My Twitter journey

17 54
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago
Topics: Twitter, BCH, Bitcoin Cash, App, Phone, ...

The curiosity to try out Twitter got hold of me, and it was what led to the creation of my current Twitter account in July 2019. I fiddled on the platform a bit to know how it works. But, by the end of October 2019, I had uninstalled the app. The two reasons for uninstalling it were: my former phone(my first android phone) had low storage and I found the platform unattractive.

The platform was a bit off for me, and I didn't enjoy it the way I enjoyed other major social media; Facebook and Instagram.

I remembered telling a friend of mine who was very active on Twitter that; "Instagram is better than Twitter." But he disagrees.

The thought of comparing Instagram and Twitter is quite off because both are different platforms created for different purposes. But since these two were the next most popular social media platforms after Facebook; I couldn't resist comparing.

Breaks and bans

I came back to Twitter in September 2020, roughly a year after I had uninstalled the app on my phone. My return proved to be a brief stint and by December of 2020, I was away from the platform.

Again it took me approximately a year to return to Twitter, which happened in November 2021. My return was mainly a result of me trying to know what is transpiring around BCH and its community on Twitter. My return was just a month after joining Read cash and noise cash in October last year.

My usage of Twitter was influenced majorly by @HappyBoy after he listed the advantages of following the bitcoin cash communities on Twitter.

During my return, there was a ban on Twitter by the Government which started on the 5th of June 2021 and it wasn't called off until the 13th of January 2022.

To access Twitter during that period we all had to use VPN as the network providers were following the order of the Government by restricting Twitter.

After the ban

Ever since the ban was lifted, I have been fairly active on Twitter. Most of my activities on the platform were related to BCH and NFTs.

Although I didn't take many breaks as I did before, my Twitter presence wasn't that constant. Sometimes, I only make a tweet in a month, and mostly they are replies to BCH or NFTs competitions or giveaways (I haven't won any since I have been participating).

I would say I became more active on Twitter in late June of this year and this month has turned out to be my most active month since I created my account.

3rd Anniversary

Image from Twitter

It became exactly Three years since I created my Twitter account on the 11th of July. I wouldn't have been aware of the exact date if not for Twitter notifying me last month of my account's third anniversary. Coincidentally July is also my birth month.

This month of August has been my most active month on Twitter since the creation of my account. The reason for this was that I picked up an interest in Web development in mid-July, and I have been using Twitter to find information and connect with people who are into web development too.

My current consistency on Twitter is all thanks to @Kushyzee who made me understand and see the usefulness of the app.

My usage of Twitter is now daily and I now spend more than twice the amount of time I spend daily on both Facebook and Instagram.

Closing remark

I have always seen Twitter as a vile place where people tend to give savage and brutal replies, a place filled with nothing but criticism; where you have to be careful of the Tweets you make.

But now, I have learned to overlook the toxicity of users on the platform, and instead focus on its positive aspect by making use of the platform to enhance my learning and to build connection.

You can follow me on Twitter 👉 Tomi-Ajax

31-08-2022

4:00 AM

Thanks for reading!

16
$ 2.31
$ 1.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 10
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago
Topics: Twitter, BCH, Bitcoin Cash, App, Phone, ...

Comments

Happy 3rd year. Why did the government ban it? though this question was a bit strange. because twitter is a wild environment. there is a lot of misinformation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No your question isn't strange. Our Government wanted to reduce criticism it faces on Twitter after violently dismantling a peaceful protest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think this is wrong. because it is against freedom of expression. Our country does the same from time to time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't want to see how sick and stupid human mindset can be so I avoid twitter, haha. Even though I filter out the good ones at some point toxicity strikes and disturbs my peace. Even kids fight better in real life with valid points while there everything has just good grammar nothing else. My only problem there is the fake words which gets circulated like facts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are indeed a lot of fake news and negativity on Twitter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Twitter can be useful or useless, good or bad, a place of learning or a place to catch cruise, if totally depends on who is using it. In the past, I only use Twitter when something is trending, I just catch cruise for a while and leave after the trend dies but since I discovered tech twitter, my perspective have totally changed. Many people don't know the amount of resources that exist on that platform, but I guess everybody has what brings them to Twitter and sometimes it's just to catch cruise

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not a fan of Cruise, that was why I preferred Instagram before. Tech Twitter has opened a new light

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't even remember when I open my twitter account but I have been there since 2018 I guess. I use it mostly to see how the world is turning too and updates on things I'm following

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's nice, I guess you don't open it daily.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not at all

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Twitter has become useful app and I also had uninstall the app many times. It's good to participate in the giveaway by your Twitter account.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, I can't count the number times I had to uninstall the app either.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The start of 2022, I became active in Twitter but right now I hadn't been there because of so much busyness. I think I saw your Twitter profile and I had followed you. Not sure but I'll check it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok, thanks for the follow

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a Twitter my friend but I didn't open it. I mostly have the time in Facebook and Instagram. It's seldom in Twitter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok, everyone has their own preference

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend. People has a lot of different interest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago