What a Hive!

24 70
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Hive is an English word with a lot of meaning depending on the usage. But the number one definition that would pop up in your dictionary would probably be the definition of being: "a structure where bees are housed in".

Busy Bees

If youā€™ve ever seen an active beehive be it in a picture, video or physically; you would notice something about it. And that would probably be the buzzes of bees flying around or working in the hive.

Bees are hardworking insects by nature and they are very organized like the ants too. They have an organized societies with roles dished out to different members of their communities.

Well I donā€™t know much about bees perhaps I would go and read more about this wonderful insect on Wikipedia.

But the busy nature of bees is so remarkable that the word busy is being similized to bees. You might have heard the popular simile: ā€œas busy as a beeā€ or heard or read of a hardworking person being referred to as a ā€œbusy beeā€.

The environment one lives in says a lot about the personality of such person and even animals. A clean animal would live in a clean environment so likewise a busy animal would stay or make its environment busy.

Since bees are associated with busyness therefore their residence "hive" is also associated with busyness. Not only is hive associated with busyness, it is also associated with a crowdy environment due to the fact that bees move in large number called swarms and live together to form a colony.

When a place is referred to as a hive, it means that such a place is a busy place filled with busy people or occupants. For example; a market place can be described as a hive because it is a crowdy place filled with busy people.

Hive platform

Well Iā€™m sure that most of us here on read cash must have heard about the hive platform and even some of us here are active members of the site.

Indeed I have heard of hive more than 7 months ago. But it was in late February I decided to give it a trial. An account was created for me through "peakd" by a kind fellow with the username; "flaxz" . But unfortunately I lost my keys, meaning I lost the access to my account. It was a painful incident and ever since then I have never thought of opening another account because I didnā€™t even know how to.

I never thought of hive and even if I did I didn't bother myself with checking it out because my hands were filled with blogging on read and noise cash.

It was in late April while having a discussion with a friend and a former writer on read cash that I got to know that I could open a hive account for free through "Ecency". I did follow his instruction and I opened an account via ecency.

After opening the account I didn't make use of it, I didnā€™t make any post. The reason? I believe the reason why I didn't follow it up was the fright that comes with not knowing how to use something strange to one. So I abandoned it although this time around I had access to my account unlike the previous stint.

First step

But today I have made my first post on hive all thanks to @Cesca_Jove who inspired and guided me step by step on making a post, she showed some hive communities I should join on discord.

Without her I wonā€™t have made my introductory post. I was welcomed to the site by so many writers, among those who welcomed me there are some familiar names of my fellow read cash writers; @Olasquare @Kushyzee @Jumper-01

Just like a beehive the hive platform seems to be a very busy place and also a complex site where there are a lot communities, rules and a lot of front-end one can use to get access to the platform.

It not as easy to understand like read cash and there are many terminologies and function one has to learn like: power up, power down, etc.

I know it's just a matter of time before I get used to the platform. @Kushyzee sent me an article written by Jane. The article is titled: Hive Basics For Beginners

For those who are reading this article and you're also a "Hiver", please kindly follow and read my introductory post; Geez! What took me so long?

Thanks for reading šŸ˜Š

21
$ 1.70
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 19
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

I've also opened an account on hive buy the problem now is creating my first post and getting used to how things work there, i really need a guide now...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was the same issue that prevented me from making a post earlier than this

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've also opened an account on hive buy the problem now is creating my first post and getting used to how things work there, i really need a guide now...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm trying my luck on hive. Let's see what future I have there. Haha. I'm super excited.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What your username over there?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

congrats on your hive journey. i read your introductory post.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for reading it. Are you on hive too?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

no, i'm not. im only in read cash

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, judging from the name, this platform is interesting, but I don't think I'm ready to join it yet. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You should indeed move at your own pace

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yay! I saved Jane article too since I also created an account last weekend. And I agree with you , it is more complicated compare here at read cash

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, very complicated.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats on your first post in Hive. I'll take a visit of your post but I can't upvote or comment as of now since my RC is still low

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No problem, dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You guys are making me have an interest in opening an account on Hive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is your choice, and besides it is free you have nothing to lose.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had an account on Steemit in 2017. From there, I didn't know I had accounts on Hive blogs, including Ecency. Last year, I opened a new account on Ecency - after a few months, I discovered I already had an account on Ecency with all my old articles on Steemit reposted under my name! Now, I have to locate the security credentials of that account.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Were you able to retrieve your previous account sir?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of us actually tried hive some months back but withdrew from it because of the complexity involved šŸ˜† I created mine last year August but stopped for a while and return last month, and that's mostly because nothing much seem to be happening these days in readcash šŸ˜‰.

Anyway, I am still trying to get used to hive but one thing I know is that it keeps getting easier the more you spend time on the platform. So, engage often with other users there and take part in contests and challenges, with time you will adapt

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope I do. Thanks for sharing your experience

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations on this bold step of yours to be active on Hive today. Unlike me that have heard a lot about it and yet finding joy in procastinating

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe; I procrastinate than you šŸ¤£

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for encouraging me to open mine today, it remains for me to post there which I will do soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome brother. Looking forward to your intro post

$ 0.00
1 year ago