Oh My Car, What Happened

21 71
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Car, Maintenance, Tricks, Advice, Battery, ...

I had to go to a place urgent two days ago. I got ready and styled my hair well-dressed just like I am about to go on a date but that wasn't the reason. I arrived at the place where our car was parked. We don't have any place nearby our house to park our car so we park it half a km away from my house. I went there. Unlocked it. And tried starting it. It gave me a mean sound just like when a girl makes sound when you ignore her.

I tried three times. Again she made sounds like that and after that, it went completely mute. Hmm, girls rarely get mute even though when they are angry at you, lol. So I tried to check the fault as I was in a hurry and very panicked as it was important for me to go somewhere.

I found out that it was the battery's fault, the battery was down as I didn't give it any attention for a week. It was just a week dear. I called some of my friends and we tried to start it by pushing yeah, it was fun. It started and I immediately took it into the local garage where the garage guy inspected the car and told us that the battery's life is over. It won't run much and it's best to change it as soon as you can.

I had to go somewhere and I didn't have any time. So I told him that I will come a few days later, as I am in a hurry. In the whole 10km journey, I never switched off the car, lol. Or else we would have to start it again by pushing. Haha, that would have been embarrassing and hilarious. Not to mention the disturbance other people have experienced if it was stopped in the middle of the road.

I had to ask one of my friends to drop me at my important and secret location where I was supposed to go that day.

The next day, I came back to take it to the garage, and this time. I was just seeing the fuel injection sign in the vehicle. The vehicle was not even making any sound. We tried to start it by pushing but no. It was like a dead toy. I checked the battery using a wire and touched two of the terminals. There was no current, which means the battery died, haha R.I.P. I pulled a risky stunt there don't do that, the current is not much but enough to give you a pain for few seconds.

The same day I ordered a battery from a battery manufacturer. He came delivered and fitted it and took my old battery and gave me a small discount which the garage guy wasn't giving me. And this battery is cool and an upgraded version of the previous one, as it indicates the battery health also.

You must be thinking what's the point of this story. Well, I want to give you a few points if you have a car or bike to avoid your battery dying early and to spot when you need a battery replacement for your dear vehicles.

See there's rust and carbon in this terminal.
  • First thing is to make sure you never let rust or carbon make their home in your battery terminals. It was due to this that my battery died earlier. It's a blue-green powder-like thing jammed in the battery terminals.

  • Try to start your vehicle daily, if possible just give it a 100-200m ride. This not only avoids carbon jamming but also stops any other type of fault inside your vehicle from being idle. As you have noticed that when you don't use vehicles they automatically become faulty.

  • I am not clear about this but if you have a daily or one-day gap running car then your battery may run up to 4 years easily and if it stays idle most of the time it can last up to 2-3 years. That's what he said, haha. My car battery survived for 3.5 months. Even though we had locked for two years in 2020-2021 where most of the time nobody was allowed to go out of their house.

  • In many cases if the battery is down and the vehicle was idle just start through pushing method it's not hard. Just tell someone to push the bike or car for a small distance from behind obviously not in the backward direction, hehe. Make sure the key and switch is on, take clutch and put the bike or car on your second gear and tell your friends to push them and after a certain distance when you attain some speed slowly leave the clutch, there the vehicle starts. Stop the vehicle, put it in neutral then accelerate it a bit let the battery charge. And it will now be easily starting through self if the battery is at no fault. So don't get fooled as many times some garage guy fools you by changing your battery when the issue was not about battery. It was just because your vehicle was idle for a long time. And if the battery is dead use jumper cables. This method is a bit hard and it requires one more vehicle. Connect the one end of jumper cables with the charged battery or other vehicle and the other end to your battery terminals. And try to start it. It will start let your battery charge. If the battery loses power in a single day of idleness then it's time to change the battery. There are lot of proper YT tutorial videos for this.

Sponsor Of This Article:-

Image by Unity, Follow NoiseOdyseeLinkedIn, and an article for more info.

Final Thoughts

This experience taught me a lot of things. Earlier, I didn't give much care to the car as I thought it was standing idle peacefully, nothing will happen to it. But I was wrong when it's idler it's more vulnerable to technical faults. So from now on, I give my time to my girl, daily lol. Missing her mean noises though.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telegram

19
$ 4.26
$ 2.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @esmeesmith
+ 14
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Car, Maintenance, Tricks, Advice, Battery, ...

Comments

Hahah ignoring kinda sound of girls hilarious. I remember once I started the car but the response was same sound, and the issue was same although the battery wasn't fully dead but it was giving us the warning of renewal. Well after three year of lifetime we changed the battery. Isn't it worked more than my expectation? Because someone told me that usually it works for 6 months and after six months change is necessary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this. Not I know more reasons why the car battery runs down so fast. My dad do experience the same problem. Maybe I can enlighten him more on this

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Funny enough, I've never checked the battery terminal before for dusts. I have to be more intentional to check it. I think taking it out daily made it easier which covers the 200m rule.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True if you are a daily user, the carbon or dust won't even get time to be birth, haha due to the current.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's so true. I am close to a daily user, no doubt about that. Cool... I guess that's why I hardly notice it. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This reminds me of the cartoon show 'Kick Butowski' where his dad showed him his greatest true love and surprisingly it's a CAR! The wife is really mad so she bought a car by herself and treated it like the most special thing in her life.

I think you will relate from that episode lol. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That mini savage boi, I remember him. He was one of my coolest characters when I was kid, hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a lot tips for someone who have cars. To someone like me who doesn't have it, I'm just happily reading it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's kind of good in another way, no extra maintenance cost to be spent.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You must give adequate care to your car from now on to avoid further disappointment, 🤣😂🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, or else I would have to pay unnecessarily extra amount for the same service.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, I can' relate. Dont have a car eh😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's kind of good. The maintenance eats like hungry whale.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First we start our vehicle we should check it properly in shape and structure. Moreover you should not park it half kilometers away from house brother. Secondly we need to change battery yearly because they get jammed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the only solution I have. The place where I live have a congested road, only bikes can pass through it. So I have to park it so far away.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will never encounter such type of situation because I don't have a personal car to drive lol I am dependent on my dad's car lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cool, still this may come in handy in such situations.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You mean you give her time once in a while just like your car? Both must need care. If cars need maintenance, much more is the gf or wife 😂.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah, they need so much care. What about me. They should see that I also need care, hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't tried pushing my car, lol. there was a time I forgot to switch off the light and the won't start the following day. Good thing we have a neighbor who used to work as a mechanic. He said the battery was drained. So we had to bring the batter to the shop to be recharged.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aha, yeah I have faced this situation of leaving lights switch on two times. Pushing worked as the battery was not dead. It works if the battery is not faulty.

$ 0.00
1 year ago