Palm Sunday Thoughts

10 46
Avatar for Usagi
Written by
1 year ago

Published: April 2, 2023
Time: 5:20 PM
Article #: 280

Blessed Palm Sunday every one! For those who don't know, Palm Sunday is commemorated before Easter Sunday. Since Holy week is about to start for us Catholics, one of the things we do is to go to church and get our palms blessed. Today, is an ordinary day for me but when I left the house I saw many people coming home from church. Filipinos have a different belief in the catholic religion. I can say that most of us have a lot of faith because every time I visit churches, I see and feel how strong their faith is.

While my boyfriend and I were out, we suddenly talked about his upcoming birthday. But since that day falls on Holy Week, he said we will just celebrate on Saturday or Sunday. There are sayings that it is forbidden to have fun and eat delicious food on these days except for Easter Sunday, but I told him that depends on your faith. Okay, this is my perspective only so I hope no Catholics will get offended. I also grew up in a very traditional family. years ago, our grandmother always forbade us to bathe for three days during Holy week. Even eating chicken, pork and anything else were also forbidden. But when I thought about it and had the chance to worship in different religions such as the Christian Baptist, I realized that it is not necessary to follow some of the traditional things especially if it will have an effect on your health and hygiene. For me, your belief in God is more important. He only died once and for me, He doesn't want us to sacrifice. I think it's okay to still follow such superstitions but what's more important to me is during this Holy Week season, you can reflect well on yourself, the people you meet and the things you do. For me, living the word of the Lord is more essential.

So to those who will celebrate the Holy Week, let's not put up with the heat in our country so let's all take a bath, just kidding! 🤡

7
$ 0.20
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Micontingsabit
Sponsors of Usagi
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Usagi
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

naalala ko, diba uso ung mga palaspas kapag holy week?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

uu dzaaiii

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah basta ako kakain ng kahit ano HAHAHA char

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahahahhaa basta gutom, lalamon tayo!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ignore the tradition of not bathing. It is extremist, however, they are traditions that our ancestors respected a lot.

It's not something I would do, I live in a very hot area, so not bathing is impossible.

It impresses me how strong the beliefs were before, I also admire them.

Blessings for this Palm Sunday.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree! Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dati din yung birthday ko saktong hwebes santo ,kaya ayun hindi gumastos ,hindi naghanda kasi nga dapat fasting yun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

dati din may oras ang kain nmain ate, ngayun is panay nood na lang mga movies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Catholic's tradition is very rich and many are following it until today. I am happy yo see that as a Catholic.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But honestly, some catholics don't live the word of God, truthfully.

$ 0.00
1 year ago