Food for the soul: He's coming, no one knows when

4 23
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Happy Sunday everyone and happy weekend. How's your weekend? Days gone fast and tomorrow is Monday again. I wasn't able to fully enjoy my weekend since I was so tired and I wasn't able to talk much to my love ones. And earlier I left home early to go back here in my work place. Inspite of a hectic schedule and tired body I never forget to go to church and attend the holy mass. It is a must for me because I would feel incomplete without it. I hope you too because basically we can't live without him. Thus, we shall give our everything to Him.

Today another beautiful message from God we should read and ponder for us to have strength spiritually that reflects towards our physical self as well.

Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my sponsors who extend their love and generosity to me. I always appreciate you all. Please be safe and be well. Thank you always. God bless you.

Holy Gospel

Mark 13:24-32

'But in those days, after that time of distress, the sun will be darkened, the moon will not give its light, the stars will come falling out of the sky and the powers in the heavens will be shaken. And then they will see the Son of man coming in the clouds with great power and glory. And then he will send the angels to gather his elect from the four winds, from the ends of the world to the ends of the sky. 'Take the fig tree as a parable: as soon as its twigs grow supple and its leaves come out, you know that summer is near. So with you when you see these things happening: know that he is near, right at the gates. In truth I tell you, before this generation has passed away all these things will have taken place. Sky and earth will pass away, but my words will not pass away. 'But as for that day or hour, nobody knows it, neither the angels in heaven, nor the Son; no one but the Father.

Reflection

Today's gospel talks about the coming of the Almighty Father in heaven to take those he had chosen to be with him in heaven. But no one knows when is that time. Even his son Jesus Christ don't know when. Just Him alone. By that time of so much darkness a light from opening of heaven comes down the Almighty Father with his angels. To gather all the chosen people of God.

We are reminded of this gospel today that we should prepare ourselves as early as now because we don't know when the Lord God would be coming. Thus it took me to a question of am I ready? What I should do in getting ready? When I could say that I am all ready to face the Lord our God?

Well, I don't know what would be the answer but while pondering the questions I found few answers to it.

Am I ready?

I would say definitely not. Yes, I already do his will and laws. To receive the sacraments. I am baptized. I do receive the holy Eucharist. And the other sacraments. But to be honest I am not ready at all. I am still stuck in this wordly things and matter. I am not ready to face him knowing that I am not yet done with the mission he had given to me. Not even a single thing yet. With that fact alone it is very shameful to face him. I have many sins and lapses. Habits that I couldn't get rid of. Regrets and undesirable disposition of the heart. I should fix those things for me to get ready. My relationship with the Lord is dry. Not that dry because I attend Sunday gatherings especially the holy mass but personal relationship per say? It's really dry. I don't have Bible time nor personal prayer time. I always plan to have but I never did. With that alone. I fail. With that alone I could say I am really not ready yet.

What I should do to get ready?

  • Repent

I should repent all my sinfulness. Accept that I commit sins and ask for forgiveness to the Lord our God.

  • Never committing the same mistakes

After repenting, it's very important for me to not repeat the same mistakes over and over again. Which I always fail to do that is why I never become ready. But I should cut the cycle because we never knew when will be the time the Lord will come. For me to get ready is to repent and never do the same mistake.

  • Have personal relationship with the Lord

I always pray especially when times gets rough but what I should do to become ready is to have personal relationship with Him. It's the thing that I missed which is very important and crucial. To get ready is to have personal relationship with the Lord. How? Having connection. Reading the bible everyday and doing what God want us to do. To live righteously. According to His will and not ours.

  • To live everyday according to his will

His will is very different from ours therefore we should follow his. Because his will never lead us into darkness and wrong path. I tend to decide to myself without asking God's divine Providence and guidance as to the right things to do. To be ready means to live everyday according to his will because his will leads us to goodness and this goodness will lead us to heaven.

When is the time that I am ready?

When I am no longer attach in this wordly things. When wordly matters would not worry me anymore. When I could have personal and intimate relationship and connected with him. When I could leave from the repetitive sins and the bad habits. When I no longer walk with my will but His will. When I done all those things I could say I am ready.

Getting ready for his coming is very important for us to be with him in his side. Doing the things that would made us close to him like repentance and asking forgiveness. As well as not doing the same mistakes all over again. Detaching ourselves to this world and thinking everything here is just all temporary. When we live according to God's will, we will be ready to face him.

I have so much things to do to get ready. And I believe if I would not start now I would forever regret it. Thus, I will do my best to get ready as early as now because I wanted to be with him in heaven when time comes he will descend from heaven and gather his chosen ones.

How about you? Are you ready for the coming of the lord?

Happy Sunday and God bless you all.

Lead image from unsplash

5
$ 4.47
$ 4.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @Marinov
+ 1
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

He will be coming like a thief in the night when no one knows

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. We never know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also not ready mem samot na ron naa nakoy junakis. I don't know when will I be ready. Ma miss pa naho ang mga earthly things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lageh ma'am no. Naa najud Kay kawilihan .. ako Gani mawili man nga wapay baby kaw pa kaha .Hays kalibutan andam2 ra gihapon ta ma'am Kay wata kasabot sa panahon. Kumusta diay tuod mo sa imu baby? 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago