My Potato Laptop Is Still Working

19 67
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Tech gadgets used to last 5-10 years earlier but now with the advancement, the life of gadgets is halved now. Some even survive for 2-3 years only, lol, especially the smartphones which we use but that's not our topic today. Today I will be talking about my Potato Lappy which is slow but far better than what I thought and saw others getting laptops at the same price.

Even though it's a potato it's not fat, lol.

I got it for study purposes but that wasn't my intention, haha. I purchased it in 2018 in October month in the Diwali festival sale for 350$ with specifications like Intel i3 7th Gen processor, 8GB RAM, and 1TB HDD. And other basic features which every laptop has. The only thing which it lacked for me according to that time was the backlight keyboard. But I choose this for the RAM as during that time most of the laptops with 8GB variants were costing more than 420$ and I wasn't earning anything at that time also didn't want to put extra pressure on my parents and choose this Laptop HP Notebook - 15q-bu038tu. It has optical disk drive support. It had no graphics card just integrated Intel Graphics. Just what do you expect equipping an i3 laptop with Graphics Card is like equipping a Maruti Suzuki Alto car with Turbo Charged Engine.

My experience

I have used other laptops with an i5 processor and ram of more than 8GB along with a laptop with an i3 processor and 4GB ram and trust me compared to the i3 4GB RAM laptops my experience is 10 times better than those.

For normal multitasking, it works well. While the 4GB one takes years to open if you have installed lots of apps in your Lappy. I tried playing some emulator games on it, like of Sony PlayStation Portable, and Nintendo 3DS and it ran some of the games flawlessly which I never expected from such a weak device. While in 4GB they lagged and hung a lot. I even saw one of my friends purchase a touchscreen laptop with a 4GB RAM variant with the same processor as me and his lappy was slow as a snail, I told him a lot to go for the 8GB variant but he wanted the touchscreen experience which he got at the cost of lag and hang.

The warranty is already expired and so far I haven't damaged my device, no software or hardware issues. I take great care of my gadgets. I have only changed the battery once in these 4 years of usage and the new one isn't an original battery but it's working fine just like the normal one for a year.

The laptop had no issues until now, sometimes it hangs as it's a potato Lappy, I expect it. The fans rotate like crazy when I do heavy multitasking or run emulators especially since it feels like it will blow up while using BlueStacks, lol. But it handles itself good.

My Advice

I am now using it for blogging and other entertainment purposes ( very rare ) and it's serving its purpose efficiently. I will just advise individuals if you want to go for entry-level laptops never buy a 4GB variant it just sucks. Now we have 11th or 12th gen processor also I guess. Well, my needs are increasing as the digital world demands upgradation and so I will need a high end portable laptop, another costly goal added to the list, haha.

Sponsor Of This Article:-

Image by Unity, Follow NoiseOdyseeLinkedIn, and an article for more info.

Final Thoughts

I'm not that deep of a tech guy but in my teenage, I was one of that, I just choose different and wrong interests in life. But still, I won't be fooled by wrong tech promotions. I think it will work better if I install an SSD in it.

Any tech experts like Sir @Unity feel free to answer my above query . What do you think sir? Just for normal use, no heavy tasking.

Before purchasing any tech gadgets like this, research and compare a bit. Look for your need and requirements don't fall on the company's fake advertisements and promotions. Or simply consult a tech guy. I'm sure almost everyone has someone like that who is deep into tech and have good knowledge of them.

Best go for an i5 device with above 7th gen provide, haven't tried AMD devices so can't say about it. MacBook is also good but the after sales and maintenance is costly for normal people and again remember to get a device of at least 8GB ram. And never go with celereon processor devices. Raise your budget and get an i3.

Also your gadgets will survive more depending on your usage and care. Take good care of them because those are your assets you can even work on them and generate income and even purchase a better one so they deserve good care.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Noise.app

20
$ 3.57
$ 2.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @Unity
$ 0.10 from @Erickchristianmontajes
+ 11
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

My HP Laptop purchased in June 2012 is still running. I changed the keyboard twice. The battery is not in good condition, and the same is the body of the Laptop.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah almost a decade, it seems these devices can used till their last breath.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And the laptop was without Microsoft Windows OS. A few models of laptops are available without a proprietary OS and with FreeDOS OS. Hence, the price was about INR 10k lower. I installed Debian GNU/Linux.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also got mine in DOS but installed Windows later on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Next time, consider installing a GNU/Linux OS instead of Windows.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To tell you frankly I'm using my phone for almost 4 years now and I bought this through facebook second hand, I don't have the money at that time but I still remember how much I bought it for 67$ hahahaha Im not that techy person, as long as its usable , my phone is full of cracks because my bby used to throw it everywhere but still its usable hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a pretty good deal you got it the device is working well. Because I didn't have good experience with second hand devices earlier. And it's a better choice till she grows, lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I guess its just I got lucky, I brought this for 67 and use the phone for NC guess what I earn more than I spent buying it. Hahaha It looks like an investment hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whoa, you bought it in a much cheaper price. Considering that it has huge ram and rom. I am also planning to buy a lappy, but still a plan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A plan is made it just needs action and someday it will lead to the end goal. My best wishes to get it as fast as you can.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Because of quick change every year of the technology some of our units has always a factors, but the best thing is we do an option, just like installing new SSD to replace sata device, adding memory for helps for speed, the best part is your laptop is still working and operational even in any platform if windows or mac

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, some my friends suggested me to install SSD to fasten the loading time and smooth experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good old Hp. If you're going for an upgrade you might like Huawei. It has really good specs for a very affordable price.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will look for it, I just want a brand which has service centre nearby to avoid later issues.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh well that is true you have to consider that as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really hope to get a laptop real soon. Maybe by the beginning of the year. It would make my life really easier 😟

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My best wishes are with you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes the life electronic gadgets are quite low.... Like my laptop works I think 1 and a half year and after it was asking for maintenance but thank God it's still working if we see market price is quite high and I don't need to buy new one

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, very costly devices. We need to use them as long as they are working well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago