The Story Of My Roommate

20 66

25 Article of my journey|22-4-2022

Image source

I lived in a hostel when I was in tenth grade. Actually, I wanted to study 10th class in my local village school but due to poor education system in the school I had to move to the city. I didn't like hostel life at all but I was helpless. I found a small room in the hostel where a boy was already living. I asked the hostel management to give me a separate room but they refused saying we can't give a separate room to a single person.

Coincidentally, my roommate and I were studying in the same class. He looked a couple of years older than me. We bought food twice a day. It was my duty to buy breakfast from outside and it was his duty to buy supper. About a kilometer from our hostel was a restaurant where we bought food. When my roommate goes out to buy food at night, he comes back after two hours. And daily the hostel manager would ask us to buy dinner quickly. I also used to tell my roommate daily that I would go out to buy dinner from now on but he was stubborn.

If I ever asked him why you spend so much time buying food, he would say that the restaurant is crowded with customers at night which makes him take time to buy food.

All the boys in the hostel used to buy their food before nine o' clock at night because the door of the hostel was closed after half past nine. Buy my roommate would quietly enter the room after ten o' clock, climbing over the hostel wall with food in hand. But the hostel manager was knowingly tolerating it.

After returning from the restaurant, my roommate's face looked strange and he fell asleep after eating some food. I used to call him again and again to study but he did not get any answer. Maybe he actually fell asleep.

Sponsors of Tilawat
empty
empty
empty

I thank my beautiful sponsors. And thanks to all the people who like to read me❤

He started smoking a few days later. I was surprised to see him smoking for the first time. Because he was a very intelligent boy and he was also hardworking in terms of reading.

I forbade him to smoke many times but he was not ready to quit. He had a book in one hand and a cigarette in the other. But he did not smoke outside the hostel room.

One day the hostel manager saw a cigarrete in his hand. Actually, he saw it through the window of our room. He had informed my roommate that if he was seen smoking inside the hostel again, he would be taken out of the hostel. But my roommate didn't care because he was addicted to cigarettes.

One day the hostel manager told me that you should find out why your roommate spends extra time buying dinner. Maybe the manager was skeptical.

One day when my roommate went to the restaurant to buy dinner, I secretly followed him. When he arrived at the restaurant, I saw two men already waiting for him. He greeted the two men warmly and walked down a dark alley with them instead of buying food. He had no idea I was chasing him. The three of them sat on one side of a dark alley. The two men mixed something in his cigarrete. Then the three of them started taking big puffs of cigarretes. After seeing this scene, I ran towards the hostel.

My heart was pounding when I arrived at the hostel. When he returned an hour later with the food, I told him what I had seen. He tried different excuses because he didn't want to face reality. But I knew the truth. And after hearing the story, my parents had already allowed me to leave the hostel. I left the hostel the next morning because I could not stay with a drug addict.

A year later, a hostel boy told me via WhatsApp that my roommate had been diagnosed with lung cancer. Tears welled up in my eyes when I heard this because he was like my brother.

Drugs ruined an intelligent boy. He became so weak that I could not recognize him when I saw his picture.

Closing Thoughts

Addiction is a bad habit that can ruin a person's social and personal life. Bad company turned my roommate's life into hell. I feel sorry for his parents because he was the only child of his parents. I have seen that innocent boys of today are addicted to drugs. They are cheating on their parents and they may not be aware of the consequences.

It is not wise to look at other people and get addicted. Actually, you are deceiving yourself because you are losing the opportunity to live a happy life. Don't forget that life is a blessing.

Thanks for reading

9
$ 1.42
$ 1.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @sj0820
$ 0.05 from @Vika09
+ 6
Sponsors of Tilawat
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I believe that strong-minded people do not have bad habits. This is a great lesson ...Need to play sports and live a healthy life

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right people who are mentally strong never fall into bad habits because they know their prons and cons well. If we continue to suffer from bad habits even after seeing such incidents, then we are definitely going to lose our lives. That's why I hold the game. Thanks a lot dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just like me also I have encountered some thing like this but mine was different he later ended up stop smoking but it really a great lesson for everyone out there to stop smoking not even only smoking they should stop drug abuse . Nice meeting you Sir

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It was a good thing he quit smoking before he got hurt. We hear thousands of such incidents but if we do not learn the lesson our young generation will be destroyed. Because the effects of addiction are so bad. Nice to meet you too dear!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I live in bachelor house where we all do this things. I want to left but cannot.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

But you have to keep yourself away from bad things like intoxication because in the beginning intoxication calms and later it destroys life. You can't leave so you have to be careful. Thanks for dropping dear!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is one of the incidents about which I felt very sorry. Addiction will damage someone's life rather than provide them a positive outcome.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm sorry about that boy's life too. He became addicted to drugs at an early age because he did not realize that he had lost the splendor of his life. You are right that addiction robs a person of his life. Thanks for leaving your thoughts here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm so sorry, why should I fall into drugs. How was his last condition? Is he still given a chance to live? Wrong association and that's a lot of phenomena happening around us. But, that's the destiny of life. We are given the brain to choose

$ 0.02
1 year ago

He is alive but his body is like an empty skeleton. I have seen many boys my age here who use drugs secretly from their parents. Such consequences can come if intellect is not used. Thank you so much dear!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are many people around me who use drugs. Even going in and out of prison is normal for them. Earning a living for his wife and children with illicit income. It's a very sad life. There is even a half crazy so that the household is chaotic. May we always be in good. Aamiin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They can't take care of their wives and children because they waste all their earnings on drugs. They consider imprisonment to be trivial because they lose consciousness due to addiction. Ameen dear!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you have written on a really sensitive and good topic. our young generation has no idea how they are destroying their health and future. their parents trust them and send them to study to make a good future but they ruin their lives. got sad for your roommate but also happy for you that you safe yourself from this bad thing even while living with him.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Drug use is on the rise. I think global laws should be enacted to prevent this so that the younger generation can lead a healthier life in the future. Indeed, they are ruining their future. I had to leave the hostel because I like to stay away from drugs. Your words are true. Thank you dear!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's really a sad situation, a boy got lung cancer in such a young age, this issue is continuously incresing in our society few days back a 8th grade girl was caught smoking in the school near my house and I was astonished, actually company matters a lot that's why we should always try to be with good peoples and whatever you do just think about of your parents reputation and their feelings for you coz they have much expectation, I pray may Allah Almighty guides everyone to the right path.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I was saddened to hear that girls have also become victims of dangerous things like drugs. You're right, everyone should take care of their parents' reputation and feelings. God bless us. Thank you Kainat!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let me highlight this, drug it strickly prohibited here in our counter as our president said that a family will become dysfunctional of one member will engage with that drugs. It can ruin our entire life.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm glad to know that such useful restrictions have been imposed on your place. Addiction destroys both life and peace. Thanks for dropping dear friend!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taking drugs was never been good!.it will just ruin a life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Bad company affected him because he was not a drug addict at first. Addiction destroys not one but the family. It is better to stay away from it. Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
1 year ago