Never outshine the Bride!

27 46

PUBLISHED: JUNE 21, 2022 TIME: 3:00 PM PST ARTICLE #: 138

I recently published my most recent piece, however it appears that my mind is in the mood to write something right now. Is it beneficial? Yes, without a doubt. It only happens once in a blue moon, therefore I should take use of this opportunity to write as much as I can before my braincells dry up and make me sluggish once more.

Let us now discuss weddings. This will be my first time attending a wedding and being asked to be one of the bridesmaids. The wedding is scheduled for December 2022. Is it too soon for that? Is it strange that I'm more interested about it? lol. It'll be my cousin's wedding, anyway. When she and her fiancé came to see us in Manila two weeks ago, she disclosed it. They informed us of their wedding preparations, which included having my child serve as the ring bearer. I didn't hesitate to say yes when she asked if I could be her bridesmaid because it would be my first time. I'm really pleased about it, but I also felt emotional about it. *Dati, naghahabulan pa kami niyan nila ate sa buong bahay at naglalaro eh ... It's just that, we are getting oldees na talaga. I remember me and my ate because we are now in the mid 20's.*

Anyway, don't worry, I'm not under any pressure since I understand that marriage is a precious matter about which we must ponder a million times before making such a commitment. I can imagine my partner as my lifelong 'lovey-daps,' but I still wanted to spend some time with him and make sure everything was in order before committing to him forever.

Returning to my cousin's wedding, I took some time after they announced it here to watch some helpful advice regarding this type of event. After some Tiktok video scrolling, a random video appeared in which the girl advises those individuals, particularly the bridesmaids, not to outshine the bride.

As a bridesmaid, dress something that will not outshine the bride. If the bride wears a white dress, never wear a white gown (unless all the bridesmaid are asked to wear that color but it was a cardinal sin of marriage so leave the white dress to the bride!) that will make everyone notice you. Take note, the bride must be the most beautiful woman in the ceremony, not you.

What if you're more attractive than the bride? To be honest, pointing out that you are more attractive than the bride is rude. So if ever na gandang-ganda ka pa din sa sarili po pero bestfriend mo tong ikakasal, please, tigilan mo muna pagiging confident. Just wear a light makeup-hindi yung tatalbugan mo pa yung mismong bride. Actually, there are makeup artists who will provide you the best look naman as bridesmaid so ikalma mo muna pagiging gandang-ganda sa sarili.

Furthermore, never try to bypass the clothing code. Don't be too 'papansin' this time. If the invitation card specifies that you must wear a sundress or a long dress with a basic neckline, stick to that regulation and do not attempt to attend the ceremony in a ball gown, okay?


And that's what I have learned from that video. Well, to be honest, since it is my first time to witness a wedding, I got excited about it and planned for the look that I must show them but later on, I realized that the wedding day must be enjoyed by the newly weds and not me. So I decided that if their wedding day comes, I will just wear the appropriate look that bridesmaid must show.

How about you? What's your opinion regarding this matter?

Lead Image from Pinterest and photos from Unsplash

Anyways, here's my previous blogs:

9
$ 1.22
$ 1.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 6
Sponsors of Usagi
empty
empty
empty

Comments

it is important to be considerate of course day niya yan , nila ng groom so give it to them..maybe sa kasal nalang ni bridesmaid magpa ganda ng bongga..hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahahahaa may iba kasing bridesmaid na ayaw tlga magpaawat lalo na kapag mga typical wedding na madaming relatives invited.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahhahaha pero pag bridesmaid given na yan na close to the couple so hopefully di nila ganunin ung bride

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah sana nga ate pero this coming wedding sa cousin ko hahayaan na namin ni ate ang mga make up artist. No need magpaganda for that kasi magaganda na tlga kami ng mga pinsan ko. Do not outshine the bride lang talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's okay to look good naman and yung nagagandahan ka kasi it's not everyday na mag-geget-up tayo ng ganyan and/or mag-aattend ng wedding. Pero ayun nga wag sobra and epal. Pero kahit siguru may kumabog sa bride, yung attention nasa bride parin. Tapos diba pagbridesmaid, pinapapili ng mga susuotin? I was also asked din kasi as one of the bridesmaids sa wedding ng classmate ko sa college. Pinapili kami ng gown. Pero yung request ko lang lagyan ng slit, ala Elen Adarna kahit hindi Ellen adarna ang katawan. haha tapos gusto rin nang iba, kaya may slit lahat ng bridesmaids. haha. Yung concern ko lang talaga sana mabawasan pa yung unwanted fats ko. Ngayong July 16 na eh. haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omg goodluck ate meron ka pala ganap sa July 1y. Keri mo yan mag workout lang kahit 30 mins every yaka yan ate.

Pero yeah, may dress code naman kaso syempre diba may ibang wedding na kapag di afford nila bride ung susuutin ng mga may role eh kahit ano na basta formal. Pero dpat tlga Jan may dress code

$ 0.00
1 year ago

there may be many interesting stories from this article, when I attended various weddings, strange events occurred when the wedding attendant looked like a top artist and because her face was attractive and beautiful, the eyes of the guests present were on her. Incidents like this take away the image of the bride and groom because that day they don't become like kings and queens for a day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha naalala ko lang yong My Love From The Star, may scene dun na nag pictorial pa talaga sil duns a mismonh wedding. Natalbugan tuloy yong bride hahahaga ang kulit. Pero tama din naman, pero kapag inborn ng maganda naku wala ng magagawa ata kapag ganon haha chorree hahahae

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wahahhaha oo naalala ko yan sa MLFTS ang kyut naman nila jan pero in reality, rude un lalo na eh dapat ang bida sa kasal eh ung bride and groom eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same thoughts sis. Talking about weddings, my friend and my cousin will get married this August and aattend din ako. First time ko rin ienjoy ang wedding kasi if I remembered it correctly, bata pa ako nung nag attend ako and ano bang malay ko dun haha now mas meaningful na kasi kilala natin ung ikakasal and part tayo ng ceremony.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope ate maenjoy mo. Andami ko nga nalaman nung nag basa basa ako sa fb at TikTok eh. Ang wedding talaga eh sacred yan. Dapat Hindi lang tayo attend dahil sa foods or sa souvenirs or parang gagawing reunion lang ng pamilya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never Kong natry maging bridemaids. Naging flower girl Lang ako dati hehehe..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko dapat mag flower girl din ako kaso months before ng wedding eh naghiwalay na ung aunt ko at ung boyfie niya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oi. Kasad naman nun pero siguro di sila yung tinadhana

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marriage is the happiest thing for everyone..but unfortunately I have never felt married..hahaha😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

U never felt?? Whyyyy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm still too young my friend, only 18 years old

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is what most people do and it needs to be avoided. There's no point in dressing to outshine the owner of the program.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. Thanks for the pointers!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never outshine the brode kasi once lang naman ikakasal. It is her day, her most memorable day kaya wag kang epal, hahahaha.. Dapat ganun sabihin sa mga bridesmaid na GGSS eh..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True ate. Dami sa tiktok mga kwentong ganun eh alam mo nmn pag Pinoy, hindi papatalo mga yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama, ayaw paatalbog eh, bida bida ba..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa mga kapatid ko nagbridesmaid nako, pero sa kasal ko walang ganun ganun kasi civil wedding lang dito sa bahay. Tska ayaw ko talaga ng attention kaya konti lang tao dapat hahahag

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako din parang sa panahong ngaun Ayoko ng church wedding. Civil lang okay na. Plus points na lang if gusto niya un pero basta maging legal kami ok na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako excited din kasi first time ng anak ko na aabay sa kasal, no particular duty pa naman pmat sa september pa pero Im looking forward na din para sa knya,sana tlga maglakad sa aisle without me🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako ung Unico hijo din namin kukuning ring bearer. Wahahaha pero now pa lang tinetrain ko na. Alam mo naman kapag bata eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kya nga eb, ung akin naman laging dikit sa akin kya sana maglakad mag-isa pag-abay nya

$ 0.00
1 year ago