Why I Qualify talk about the Body and its Generalized Health.

Avatar for Thremos
3 years ago

I find a lot of articles over the internet that have a very aggressive/passionate tone about something, whether its political views, exercise regimes, etc. The bad part of the experience comes when you realize that they are maybe not the most educated source, or that they took something you know quite well and gave it a bad spin or a naive approach to it, and are speaking to their following spreading what you KNOW is false information.

Now I like to give a little background to the things I work on. In my real life, my wife finds it exhausting because my stories "start with why you are telling the story at all". BUT ON THIS PARTICULAR OCCASION I think it will serve well!

I went to University originally for my psychology degree. I wanted to make my living by helping people, and I wanted to make good money doing it. The simple dreams and thoughts of an 18 year old with no tangible experience with the vast world. So I started to learn more in depth about the basics pf psychology. It covered the things you often hear people talk about after a first year course of Psych. Maslow's dogs salivating, hierarchy of needs, etc. But It also covered the anatomy of the brain, which was what I found the most intriguing. I began to realize over the term of these intro courses that I was more interested in the anatomy of a human than pure, unperturbed psychology of man. I never finished my university career (which is another story for another time) but I got what I needed out of it: The passion to pursue learning about the human body.

After about a year or two of pushing myself to complete a degree that I had no real interest in most of the knowledge I was paying for, I left university what could only be called a "dishonourable discharge". That might seem over the top, but in my struggle to complete university (according to my parents wishes), but I remember being a twenty year old make crying because i was scared of the disappointment I was about to bring my parents.

After my, Ill say it, shit show of an experience of university, I went into the world, not knowing what I wanted to do, but I kept myself active. I might have missed my calling for massage had I not run into my dads old friend who suggested the course to me after he heard how I was having trouble finding my career. That was literally all it took for me to know I was interested. My whole passed of education had led me to knowing I was interested, and here it was, presented to me on a silver platter.

I went through my two years of schooling (which is what is required for RMT in British Columbia Canada), in which we covered a lot of the body systems. Anywhere from why our vision works best with green light in night vision goggles, to how we are formed from conception, from 3 basic types of cells, the theory goes, I should be able to tell you the stages of cellular growth of a human. Do I remember that part? NO!! but it is in my books and I know where to find it and how to interpret it into the vast systems of the human body.

During my schooling, we covered of course, anatomy (muscle, bones, organs) as well and physiology (how all those parts work and why). we also covered medications (what types, latin pronouns, etc) and we also covered alternative health care options. We had courses on aroma therapy, minor surgeries, long terms effects on psychology and physiology of injuries, we covered the different ways to approach something like head aches. I could go on and on.

At the end of the schooling, we are given an injury at client (played by one of our instructors) that we had to successfully intake, examine, and provide proper care for. of the list of possible conditions we had to deal with, it was one of the 200 or so that we have to have memorized for such things. My situations was a 4th year university soccer player with a pretty serious ankle sprain, and had a competitive match coming up in two weeks. (level 2 sprain on the anteriolateral region of the Right ankle "was the offical writtten report" In the end of it, I had to calm down trigger points, reduce swelling and inflammation, promote lymphatic drainage, and help reset the ligament fibers into the right direction (kind of similar to rolling uncooked spaghetti noodles until they are all straight). I had to teach the client their homecare of RICE-ing and gentle stretches to encourage full recovery, but were also had to treat it as a high level sports injury. SO we had to account for the fact that the client was an athlete training 5 days a week and their associated strength levels.

I think its starting to get messy from there, But Hopefully that is a decent introduction to where I come from health wise! =)

Keep an eye out for my next article! It will either be an adventure through my town, or a guide to keeping headaches away through computer work/everyday habits. let me know in this comments if you have any questions about health or which of those articles you would rather read!

Sponsors of Thremos
empty
empty
empty

20
$ 6.60
$ 6.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @AA-Admiral
$ 0.01 from @Snezana28
+ 2
Avatar for Thremos
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Oh, that was a very wonderful article by you..........keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha thanks! Will do =) feel free to subscribe if you like to see when i post thing primarily about the health field =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Thremos thanks for sharing part of your life story, ๐Ÿ˜€. (i originally thought your username read out THER-MOS lol )

so many things jumped out at me, so i got interested (after getting at your profile from a comment somewhere lol) ๐Ÿ˜….

what caught my attention in this article was psychology and physical treatment or massage. ๐Ÿ’ก๐Ÿ’ช anyway, it's because my younger brother is quite interested in psychology.

the broad topics of psychology that he learns on youtubeโ–ถ๏ธ would mostly be practical uses, ranging from lifehacks, habits, procrastination, magic tricks, scamming?, and toxic feminism in the USA. lol๐Ÿ˜… and others that i can't recall haha, the common ground is, psychology of course๐Ÿ‘.

also with regards to massage my brother is also our go-to massage guy in the family. I'd say that i also recognize its health benefits as a medical treatment, (although i'd also say that I'm mildly scared of chiropractors as I've seen news articles of the rare death or two)๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜….

https://read.cash/@Thremos/why-i-qualify-talk-about-the-body-and-its-generalized-health-1cd808b3#comment-2a20e1e3 also on your comment here i see that your 27, as for me I'm gonna be 26 early next year. ๐ŸŽ‚.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha well thanks for the attention! =) I am in fact all of those things =) I actually worked at a chiropractors office as a technical assistant (I was in charge of thermographic scans as well as SEMG's, functional gait analysis, and posture analysis and General intake. Lol so you can imagine that my background in massage helped me be the prime choice on that one .and I can personally say I understood chiropractic in terms of health benefits, But i was scared silly of going the first time =P I strongly believe chiropractic has a place in the holistic nature of wellbeing, but the triad of massage, chiropractic, and some sort of strengthening for rebalancing purposes are my go to suggestions for pure physiology treatments =).

and yeah, everyone calls me thermos =P just something i live with for my choices XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

woah, cool. ๐Ÿ˜€well to be honest I won't understand all the medical terms you said, but all the same I get the gist. ๐Ÿ‘. oh and also i believe that chiropractic related deaths are all health/chance risks you could get with any other doctor/hospital. maybe it's just your time, or medical malpractice.

oh also i think one of the things my younger brother was watching on youtube was that, as a man, it's healthy to have larger muscles, and not stay as your average skinny joe.

๐Ÿ˜…because muscles can/will boost proper posture including mildly slouched back, and others i don't recall. ๐Ÿ˜†.

everyone? thermos? where? here at read.cash? oh and it also looks like you still use a lot of text based smileys.

this emoji๐Ÿ˜† is what XD represents, and it reminds me a few years back when chatting online, I used to tack on XD on EVERY. SINGLE. SENTENCE. that i typed on a phone or keyboard haha, good 'ol days, now not so much. but XD was my favorite lol XD.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see that psychology is mentioned in the text, for me psychology along with mathematics is one of the most important sciences today.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

absolutely =) we need to be able to identify what kind of person we are interacting with so we know how to word or temper our approach to make sure that the person does feel heard and can relax for themselves. as much as massage is physical, it can hugely benefit from the psychological approach to relax from within =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You story is interesting so for sure your next articles will be interesting as well.. But are you working now or still studying?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I currently Have stopped working in the physical world to focus on writing online to help get my lessons that i usually explain one client at a time, but this way they are available to poeple forever =) Thanks for asking!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh... But that is a good job though...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha yeah well... I ran my own business for a year or so, but as much as I love helping people with massage, I felt the need to try andf tell these ideas too as many people as I can, like through the internet!

So I still massage on the side for friends or people who know me through word fo mouth that need help, but it isnt my only focus anymore =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At least you can help others.. By any chance, do you have your own website?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

if you are interested in anything jane, feel free to let me know, and we can always set up a private conversation =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

well I still own the domain, but I never finished setting it up. I have an old facebook page and Instagram somewhere in the world! they just havnet been updated for about two or three years so I generally dont promote them. I have my personal instagram that is more up to date =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always like to meet new virtual friends... And i guess you will be a good help in giving advices ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah! maybe one day ill link my profile here. Right now im still self concious of linking my personal stuff here becasue im so new... but maybe one day in the future!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you have telegram, you can link it here..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have no idea what telegram is =S some things im used to like crypto, other things im very behind the times on XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously? How old are you if you don't mind ๐Ÿ˜ it is like a WhatsApp... ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha Im 27 =P ooooh.. so ive used whatsapp once when my friend was sending me photos from my wedding in another country XD other tna that... i basically text and email =S so this telegram you say....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, I see ๐Ÿ˜… anyway, I only knew bout telegram because of these crypto sites..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh cool! okay thanks for the tip! ill have to look it up! do you have yours up here? =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My telegram? I think so.haha.. Didn't check my profile for long

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha fair enough. well regarldesss thank you for being a donator! I haven;t been here long, but i have read a few of the basic things! <3 Appreciate you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh my twitter is there.. Haha.. I like tipping good articles here..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thats awesome! =3 lol now all i have to do is win your approval sometime ;D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So great story. We are waiting for your next story as well like this beautiful story. Keep writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

will do marielle! thank you for the support! I would love if you subscriubed to me so you can see when my other articles to come out!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah! I will.. You are most welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We look forward to the next article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks! let me know if there is anything you want to hear about particularly! there is so much to talk about that it helps to have someone ask questions I can answer =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago