More than 250GB Of Data Used

21 79
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

A few years back the internet was like a fantasy world to me which was way costlier to enter as if the entrance cost was too much. All thanks to the data charges which were very high compared to now like 1.5$ for 1GB 2G/ 3G data.

I have used 2G data and trust me the experience was sick but it was enough for me for that time. Then came 3G, the speed was nice. Pages were loading at a good rate. I no longer have to put the download list at night. Earlier I downloaded files at night as in 2G the highest speed which we were getting was 25-30Kb/s, haha. Slow as a snail. But it was enough as I was using a Java phone at that time. Next Android 3G was introduced, the speed was good but wasn't enough for any online video viewing.

Then came 4G changing everything and pulling the network charges to Earth-like 2GB/ day for a month along with unlimited calls and 100 SMS/Day at the cost of 4$ only. The speed isn't true 4G but 10 times better than 3G.

And so now most of us spent way more hours using smartphones eating data through the internet and all. And In the previous month April, I was surprised to see how much data I consumed it's fricking more than 250GB of data. How you will see it later. By the way, I never checked my data usage, I just saw the @DennMarc post through which I got an idea to check mine as I will be aware of where I am using my data.

I use two phones as a data source one with a 4G enabled sim and one with a 3G just in case, I run out of data in 4G. Not I use two phones because the other phone is slow as a snail with a dual-core processor which will kill your interest in using a smartphone, I only use it to get or give a hotspot to my family members.

That's huge!

So I used 102.24 GB of data through mobile data and used 23.75 GB of data from Wi-Fi possibly from the other phone. What the hell what are you doing with that data. Haha, secrecy.

So let's see what I do with my data and which apps are eating most of it.

1. Mega

One of the leading cloud storage and file hosting service. It consumed 76.16 GB of data in just a month. I mostly use this service to download files. What the hell you are downloading man, Is it what I am thinking? Oh no no, you are wrong. Not those things, too busy with life. I mostly download anime videos in 1080p format and watch them on my laptop. And so the size of one episode is like 400-500MB so it eats a lot of data. I haven't watched much anime recently. I am adding daily episodes of some animes from my watchlist. With a busy lifestyle now, I don't get time to watch. Also, Netflix or any other streaming sites don't have that many titles so I had to download some from pirate sites, sorry. I will be shifting to the streaming platforms soon, I do want to support the animators and the community. My budget will be all set in few months.

2. Brave

How brave of this app to come in 2nd place, haha! Brave ate like 12.85GB of data. I mostly use the brave browser for surfing the internet and using both the dot platforms, it rewards us with BAT Crypto token. The token is hard to withdraw as it's Ethereum based but there are ways to withdraw it so I use it to get some extra crypto along with it has an adblocking feature.

3. Instagram

Well, this one is a surprise for me, I hardly spent 15 minutes of my life here. Yet it eats that much data i.e. 6.56GB. I do see sometimes some anime reels, but no cringe reels. Maybe that's the reason.

4. Youtube Music

What you don't use Spotify, c'mon man you are living in 21st century. Ah, sorry but I didn't knew Spotify has that much library collection, also this app supports headphones equaliser and can rock your world listening to music here which I didn't find in Spotify settings. If there's such a feature in that app let me know.

5. YouTube

Yeah, I don't watch many videos, daily 2-3 videos and mostly the educational ones regarding health or Crypto. No news or following any celebrity. The Guy is busy in his own celebrity lifestyle, hehe! No time to look into them.

6. Chrome

I occasionally open chromes as I am habituated with it as before brave I was using it and many times I don't see which browser I am using.

7. Google Play Store And Tethering

Mostly the application updates used that much data which is less compared to others and used some data to share through hotspot.

8. Honeygain

Some of you may be familiar with this application, this application uses some of your data in the background, it's very less. And rewards you JUMP token which is almost 1JUMP=2USDT value. Earlier the system was sick and would take people years to withdraw 20$. But now you can anytime withdraw the JUMP tokens and sell them. The only downside is that it has to run in the background every time which may cause battery drain. But I didn't have any of that issues.

Refferal Link:- Working

9. Telegram

I rarely open this messaging app, I think one friend asked me to download a movie from there and so it used some of the data.

10. Huobi and WhatsApp

Damm how much data this Cex is using, I only use this exchange, for now, to withdraw my funds as Indian exchanges have a 30% tax rule and I have no intention of paying tax like that.

Bonus:-

This was about my 4G phone. Let's see about the 3G one.

The 3G device used approx 115 GB of data, lmao. Don't think much I only download animes or movies sometimes, hihi!

Final Thoughts:-

Everything was calculated and expected except the Instagram app, I guess these apps consume a lot of data in photo and video processing. I realise earlier I couldn't even finish 1GB of data in one month and now 5GB/ DAY also won't be enough for me.

So overall in the last month I used more than 250GB data combined from both the phones.

What about you how much data you are using monthly?

Note:- This isn't a promotional post rather an information post intended for educational purpose only.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telegram

28
$ 5.53
$ 4.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.06 from @Shani59
+ 23
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

You have used so much data!

In 1989, when 1 US Dollar was about 12 INR, my supervisor professor at IIT Bombay could somehow purchase a PC XT from his 10 million INR research project. The price of the PC was bargained at around 100k INR. The hard disk was 60 MB and 256 KB RAM. In the whole Physics Department, there were only five PCs and no laser printer!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's huge, PCs were costly at that time not to mention the low specifications.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No way!!! Bro is this legit? You consumed so much data hahaha. What's Mega? This is my first time reading about it though. Is this native in your country? I rarely download 1080p, mostly standard size. Just like in the Netflix application.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yup, it's legit. It's like google drive but a different one where download speed is better and supports pausing facility.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have Honeygain but until now it's stuck in 5$+ haha. How about yours? I think it was last year when I installed it. Internet data is cheap in India, but are you there? How much is 250GB? Here 1GB is 1$ too good for 3 days, prepaid.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Honeygain system is changed, now it mines jump token which you can withdraw instant through metamask, I have accumulated around 2.5 jump tokens in one month costing around 4$. Yeah it's cheap in India, there are monthly packs of 2GB/DAY at the cost of 4$.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wut? That's huge man. As for me my overall data from May 1 until today is only 14GB ๐Ÿ˜…. I also download Anime, Movies and KDrama but only in Facebook and with 480 resolution ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Those days when i was still using Nokia C3-00, a Java phone, the amount of data i used to consume was very small, i can't remember the actually data consumption then, but i know it was very minimal. But when i switch to simbian phone my data usage started increasing, finally the present Android I'm using consumes data a lot. 4G makes us access the internet faster and also consume data more. When 5G finally arrives my country now, the data consumption will be at a very high level. I just pray i see enough money to subscribe to my network then.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I could remember when i was using a java phone, i would use 500mb for 2 weeks without exhuasting it, but now is a different story. My data usage for last month amounted to 67 GB. I mostly use hotspot from a friends phone, so i don't get to consume more data with my own phone.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah, I would love to have a generous friend like that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am so lucky then. But one thing i do is that i don't over use it. I skip days too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember when I was using a Java phone and 10mb would last a week. Now, 10GB won't even last two weeks.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

With time everything we consume the amount is increasing. Except our stomach.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whoahh, that's a huge data consumption in one month... Before i could used 16 GB in a month but right now, it became less

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am totally unaware from internet in my childhood but when I reached a 8th standard I came to know about internet and I also use 2g at that time and I hardly use 100 mbs But now I use 30 gb data just in a week

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are still behind me and can't excel to me. I used 300GB internet without any delay in one month. Because I am addicted to Netflix videos.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Woh, competition. I like it, but this time I won't compete, heh-e!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

O God! Thats too much๐Ÿ™ˆ I am sure I also have used more or less same amount of data. And yes I remember the 2G days, I remember How Fed up i used to get while downloading Michael jacksonโ€™s songs on 2G. Haha..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

More than 1 hour just to download a 3-5mb song, lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Literally, those were hard times๐Ÿ™ˆ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So much data consumed all thanks to advancement in technology and innovations.

$ 0.01
1 year ago