Veg Biryani - Because you asked .....Vegetarian Version!!

19 41
Avatar for Theblackdoll
2 years ago

Hello Good folks, how are you all doing lovelies?? I just came back from taking my fist vaccine and it's been 2 hours, I thankfully, do not have any issues other than a slight pain in the place I took the vaccine, but that's normal right?, Also, notice how I'm not writing with Bold font?? yeah, I was asked by min 3 users "why bold, why bold bro, you stupid why bold....." (not exactly like that, but I took i it personally in that way) 🤣🤣🤣 and I finally decided not to get killed by the users and here we are, I hope you are happy now @TengoLoTodo ..🤣🤣🤣

Coming to the recipe:

Yesterday, I posted this pic in both Read and Noise and so many users have enjoyed looking at it and even asked the recipe, I finally decided to write about it. Tagging @Greatwolfman and @Peter-Molnar for showing extra interest in it....

Before I do, mind you, I'm a a vegetarian and what I made is a vegetarian version, but if you want to make it with meat, I can't guide in that 🤣🤣🤣 for me who have never seen, smelled or even touched meat in my entire life, I have zero knowledge about it... but you are gonna cook it in a cooker with two whistles, so may be you can add your meat (lightly shredded) somewhere in the middle.... Now, let's see the Ingredients (Serving is for 3, so take your ingredients accordingly)

  • 2 clove, 2 biryani leaf, 2 cinnamon bark, 2 Cardamom, 1 star Anise flower, One spoonful of Saunf (Fennel) seeds.. if anyone doesn't know star anise, it looks like this

  • Two big size onions and cut it vertically (we use 3/4th of it in making biryani, the rest in Yogurt

  • Two Medium sized tomatoes and cut in same vertical way

  • Two green chilli, 4 garlic peeled, a little ginger (make this a paste using mixer and keep it ready)

  • Garam Masala - 1 Tablespoon

  • red Chilli powder - Half table spoon (you might skip it if you don't like it extra spicy)

  • Turmeric powder - a Pinch

  • Salt - accordingly (taste the water after adding and mixing salt, it should be a tad bit extra and your Biryani would be perfect)

  • Mint leaves and Cilantro leaves - a Handful

  • Rice 180 to 200 Grams of Bastmati rice.... refer Google for pics :)

  • Water - for one cup rice, you need to take 1 1/2 (one and half) cup of water... so imagine the rice in a 150 ml glass, you will have 1 1/4th (one and one fourth) glass rice and you need to add 2 glasses of water

    Onion must be cut like this
    This is Star Anise....

Now let's go to the recipe:

  • Before 30 mins you even start the recipe, take a big bowl, put the rice in it, wash it twice and soak in water for half an hour... 30 mins is enough for Basmati rice to soak..

  • Now put a cooker on the stove, add 2 spoons of ghee (clarified butter) and 2 spoons of oil, (any oil).. if you do not have ghee, just go with oil, once the oil is hot, add Biryani leaf, cardamom, fennel seeds, star anise and cinnamon as shown below... fry for 30 seconds

Now add onions, and add a little pinch of salt and then fry until it turns pinkish brown colour

Now add the paste you made of grinding green chili, ginger and garlic, fry until their raw smell is vanished, This might take from 30 seconds to a minute

Now add the turmeric powder, red chili powder, Garam masala powder in the same and mix well for 30 seconds

Then add tomatoes and mix well until tomatoes become smushy in texture... it should look like this

Now add 7 - 8 spoons of thick curd (unflavored original yougurt) and mix all together... it all would look like this

Now add the soaked Basmati rice and mix all together, at this stage, make sure you do not apply pressure while mixing, for your rice not to be broken into small.. be gentle with it :)

Now add water, I gave the measurements above, for 1 1/4th cup rice, add 2 cups of water.. and Now add a handful of washed and cut cilantro leaves (Coriander leaves) and Mint leaves and mix them all again together

This is the final step you put the salt for the recipe, for this, add salt little to little to know how much to add if you are a newbie... maybe half a tablespoon first... taste the water a bit, if the water is a tad bit salty (not too much), you are good to go...

Now final step, close the lid of the cooker and put it on Medium for 1 whistle or if you choose high level, then go for 2 whistles...

Leave the cooker on stove for good 30 mins after you switch it off and then open to a fantastic Biryani that people across your street will smell and ask you what you made haha... Gently mix the rice together and serve it with Raita

Raita is nothing but, take a bowl curd, put remaining onions in it, finely chopped green chili, add cilantro a few, a little salt and mix well... this is the perfect dish for Biryani, this helps to reduce any level of spicyness to minimal so that you don't burn your tongues or stomach haha...

Hope you all enjoyed reading the recipe and I'm sure you are going to make bomb a$$ Biryanis at your house if you ever decided to try this.... enjoy eating folks, we only got 100 years... eat as much as you can :)

Thank you so much for my below mentioned sponsors, I'm so grateful for people like you, I could write more from all the love, support and encouragement...

Sponsors of Theblackdoll
empty
empty
empty

Pics credit: some own and some from Google

Yours Bloggingly :)

@Theblackdoll - Please follow this to read more of my posts. I appreciate you all

13
$ 3.83
$ 3.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.03 from @sjbuendia
+ 6
Sponsors of Theblackdoll
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Theblackdoll
2 years ago

Comments

I finally had the time to read this recipe! Need to ask to guy at my fav ethnic shop if he has some of these ingredients... And then I'll cook it!!! Hi sweetie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello my sweetheart, I cannot wait for you to try this :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heyy! I too am a Vegetarian :)! Good to see a fellow Vegetarian :) The Biryani looks good :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not really into veggies but I think it is so delicious. Anyways, I am sure that you are so healthy because of your diet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I bet it taste deliciously good! I guess you're a good cook too 😊 Just a wandering newbie here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this is making me hungry now... thanks for sharing the recipe dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Veg biryani.. I nver try to that one at singapore. But its looks yummy but indians store really sell it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You must try it, Biryani is in top 10 foods that you need to try before you go 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen lots of videos of that food in facebook where mostly indian vendors selling those. I've been curious about that food tho, thanks to you I've learn something new about that food :>

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm im craving for it now.. It looked so delicious.. Thanks dor sharing your recipe now i have an idea how biryani is cooked👍👍👍🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's awesome, I'm so glad it helped you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This absolutely looks delicious. I like the fact, that you actually went ahead and cooked it from scratch and added the detailed recipe with images. Thank you for it. I must try it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, I borrowed some pics from a friend 🤣... thanks to her too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know what is this not I knew I couldn't make it but it looks so tasty. Maybe I'll asked my mother to follow your instructions HHahaha. I wanna try it tooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope your Mom makes it bcoz Moms can figure out anything 🤣🤣 even FBI can't do it haha... good luck

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mother found where did my father hides his money hahaha. I knew my mom has a k9 nose. Indeed they can do all things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol that was hilarious 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks yummy. My kuya planned to make this one, he missed biryani since he worked at Saudi for 4 years. So glad you included the recipes and on how to prepare it! I love your veggie recipe version ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome and thank you too, I hope you enjoy making it, it is super easy with simple ingrediants

$ 0.00
2 years ago