How internet and smartphones have made us slaves?

12 18
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
2 years ago

Article # 74
Dated: 30th December 2021

Yesterday, a private company damaged our main fiber optic cable while doing some excavation work on our site which resulted in the termination of internet and telephone services. The whole office spent yesterday and today without the internet. It was just amazing to see the whole office having conversations with each other and they spend the whole time talking with each other. When the internet is up everybody is busy fixing their eyes on their laptops or smartphone screens.

Sponsors of Usmanshoaib
empty
empty
empty

It made me realize how the internet and technology have made the whole of humanity far from each other. We often think about how the time is running so fast. The time is going the way it was going before. The time doesn't change but the usage of smartphones has fastened the times. We spend 8 hours sleeping and then we keep on using the smartphone for almost the whole day which wastes our time and made us feel the time is running fast.

How smartphones and the internet have made loved ones apart from each other. It has negatively affected society and has a bad influence on social life. Whenever I visit my family on weekends I use smartphone only when it's necessary to use it because I want to give time to my family. Whenever I am with my father I dont use my smartphone. But I have seen my brother using the smartphone and he is surfing Facebook with handsfree buds in his ears in front of my father. Even though my father dislikes it but my brother has got so used to it that he does not even realize the dislikeness of my father. Almost everyone has addicted to social media and whenever the internet gets disconnected it feels like they have lost something. Everyone has become the slaves of the smartphone and they can't even break the shackles of it.

Excessive use of smartphones can have even a bad effect on mental health. It can make a person grumpy and ill-tempered. My son had become so grumpy when he used to watch cartoons on the smartphone that we realized we should do something. He used to cry and start shouting even though he is still very little. And now that he has not watched it for more than a week he has become sweet again and he enjoys his time with his toys.

People use to live their life to the fullest before smartphones and they were living the true meaning of life but now people are just pushing their time by using smartphones day and night. Their social lives are destroyed, they will be sitting with their loved ones but they will be using smartphones instead of having some real communication with them.

I remember we used to play cricket and spend some time with our friends when the smartphone did not arrive. I remember our parents used to get angry when we played outside and they wanted us to study instead of only playing. But now parents want their children to get involved in healthy activities but they only play video games and online games.

I dont deny the good use of technology but unfortunately, most people make negative use of it and ignore the positive use of it.

Source For Lead Image

7
$ 5.78
$ 5.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 1
Sponsors of Usmanshoaib
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
2 years ago

Comments

This is one of the reasons I am looking so forward to the farm and rural living. No more of this outside influences of social media that we need to bother about. The only thing we need is internet for things that add value to our lives instead of filling our lives with poison. We can spend our days in the sun tending our veggies and chickens and not have to worry about what government official is saying what.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you rural living is the best way of living.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What's funny is that we are being robbed of alot of things with our eyes open yet we can't see it because we feel like technology can replace everything.

I once spoke with someone and the person has a fight with another friend. I was trying to urge her into making peace but she mentioned that the person she fought with was just one and she has millions of friends worldwide that if she engagaed them all, she would be able to in 1 year. Someone just compared virtual friendship to a physical one. Sad!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A virtual friend can never replace a physical friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think all of us now cannot live without this technology, since like us it's also means of making money while using it maybe just some control will do but don't know if I can hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha but only 0.00000001 % is using it for money making. Almost everyone is just wasting their time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is still a win win situation for me. Though you really have a big point on this but sad to say, we are really in need these type of technology nowadays. I

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have got used to it and we will break this habit once the technology gets vanished. It will take time but eventually it will happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything with an advantage has disadvantages. I've always said smartphones are making us lose our social and communication skills

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thats very true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a situation that is happening worldwide, and it has already been demonstrated that these harmful contents within social networks have been put on purpose by companies so that people become more addicted. It is up to us to take care of ourselves. Great publication. Best regards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you and yes, everyone is responsible for their own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago