn’t really a holiday for me as I worked even more, although this time on my personal projects.

I think I will make this status viewing a routine cause the funny memes and videos my contacts are posting are really cracking me up and like they say ‘all work no play make jack a dull boy’.

I was in all smiles when a new post popped that happened to be that of a secondary school pal of mine. The name brought a lot of memories and the one that stucked was how I met him.

I was a new student at the school then. My childhood friend and competitor named Moses attended the school too and was well known being the brilliant boy that he is. Moses asked me where I’ll be changing to for I informed him that my parents want to change my school. I told him that I will be attending a school named “seat of wisdom” and he practically left his previous school called Amazing College to the one I told him but guess what, my parents eventually enrolled me at Amazing my childhood friend’s previous school. I was that mean then lol.

When I broke the news to him, he was so pissed, he didn’t talk to me for a week or so for he wanted us to attend same school like we did in our primary school days but I didn’t want that for some reasons I’m to shy to disclose.😄

Since his Dad had already paid the school fees and all that he needed, there was no way he could tell him that he wants to return so, he informed his friends that a new girl is coming that’s very intelligent, who would top the class if they were not careful. He told them my name and how I looked like. (I got to know this a month after I enrolled to the new school)

On the day that I would be officially a student of the school, the director of the school and my mum accompanied me to my class and he told our class master who is a lady to watch me and take care of me. I was feeling myself but was a bit shy as all eyes were on me. My Mum bade me goodbye and left with the director. I was then given a sit. The girls in my seat asked what my name was and I told them that was when I noticed the 3 sets of piercing eyes looking at me and smiling. I didn’t pay much attention to them anyways. During break, I stepped out with a girl named Zainab who showed me the cafeteria. On returning to my class a boy blocked my path. Tried navigating other routes but he still blocked me. I stepped back in shock and then he said: I know you; you’re the so called intelligent Victoria right? (he asked sarcastically) I didn’t say a word. He continued, well you’ve met your waterloo by coming to this school. We’ll see if you’ll ever get close to be in top 5 not to talk of topping the class, we’ll see. And then he left.

I was even more surprised. I stood still and watched him until he was no longer in sight. How did he know me? I thought. A threat on my first day?? Ok. Unknown to him, He just triggered something in me which was probably very happy at that point. I got to class and we both exchanged glances. After the close of school, I walked up to him in the company of his friends and asked him with a smile. “What is your name?” and he told me his name is Peter. He introduced his other friends to me and that’s how we all became close friends.

For a year now, I’ve not seen my friend Peter and we don’t communicate so much which i played a role in. The last time they organized a hangout, I couldn’t even meet up because I was busy. It now dawn on me that I’ve placed my friends on a secondary and my busy life primary which is not suppose to be so. When I saw what he posted, I realized a lot has changed about him. ‘OBI’ as we call him even though he’s a northerner now smokes weed! I was heartbroken. I have not been there for my friends! I quickly scheduled a meet up which will happen on Saturday. I just hope they are all emotionally fine

Do you have friends that you’ve not contacted for a while? Please do reach out. A lot is happening .

It's been a while I posted on read. I've missed reading comments and interesting articles but am back now.

Thanks @Ellawrites for renewing your sponsorship. You're so kind.

Thanks for reading this piece!

Do not forget to subscribe also.

Ciao

4
$ 0.35
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Lixten
$ 0.01 from @Freedom007
+ 1
Sponsors of Venvie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Venvie
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Memories, Friends, School

Comments

Nice write up, I make sure I text them immediately after this because it's been a while I have talked or chat with most of them. Thanks for the article

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Please do. Childhood friends are the most genuine friends one can ever have

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting to write 🥰. How far, were you able to make it to top five in the class?? I want to know. During school then, boys normally dominate 1st to 3rd and a lady comes out 4th. I tried to leave 3rd to advance to 2nd but juju no work....that was class A. Ladies were in charge in class B with head girl from there.

Checking about friends is very important as we could be a life savior at that moment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Class A is always known to be the hub for brilliant students and in this case it's senior high where all the high IQ peeps from class A and class B come to Science class. I made it toTop 3 during first term. Moving out Peter the one that threatened me from number 3 to 4. A girl came 2nd and Peter's friend came 1st In second term, the girls moved the boy occupying first and second position respectively. And in the third term it was tie, myself and the girl took first position. I was able to break the tie in the first year of senior high 2.

$ 0.00
1 year ago