Shattered dream

8 36
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction
2ND MARCH, 2022.
32ND ARTICLE IN ALL.
2ND ARTICLE IN THE MONTH.

I grew up from a rich home. My parents were federal government workers. We were very comfortable. Right from my childhood, I have always admired the dress code of lawyers. I love the way they dress. Whenever my teachers ask me what I wanted to become, I would confidently say I aspire to be a lawyer. Though I didn't know what it takes to be a lawyer, but I was determined at all costs. My mum wanted me to be a medical doctor while my dad wanted me to be a banker.

I successfully made my way through. I resumed my first term in secondary school as an art student. I passed the requirements to be an art student. I was happy my dream was coming true. By the time I would finish secondary school, my mates were calling me "Rose the law".

I got admission into higher institution to study law. It wasn't easy but I kept pushing. My parents were always happy with my results. I rented an apartment outside school so, I was able to read well. I started my project writing during my final year. I travelled home during my first semester break. I just wanted to be home. My siblings were on holiday too so we were all at home.

Then one night, a gang of armed robbers attacked our house. They entered through the window they burgled. They entered the sitting room and made straight for my parents' room. They requested for money and we gave them. One of them came to my room and raped me. After they left, my parents came to my room to know that had happened. I told them nothing. I was ashamed of myself. My mum asked repeatedly to be sure I was saying the truth. But I lied. I couldn't bring myself to say the truth. My parents went back to their room while I was confused about what just happened to me.

Have I just been raped? Won't I get pregnant? What would my parents say when they find out the truth? Would I abort the pregnancy? Is this the end of my education? What would be said about "Rose the law". These and many more questions ran through my mind. I couldn't sleep throughout the night. My pillow was soaked in tears. I thought of telling my mum the truth but I was scared. I couldn't focus on my academics without remembering that terrible night.

I went back to school with the little cash my parents could give me. My mum suspected something was wrong with me but I didn't open up. After three weeks, my friends began to complain that I always sleep in class. I told them I feel dizzy and vomit too. One of them suggested I go for a pregnancy test but I laughed out loud. I told them I have never known a man but before I could finish the sentence, I remembered the night I was raped.

I immediately left them and went to a clinic outside the school to get a PT. The result was positive. My parents heard about it and I withdrew from school. My whole world came crashing before my very eyes. My childhood dream of becoming a lawyer was shattered. What should I do now?

Thanks for your time. Have a blessed day.

5
$ 0.20
$ 0.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Kristofferquincy
$ 0.01 from @Kiingsley
Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction

Comments

Never keep a secret in you maam. You should have to tell your parents of what had happen.

Your story is interesting. God bless you always.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

 

Amen. Have a blessed day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sincerely hope this is a fictional story... I'm hoping to see a continuation. Wanna know if the child will be aborted or not.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

She should have told her parents immediately ☚ī¸ haba. So painful. They would have done something about it immediately and it won't lead to unwanted pregnancy. She didn't even think about STIs.

I love the story, very interesting and insightful

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you 💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Painful one. If you had told your parents when it happened, they would have suggested pills that helps to flush such things out of the system before it start formulating 😚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very thoughtful!

It's fictional

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fiction... is someone's truth mine for example. The good news is pregnant teenagers women, parents even the elderly can study too. 🍀💖

$ 0.01
2 years ago