Never Ignore Your Passions in Music and Performing Arts

16 86
Avatar for Unity
Written by
2 years ago

Did you ever learn music or any performing art?

I had learned to play tabla, an Indian percussion instrument. I was privileged to get the support of both parents in learning something about music. They always encouraged me to take up whatever subjects I liked to test.

I didn't neglect my passions for music and other art forms during my young age.

Fortunately, my parents, especially my mother, wanted all their children to learn either classical music, dance, painting, or any form of the performing arts. I was assigned a tabla teacher (guru) when I was studying in standard two in elementary school.


Music and school academics were equally important to me

Graphics: Video by Debasish Bose from Pexels converted to GIF.

Tabla has been in the domain of performing art for hundreds of years. In the old days, the kings and emperors of the Indian sub-continent had supported eminent musicians with handsome scholarships.

Tabla is one of the finest percussion instruments that can produce superior sounds. Tabla has now accepted as an instrument for solo performances.

I had learned tabla for many years. Later, when I reached college, I learned to play harmonium, a keyed instrument similar to an organ but much smaller in size. I started to accompany Indian classical vocal singers on harmonium.


I wore music and academics like a finely woven fabric

Music was in my deep-rooted feelings. I couldn't separate music and academics from my life. Both became like a fine fabric woven by an unknown creator. I enjoyed wearing music and academics without any distinction. It was so natural.

During my doctoral research studies, it was about five long years in Bombay (Mumbai), when I spent a lot of time on musical practicing and listening.

I attended many musical soirees featuring great musicians, including late Pandit Ravi Shankar, Ustad Ali Akbar Khan, Pandit Nikhil Banerjee, and many more stalwarts with expert accompaniments on the tabla by Alla Rakha, Zakir Hussain, Kumar Bose, etc.


Everything suddenly changed when I quit my government job

In 2007, I intentionally quit a permanent government R&D job and entered the arena of teaching in private engineering colleges. Maybe, I was bored with the bureaucratic anarchy and wastage of citizens' money on experimental R&D, which never saw the light of utilization.

The very busy academic administration took my time and peace of mind.

I got a horrible taste of private academics. I got very little time to enjoy music, film, and other art forms. Lately, I realized what I was missing. In 2016, I revisited my musical mentor Acharya Jayanta Bose in Kolkata (Calcutta).


Then, I started my self-employment grilling with life

In 2019, I started a new journey when I quit all full-time job assignments. As I slowly connected the missing dots of self-employment and entrepreneurship, the so-called pandemic (we may call it a 'plandemic' or 'scamdemic') broke in 2020.

All my offline entrepreneurial engagements were blocked by the enforced 'pandemic-induced' lockdowns. My student mentoring venture was stopped.

Now, as we know, "better late than never," and so, I am continuing with my experimental research development on information security, especially password security. My musical mind is still living with some hopes.


My love for music is surfacing back

I recently joined ReadCash and connected with @SolarPhasing, who has been creating brilliant digital music. I am thinking of indulging in music again.

I will get a new pair of tabla, and get my harmonium tuned again.

Maybe, I will also get acquainted with audio/video recording using various open-source software. With some inspiration from online friends, I will let my creative mind try improvising with popular tunes.


Do not neglect your passions in music and performing arts

Graphics: Video by ROMAN ODINTSOV from Pexels converted to GIF.

I experienced an empty feeling when I stayed almost entirely away from music for many years. I suffered mentally but couldn't realize the real reasons. Lately, I realized what I was missing. Music is the food for our souls.

I wish you will not make such a mistake of ignoring your passions in music and any other performing art, or fine art, such as painting, sculpting, pottery, etc. It can be any creative activity that gives you the solace of mind.

Human life doesn't need many costly things to satisfy inner desires. The mind may ask for something, but the real world will deliver earthly objects. Every individual has their own way of quenching the thirst of the mind. Music and arts are such things that no costly object can ever give you.


Bringing it altogether

  • If you like any extra-curricular subjects, please don't delay pursuing them.

  • Never keep yourselves away from your passions in any performing arts, such as music, dance, sculpting, painting, etc., because of your professional works.

  • Find and interact with like-minded folks who take a serious interest in the closer subject area of your passions.

  • Explore if you can associate your passions with your professional works.


Postscript

I have been practicing STEM - Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics for many years. I create solutions for password and cybersecurity relevant to blockchain and cryptocurrency.

If you like, you may follow my writing communities and submit relevant articles:

Thanks to my sponsors, whose names appear in the "Sponsor" pannel.

I wish all members of the blogging community strive here and elsewhere.


Cheers!

Text Copyright: Unity

Lead Image:  I created the GIF image with a Video by Debasish Bose from Pexels.

All other graphics and videos are credited just below it.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

I am also on Noise.Cash ... click the link if you are there.

March 02, 2022.

15
$ 4.42
$ 3.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @SolarPhasing
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
+ 8
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I didn't know you were a musician my friend, what a surprise haha that's why you talk so much about music.

Actually I have paused my studies in music, I have spent a few years surrounded by very bad teachers at the music university, so that demotivated me a little, I still play from time to time, I know that at some point I will return to making music, but for the moment I am dedicating myself to drawing and small animations.

My couple is composing his own music and songs for other people, so I'm still in the music world unintentionally haha because many times I help him.

There are a lot of free programs to record music, I hope you can start recording soon.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

With some inspiration and good wishes from the community of musicians, and music lovers, I will slowly come back to practice, and of course, to listening to classical as well as contemporary music. Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am really very happy 🎉🎉,that you have made the decision to go back to doing what makes you happy (Music)🎵🎵, I am sure that with God's help, your perseverance and dedication you will be very successful. 🙏🏻🙏🏻A big hug and many blessings!🫂😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you success on your musical journey friend, since it is your passion then am sure you will flourish in the profession.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I never thought to take music as a profession. But, the wore was that I neglected music for years. I want to bring it back into my life.

I appreciate your valuable time currency (https://read.cash/@Unity/time-currency-a3f1cdeb) and commenting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, I am really honored by this awareness. Thank you very much for quoting me! And I can only encourage you on this path of musical art.

I think you were probably already asking yourself the right questions. And that I could potentially have been a trigger. I really like this analysis and this trip to the depths of oneself, anyway.

Nice introspection! Good Article! :0)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I get inspired by your articles and musical creations.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's really good, friend, to make us a habit of practicing music. We can enjoy ourselves even when we study together. Is it inspiration.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Practice music and art. Enjoy music and inspire the community.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's one of the reasons why I am sad and feeling empty because I haven't listened to music and ignored my passion. I am slowly getting back to dancing again though I am disappointed with myself because of my weight.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dancing is good for health. So, you should practice dancing regularly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Music is also part of our life my dear friend. We should also learn music knowledge beside study.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, practice both education and music.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Worthy words from you dear. Indian culture and famous people you mentioned here. Are you from there?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. I had attended the live performance of all these musical maestros in person.

$ 0.02
2 years ago