No Excuses! Now I read

26 63
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Some few days ago I saw a suggested account to follow on facebook with the name “Brian Tracy”. I checked the account and I saw that it had millions of followers.

"This person must be popular", I thought to myself. Checking the bio, I saw he was a writer who majors in writing inspirational and developmental books. According to his bio he was regarded as a best-selling author, Huh.

I decided to scrolling down to see some of his post and I could see that he mentors people on how to improve their selves, become better persons and achieve their goals.

Well I didn’t know him, and that wasn’t surprising because even though I flaunt myself as a bibliophile, recently I hardly read books.

Me and books

So why call myself a bibliophile then? I think the word bibliophile would best describe me when I was still younger, then I read every books I could understand and lay my hands on. I also read any topic, be it novels, history books, books on geography, even those that deals with spiritualism.

Well I think the reason why I got accustomed to reading books was that I grew up in a house where there were a lot of books. Sometimes I go in secret to read books, that I was forbidden to read (I’m certainly not proud of this, but then I needed something to water down my appetite and I read anything including erotica books)

During my later teenage years; I didn't read much of hardcopy books because I have read almost all the books I was surrounded with. But the internet offered a new door to endless free books. I did read a lot of novels thanks to platforms like Worldreader.

But now I hardly read books like before. I believe the distraction in the social media has taken that aspect away, although I must admit that I often read articles on Wikipedia (mostly on politics and history) and I also read news articles on BBC too.

But lately I have read in many places that as a young adult I need to read books, not the novels or news articles. But books that will aid my personal development, inspiring and motivating. Books that would help me develop the right way of thinking and about ways to progress in life. I have been slacking on these a lot.

You see when it comes to reading interesting novels I consider myself a fast reader. I greedily feast on them and I can skip my meals all for reading sake.

But when it comes to reading self-developing books I really find them boring. They might be boring just like how sometimes reading the bible can be, but they are the most beneficial to one’s life.

I remember I once made an article about wanting to read more books in the month of May. The result? I didn’t finish any book I started (woeful).

Starting with; No Excuses!

On Saturday while I was free, I decided to read a book out of the more than twenty books I have on my phone. The book I selected was titled; “No Excuses! The power of Self Discipline”. Guess who the author of the book was? Brian Tracy!

I have just read about 12% of the book and I’m learning a lot. You see reading adds knowledge, at least if I had picked the book earlier I would surely know who Brian Tracy was. And for his book to be among those sent to me by a friend he must definitely be a best-selling author.

Also in the article I wrote yesterday, I wrote that while observing the “no social media day challenge” we were given a book to read. I couldn’t read the book yesterday, so I didn’t even know what the title of the book was and neither its author’s name.

Today I decided to add the book to my shelf, the book is titled; “EAT THAT FROG!”. Guess who authored the book? Brian Tracy!.

I hope to finish these books I have started and not only read them, but implement all the lessons I would learn from them.

I sincerely appreciate you for reading my article.

14
$ 1.98
$ 1.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 9
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

I can totally relate to being able to skip meals just to finish a novel, i at some point wouldn't mind staying up most of the night just to read a novel but when it comes to the other types of books like the self development and motivational ones the enthusiasm isn't always the same. Just as you said though, growing up as a young adult, reading more of those books are important to our growth and development, I definitely need to work on developing a better reading habit too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad you agree with my statement.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reading has always been my thing. Even laziness can't stop from reading a page everyday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, good for dear. Keep up the habit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Unfortunately I am experiencing the same situation. It's been a long time I haven't read a book. I hope you read the books and do what you aim for my friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, implementing what we read is very important

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Damn, this just reminds me I have a book on my phone I haven't even read up to half since early this year (subtle art of not giving a f*ck) you should also check this one out if you haven't. I also used to love reading books when I was younger but these days it's a different story, advancement in technology and the introduction of social media has taken over 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can you send me that book?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will look for it and send it on Whatsapp

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will definitely start to read books now cos I don't like to don't at all and I don't think I have before except for stories 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, I knew it you were not the reading type 🤣. It is never too late to pick up a book. If you need some I can send them to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will dm you for some.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It looks Brain Tracy is a motivational, inspirational and encouraging writer which shows new dimension of thinking and looking to certain zones.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes he is sir. He is an amazing writer

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There was a time when i used to read a lot but I'm now lazy. I hope to start again soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It seems I'm not the one who lost the habit for reading

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reading books is very good. Through it, we learn, unlearn and relearn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the 3 steps you listed. Learn, unlearn and relearn 🤔😲

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reading books is absolutely beneficial, to spend your free time and to enrich your culture. Lire des livres est très utile, pour s’amuser et s’enrichir de culture.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah very true

Souadko it seems you're quite fluent in french. I would love to contact you on telegram, please. Can you send your telegram link

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dear Tomi, hope you are doing well, I am so sorry, I don't have time, because always so busy. Have a great time. 🙏 Cher Tomi, j’espère que tu vas bien, je suis tellement désolé, je n’ai pas le temps, parce que je suis toujours très occupé. Avoir du bon temps. 🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Books are best friends of Human beings. Books reading add up to knowledge and polish your personality. I lost the habit of reading book because of social media distraction that I am trying to overcome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope we do overcome social media distraction

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The last time I settle down to read a book was 2019 and it was a voluminous hard copy "spiritual" book. Since then, I think the quest for money has pushed me off the system

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It isn't easy devoting time to read amid the distractions around

$ 0.00
1 year ago