Forgiveness

14 41
Avatar for Tobias00
2 years ago

Forgiveness, in a psychological sense, is the intentional and voluntary process by which one who may initially feel victimized, undergoes a change in feelings and attitude regarding a given offense, and overcomes negative emotions such as resentment and vengeance 

Wikipedia

Forgiveness means to stop blaming or being angry with someone for something that person has done, or not punishing them for something.

Cambridge

Forgiveness in the Bible is a “release” or a “dismissal” of something.

Forms of forgiveness

  1. Unconditional forgiveness: This is said to be the highest form of forgiveness. As the name implies, it has to do with forgiving a person with no condition attached to starting the relationship afresh. That is,going about things as if the hurt never happened. The one we are familiar with as let bygones be bygones.

  2. Conditional forgiveness: This is otherwise known as probational forgiveness. When the offender's trust is on probation.

  3. Dismissive forgiveness: This is one in which the forgiver decide not to waste time, energy, or emotional space on the hurtful event and to put measures in place(boundaries, distance, or both)to ensure it never happens again.

    It's a “whatever” attitude towards the hurt and just moving on with one's life in a positive direction.

    it's involves terminating or intentionally reducing the closeness of a relationship. e.g quitting a job with a difficult boss or deciding to leave a dysfunctional marriage or partnership.

    It is a decision that the offender no longer has the power to hurt you or the privilege of being a meaningful part of your life.

  4. Grace: This is not ours to grant but (if you believe in God) God’s. For believers, God is the ultimate forgiver. And this form of forgiveness is the one we got through Jesus Christ. Reason for this season(Easter).

How can we forgive?

  • Address your inner pain: It’s important to figure out who has hurt you and how.

  • Develop a forgiving mind through empathy: Thinking about forgiving someone makes it much easier to go through the action itself in reality.

  • Find meaning in your suffering: For instance, someone who's a victim of rape can decide to advocate for others not to go through such.

  • When forgiveness is hard, call upon other strengths: One can go to one's secret place to pray about it, after all He said we should come to Him, all who are heavily laden. One can also seek support from trusted friends.

  • Forgive yourself: Forgiveness starts with you. Love yourself first that is why we are told to love our neighbor as ourselves not vice versa.

  • Develop a forgiving heart: Create a forgiving atmosphere around you.

Benefit of forgiveness

Forgiving a hurt can lead to the following

  • Improved mental health

  • Fewer symptoms of depression

  • Improved self-esteem

  • Less anxiety, stress and hostility

  • Improved heart health and immune system.

  • Healthier relationship.

My experience

Let me share my experience in order to spicy this up a bit.

On Saturday(16/04/22), we went for a walk as a church very early in the morning. When I woke up, I put on socks then a scarf on my head while I wrap its extending parts on my shoulders and I left for the walk.

As we continued, I was one of the officials and I was asked to video the event(we're much, more like battalion in training). Had to cross the road to have a full video. While doing that, the head coordinator jogged by me and shouted out to the woman that head my department saying "look at the way your official dressed like a boko haram". He was referring to the way i did my scarf. I laughed but deep down it hurts.

I don't get, can't I dress the way I want to without being called names? Boko haram of all names. Being reminded of it by others who were there after we were done, made it hurt more.

But then while I was pondering on it, I got reminded of how Christ (who was hurt and humiliated more than I was) on the cross at the point of death prayed to God to forgive his offenders because 'they don't know what they are doing'. Then, who I am not to forgive? I then realized that is the reason for this celebration of Easter.

Thank you for reading to this point and I hope you make use of this Easter celebration to forgive those who offend you too.

Happy Easter and a blessed week ahead.

6
$ 1.02
$ 0.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Aimure
+ 2
Sponsors of Tobias00
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tobias00
2 years ago

Comments

Forgiveness is key to to many things in this life and most especially towards God... We. Have to forgive our neighbor before we can experience forgiveness from him.. nice to meet you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! Nice to meet you too and your comment is very much appreciated.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Forgiveness may have sounded that easy, but it's way harder that what most of the think. Although, it's really dependent on how serious a thing is, forgiveness reality takes time. It's easy to say that we have to forgive our enemies, but in reality, it would really take time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate honestly, forgiveness in reality takes time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would call myself more of a dismissive forgiver. Sure the coordinator was only teasing you with the reference. He wouldn't expect it would hurt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too, i'm in the dismissive forgiveness category. Later, realized that too, he didn't say it to hurt me. I guess I over think it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

On the day judgement forgiver will have advantage for forgive others. Theirs sins will be removed and non-forgivers will be suffered the most.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! I wish people know this and know truth

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really meant for me, I don't actually forgive easily. God shows us unconditional forgiveness just as his love for us is unconditional. Thanks for sharing your experience with us, Tobias. sometimes we just have to ignore and forgive the wrongs of others. I'm glad you did that dear. Happy Easter to you too...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehn ehn. Remind me not to offend you o 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂. Don't worry I will be your alarm in that case.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome Ella, i'm glad I did too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Easter Tobias. As children of God we need to emulate him by learning to forgive, but that doesn't mean we should tolerate nonsense. Therefore that why if necessary we can set boundaries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm in total agreement with this, boundaries need to be put in place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago