Too good to be true

16 32
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Has anyone told you that you are too good for them? Or having someone in your life that you feel too good for you? In life there are circumstances that we encounter people who are too good for us, and there are also times that we are still not enough even we are giving our best for them.

I was in my first year college when I meet Kevin. He is a college student too, but from different school and different course. I was an education student and he is a criminology. We meet because of a common friend. Sheila is a close friend of mine that introduced me to Kevin through phone call. Sheila teased me because Kevin likes to asked my number. I give her my permission and he texted me immediately.

We get to know each other. And we became close. He became my confidant and I became his favorite to tease. Whenever I get mad, he always give me some sweet corny jokes to made me laugh, and he is successful every single time. I became her special person, that's what he told me, when I greeted him in his birthday at exactly 12 MN. He had no idea that I could remember his birthday and would surprise him, by calling and greeting him. He told me no one had ever done that to him, even exes and family members.

From there on we became more than friends. No! Not what you have in mind. We are not in a relationship but I guess that's where we going. We had constant communication. From morning greetings to late night talks. I have known few things about him. He is supporting himself in his study. He work in his spare time in a fast food chain. He is in his third year in his criminology course. He stopped his study 2 years ago and work for the family. He got addicted to drugs when he was 18 years old. He got in rehabilitation and was able to get out from addiction and started new life and move on trying to forget the past. He meet different girls. If I am not wrong he had a total of sixteen woman in her life. After knowing all those things, he asked me if I would continue to befriend him. Of course I said yes, it was all in the past and he is trying to move on and change. Then he asked me, what if he will court me would I accept him? I was silent that moment and couldn't answer. I don't know what to say. I have lost my words. Then he break the silence with a loud laugh, and told me he's kidding. I still didn't responded and chose to end the conversation. I texted him I will sleep, but I know I couldn't sleep that night. I just made an excuse. I know I am not that naive and dumb to not know what our silent wishes. Actions speak louder than words, as they all say. And I am not hypocrite to deny that I am not into him.

Few months later, we decided to finally met in person. I was happy and excited of his announcement and he asked me if I am vacant on Friday afternoon. I remember how I lied to him that I am, but the truth was I cut my class. That's how eager I am to finally met him. We met in the beach near in our boarding house. He traveled distance just to met me and it added up my happiness. I feel so special. He was seating under the tree near the shore, I know it's him because I asked him the color of his shirt before going there. Looking in his back, I could tell he is a good lucking guy. He is so neat with his white polo shirt and black pants. He has a white shirt that add his white complexion. I was hesitant at first if I will approach him. I was as cold as ice and shivering from nervousness. You can't blame me. It is my first time meeting someone, alone . I don't know him fully, plus I was scared if someone saw me out when infact I had a class supposedly. My phone rang, and I got surprised. He called me, as I answer the phone I looked at him he was now facing me, looking at me, waiting if I would answer my phone to confirmed it was really me he is waiting. I answered the phone and composed myself. I need to hide all the mixed emotions I have felt. I walked towards him and giving my smile in response to his. We talked a lot that time and became comfortable with each other. Before the sun set, and bid his goodbye. He open up again the question he asked in the phone. Afraid of losing the chance to tell him the truth and also losing him, I told him my honest response. So as him to me. And We separate ways that evening with memorable moments.

We had our smooth relationship for few months. Sweet, delicate,loving, understanding, full of hope and promises. Until one day, I wake up with a fact that he left me. Without any words, without knowing the reason why. He just left me hanging. He left me with so many questions in my mind, asking "what happened?" "What is wrong?" " What did I do?" He never contacted me. I never seen him even his shadow. He never even say a word. Months passed and I survived. I continue life without him. Life is like that, it will still continue even with the storm. First year ended with painful memories. I came home with broken heart. It was 2 months when Kevin left with no trace. And it was on that same month he contacted again. I was so furious, I was in pain, what more he would expect? Wow, just wow. After I had struggling myself to move on and finally did it, he will come again? He had no shame.

He asked me to listen, at least if I could no longer forgive him. He told the most painful word to me "You are too good for me and I don't deserve it". He told me he is not meant for me because he has dark past. And that he might just hurt me. Yes, he hurt me because he left me like a rug and come back whenever he wanted. I told him that he had no right to tell me who is good for me and not. I chose him that meant he is good for me too. I accepted him for who he is and loved him despite all his dark past, and what did he done in return? He broke my trust and wasted it. Broke my heart and left me hanging. Now that I move on he have nothing to return. I ended the conversation without forgiving him.

I believed it was just an excused. I know he found a new girl and that he just dumped me because of that. I was not that naive. Maybe I was for trusting him and loving him but I was a totally different person than the one he left. I already move on. Life is like that, you need to raise after you fall and sometimes your best is not enough to make people stay.

Lead Image from unsplash


Thank you so much for reading. I appreciate it.

Thank you also for the people who upvoted my previous article @gertu13 @Jeaneth @Musso @meitanteikudo

And to my sponsors @Panky and @Eunoia thank you for your upvotes and constant support.

I am so grateful to you all.

I love you. 🥰😘

9
$ 2.81
$ 2.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

He already had 16 girls previously than means you are 17th. This is a red flag. I think in a sense you are lucky that he has moved out from your life on his own. If you had continued this relationship, in future who knows you'd have to suffer more. I think it's a blessing from God.

And this remained as a lesson to you. Next time before fully trusting any unknown person, especially when you are going to be in a relationship, first of all try to read his vital signs. Don't make the same mistakes which you've done previously.

Again I'm saying, in a sense you are lucky that Kevin has left you on his own.I think you've got my point.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I totally get your point. Way back I don't even think about those things being innocent and naive, dumb and in love red flags wasn't recognized. I just know that I love him, accepted him and trusted him. Poor me 😂 not lucky with love. But truly it is a blessing in disguise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Too good to be true is a scam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would agree more, it is an excuse used by coward people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nang ghost diay si Kevin. Ayay 🙄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nangalag Jud mo lang 😅😅 lamia Gani papangajean

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"You're too good for me. You deserve better." True, it sounds like an excuse kasi kung talagang gugustuhin nya pwede naman nyang gawing better ang sarili niya diba?? You might think that, but there are also times na this is real and not just an excuse.

You know guys, we're egotistical creatures. Sometimes through a relationship pwede marealize ng guy na medyo nassacrifice ung ego nya sa mga kagustuhan or mga gngwa or sinasabi ni girl and it will make him feel na inferior kind of guy sya kasi hindi niya mabigay lahat nung gusto or tingin nya nararapat sayo. And then ayun...ganun maiisip nya na hindi siya ang para sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't really know, I don't know what to believe that moment. Kung Totoo Yun o Hindi siya Lang din nakakaalam non pero that moment I think it's an excuse. He can tell me Naman if what he feels, at Kasi he chose to leave me then Hindi niya ako Mahal.. at Tama ka pedi Naman siya Ang Nagbago diba? Pero Hindi so he don't deserve me din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm hmm. well we will never know I guess. Two sides of the stories, at kung walang malinaw na ending, wala ding matinong understanding. eheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yeah tama

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun tlga boysn kpg mkahanao ng new, sadabihin na too good for them. Haroy . excuses naman tlga. Better prank nlng kesa mag imbento ng excuses

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama not all but base on experience, luma na Ang ganung excuses ehh.. oks Lang madam naka move on Naman din advantage nga Hindi naku basta2 naloloko 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So it's your story. But what if he's really telling the truth that he saw you as a different person na paramg langit ka lupa sya? How sure are you na may iba sya naging babae? Chorrr haha. Asan na sya ngayon?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe yes, maybe no. I was too blind of the pain that time. I couldn't help myself sometimes to wonder the what if's side Wow, nahiya Naman ako sa langit cguro he mean that time I'm too innocent. Until now Wala pero he called me one time to asked to become godmother of his kid, his not married but he impregnant a girl and supported the kid. He even told me that I am still the one he love and he can't stay together with the kid's mother. So Yun pala rason na he left me. Nasa maynila siya ngayun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung mahal ka pa pala nya bat kaya sya nambuntis 🙄. Buti pala dika nagpadala sa mga salita nya noon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti nga talaga Hays blessing in disguise

$ 0.00
2 years ago