Is that all we are made for?

2 36
Avatar for Tobias00
2 years ago

Today (10/04/22) was hectic, I hadn't really had time to sit by myself since morning except for now(10:48pm, i pray i finish this before 12am),it had been from one activity to the other. It's stressful but I thank God for the grace to be of use in the house of God. It's been awhile on this space(I have got tones of notifications😰, would take my time to go through them tho) tho my body is not in the mood to do anything at the moment but I have had it in mind to publish here today regardless. I don't even know if the title rhymes with the content but no better way to find out than doing the writing(I have had the topic saved up for awhile). So here I go😀.

One faithful evening

On a faithful evening, i was about going out but before stepping out, i went to meet my brother at the backyard of our house. I pleaded with him to assist with fetching water because we don't have electricity supply and by the time i would be back, the women selling water might not have any to sell.

Then a neighbor of ours heard our conversion and felt it was ok for her to meddle in. Then she began...

Neighbor: Ahn ahn, so your elder brother will be carrying water in the street?! no o, things ain't done like that, is that how you will do to your husband when you're married? (In my mind, I was like what's bad with him carrying water in the street🤷🏽‍♀, afterall he will use out of it.)

I tried to convince her, to make her see my point of view but she stood her ground on her idea and started telling me of how her husband doesn't assist in house chores and the rest of whatever she said. I just laughed it off and within me, I said everybody doesn't have to share the same mentality with you and your husband.

Astonished?

Was I surprise with such attitude of hers? No I wasn't. Why? Let me gist you a bit🤭

this Neighbor has two older kids out of 4, a son(9 years) and a daughter(10years). The son whose major house chores is to sweep and the daughter does the rest of the house chores.

This woman whenever she wants to discipline those two kids of hers. The convo goes thus.

Neighbor whipping her daughter: you're going to be a mother tomorrow(whip), you shouldn't be lazy(whip), you'll wake up early, cook for the family, bath your kids(whip), you will do a lot and you shouldn't be lagging from now (more whip).😂 (sorry I had to laugh, i'm always doing that whenever she starts because I don't just get).

Neighbor whipping her son: you're going to be a father(whip), have children, go to work(whip), pay school fee, make sure the family is financially OK(more whip).

Whenever such happens I laugh and feel bad about how those kids are being trained to view both gender. Shouldn't there be egalitarianism?

Is that all we are made for? Is that all we are called for? Isn't there much more to life than that?🤷🏽‍♀.

There is more where this came from but would love to stop here for now.

But it's everywhere she isn't the only one especially in the vicinity I reside and this get me thinking any time I experienced such.

Is this really all our purposes as male and female to end up being a father and mother respectively?

I just hope things change. And that these women realize that they are creating an inferiority complex for their girls who will beginning to think that they are meant to end up in the kitchen serving a man.

Gratitude

My vote of thanks goes to everyone who takes out of there precious time to read, like, comment and up vote my articles. You all are pillars of strength💪🏽. Thank you.

My very very special thanks goes to my new sponsor @MichaelBCH , thanks for trusting me on this. Same goes to @Ellawrites and @Tomi-Ajax .

Well turned out I didn't finish this before 12am but then I don't want to change a thing. It's a form of reminding myself in the nearest future of how I started out being a slow writer😂

4
$ 0.46
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Ellawrites
Sponsors of Tobias00
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tobias00
2 years ago

Comments

Lol, it's the whip and more whip for me. I really do pity those children, to be growing up in the hands of such kind of a person... As far as am concerned: "an husband can choose to assist his wife in doing one or two house chores, that her husband is not caring to that extent, doesn't mean all men would be like him".

$ 0.01
2 years ago

God bless you my sister! I wish she really knows this honestly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago