Election volunteer experience

9 23
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
1 year ago

May 10, 2022

It's my first time to serve on an election day and the first was a charge to experience. Upon learning everything I was really asking myself if I would commit myself the next time around.

Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty

Hi to my dear sponsors. How are you? I am sorry I wasn't so active this past days and even haven't had time to write because I am actually busy. I hope you would all understand. Keep safe and God bless.

Being a volunteer on election day wasn't easy and no joke. It was so tiring and requires a lot of patience cause you will be dealing with different irate people, who wanted to comes first in line. It was so challenging especially to those teachers who stand the whole day not barely eaten. Kudos to all teachers. I salute you all for your sacrifices, dedication and hardwork. I already share to you here that I attended a seminar for a parish pastoral council for responsible voting (PPRCV) for volunteers. And so I applied my learnings to the presinct I was assigned.

Before we go to our assigned place we vote as to where is our presinct for voting. And since we are assigned to different place we travel going to our presinct to vote. It took us few minutes late before we arrived to our assigned place. We consumed quite some time to cast our vote because the machine always jammed. Yet I am grateful that my vote has been casted so us my companion which is also a PPRCV volunteer.

We arrived at exactly 7:15 and immediately do our task. Since there only two of us, we need to have one presinct each because there were two presinct for voting. Since we arrive late there are already few individuals waiting and the voting places has been opened. We assist people get there number as per requirement. I am glad that there was also youth who would assist us.

My task requires standing thus my feet hurts though I had some time that I could sit, most of the time I am walking and standing. My job was to give people there presinct number and assist the members inside on what they need since watchers we're not allowed to move around anywhere they want at the presinct. I was allowed since I am a non-partisan and volunteer from the church. I also assisted people in the waiting area and would visit the voting place and observe inside. Thankfully it was all peaceful and the people were obedient.

We officially closed the voting at exactly 7:00 in the evening and printed our election returns, local and national. Since we need multiple copies, we need long process of waiting. We did not transmitted the votes because the signal is weak since it's raining hard. Whole day the weather wasn't good. So, we proceed signing the results and putting it in the envelop. Sealing them and distributing. We printed the audit receipts and gash it takes forever. It's almost 12:00 in the midnight when we are done with all the the process and we received the election returns that was intended for the church. Yet, we couldn't leave immediately because of the rain. When the rain slpws down a bit, we tried our best to report to the church in the town few miles away because we are so sleepy.

We arrived at the church almost 1:00 in the morning. We were so tired, wet and cold because of the rain. Still we manage to take selfie and smile amidst the tiring job and haggard look because we are happy of what we do. We are happy serving the Lord. We had coffee and we ate as well. Waiting for the storm to surpass. After an hour, we finally gone home. Praise God.

Conclusion

Overall the journey and the experience was great even though it was so tiring. Maybe if God will call me the next time around, I would still choose to serve as volunteer in the church. But if not, still I am much willing to do beyond being volunteer. Since teachers will be the one serving every election I would probably still be present but not as volunteer anymore.

I am glad I had the experience to witness how the election would go beyond being a voters perspective. It give me the total understanding to all the people behind the process and I admire them. They are like soldiers sent to battle that day and I could say they were all prepared. They serve with patience and happy heart (in my presinct per say base in my experience hehe). I hope we all see their efforts and service. Though maybe they are paid to do the job but the job itself was so tiring and I bit no one would be in the place if they don't love doing the job.

How about you? How's your election experience?

That would be all friends. Thank you so much for reading. God bless.

5
$ 10.06
$ 10.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
1 year ago

Comments

Great ending friend. Be a good citizen that abides the law. Me too, I'm doing my part as law abiding citizen. I just voted with those adorable candidates.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great, I am glad to hear that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well done maamsh. Thanks for your meaningful contribution. God bless you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks mamsh god bless you too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kahit pagod pero feeling worth it Naman diba? Dahil sa experience narin kahit paoanu eh naeenjoy niyo din .Naranasan ko din Yan noon kaya kahit pagod matatawa kana lang...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe oo nga ehh Lalo na dami kalokohan at kwentohan nawawala nalng Ang pagod.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salute talaga ako sa mga teacher sis kasi dito din sa amin, ramdam mo yung pagod nila.. kahit ako mismo pagod dahil sa haba ng pila. pero mas nakakapagod ang dinanas nila nung election..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok nga ehh gusto ko man palitan Sana kaso bawal Wala din Silang ibang member na Pedi pumalit paminsan Minsan.. still grateful Kasi natapos Ng peaceful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oo nga sis bawal talaga yun..

$ 0.00
1 year ago