Modes Of Payment In Old Days

26 72
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
2 years ago

Did you ever wonder what people used as a payment option in the early days?

I think some of you may have.

Now we have lots of options through which we can pay or trade like Cryptocurrencies, currencies, gold, silver etc. But what people used in their early days.

I still remember a few years back around 4 years I guess, when my grandfather was giving me free advice in a scolding manner, haha. That you must focus on your studies to secure a job and earn money. You have to secure a high profile job as the value of the currency is decreasing day by day with the increase in our expenses. At that time, I was interested more in business and work in which the time was mine to decide when to work and when to rest.

So I listened to his words and in curiosity, I asked him to tell me, Dada, Is there only money from which we can buy and sell things?

He replied no, there are other things but the most important is money. He told me, they used gold and silver to buy lands in his early days and he shared with me that even in his grandfather's age there were lots of other modes of payment to buy goods and services from one another.

I asked him how did you find gold and silver. They say that his grandfather found some in mountains and caves. But he never. It was gift to him when he grew up. And he even said that the gold which he used for buying lands is 100 times more costly now like you would have been an easy Millionaire with the amount of gold he spent in buying those lands. And wait don't tell me you came from a Rich family, heh-e. Sad life! India was once called 'Sone Ki Chidiya' in English 'A Golden Bird' all due to the fact that it had huge amount of gold and other valuable resources which were taken out in the British visit. Hey, I don't hate Britishers and don't take it as a hate post. But I do hate those people from the old age who were involved in that age. Now most countries people are different and good and we shouldn't accuse them for their people's past crimes.

The metal coins which we still use now.

So I researched a bit on this topic along with the information which my grandfather told me.

He told me that people used to trade fruits and vegetables sometimes when they don't have money. Wow, this is amazing. Then after that, they used to trade metals like iron, and steel as a currency.

But he said that most people many times didn't want to trade their metals and fruits and here and so many times the trade didn't happened or ended unsuccessful. Especially gold and silver as after some time they realised that these two have limited supplies and with time their value is increasing just like what we have in Crypto, you see Bitcoin Cash have limited supply and yeah we are in a bear market now so don't expect much for now till the end of this year. And so when money was invented. I was surprised he had the right knowledge and information about the history of money. I searched what he said on the same day on Google and he was more than 95% correct.

I think with time we will have more payment options, for now, Crypto is trending maybe in a few decades more we will have another better candidate available. But it's about the future so we won't get deep into it.

Though money was invented with a limited supply but you should know that in times of crisis and economic drop the Central Banks of a country prints money, ultimately increasing the supply and decreasing the value that's why the value of money is decreasing with time. This is a different and vast topic to discuss, we will leave it for another time.

Final Thoughts

I feel like we have evolved nicely in trading our goods and services through different modes of payment. Earlier people didn't have this many options and privileges. And one should definitely have more than two to three currencies in possession, be it may money, Crypto, gold etc.

Who knows what global or economical hazard is capable of undervaluing one of them.

I still remember I traded one of my GBA game sets with one of my friends when I was a kid for an arcade game console. The trade was pretty cool, haha.

And what about love, can we pay love with love, Lmao. Only experienced ones can answer this question.

And tell me how many currencies you hold which you can use as a payment for now or in future?

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telegram

32
$ 5.95
$ 4.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Talecharm
$ 0.06 from @Dreamboy
+ 29
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Maybe in ancient times only exchanged goods of almost same value. I suggest you keep gold bullion it will be very useful in the future

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes bro, I will definitely buy some gold. It's still one of the best future investment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we used to exchange (trade) toys among our friends.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Those words of your father is evergreen. " The value of money is decreasing daily and we all have to make sure we double our income or look multiple sources of income". Inflation is really a terrible thing

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Inflation is like a disease nowadays. Let's work against it or one day it will become a virus and that would be troublesome to deal with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's like exchanging thing for foods or foods for things. It's cool too before.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, the people in the old times are doing barter as a way of exchanging goods and I cannot believe they also pay gold what a good investment! Today golds are such a life changing from rags to riches!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah, I think my family would have been millionaires if they didn't traded gold, haha such a shame. But they bought lots of lands but still they aren't half of the prices of gold's as lands in village are very cheap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have enough money now to take startup step in crypto journey. I am trying to earn BCH from this platform only and will save and later do something.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have seen in backwards villages that they buy what they want in return of crops like rice and wheat. This was also practice in the past. Indeed India is rich resources it was the main reason that why Britishers get attracted towards sub continent

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah some still use crops to trade good and services even now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm just grateful that genius people have come up with this kind of technology as they indeed make our lives easy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was also told that in time of our great grand parents, i mean the olden days, people will bring their valuable such a good, silvers, irons, and others things, then trade them as the currencies in obtaining other goods. This can be likened to what cryptocurrencies are doing in our present generation.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I only have money in bank right now (a little) , and BCH too a little and I have love but gladly no one to trade with haha. Just kidding.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You have a wealthy treasure,dear ! Hold some of them. Never empty it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also ask my grandmother to tell me about the payment method in earlier days and she said we usually exchange things with things for example if you have milk and I have butter then I can exchange my milk with your butter if I want

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's what I love about humanity and society, we evolve.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahh that's true. My grandparents used to told me the same story of interchanging things one has in the excess amount. And my belief is world started from coins, like darham and many more and now it's getting back to coin but this time coins are Hahaha cryptocurrency

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm yesterday, today and forever be greatful for being born in India with such amazing ancestors with such amazing knowledge and wealth that literally saved and saving the world.. nice post

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well count me in, we will ride the same plane.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also listened from my Grandma and also read in stories book that in ancient time people mostly interchange their things in case if they didn't have currency . For example if one person have the eggs in access amount and other have vegetables they will interchange their things what they have need and also I listened that gold is hidden in the mountain sometimes I wish to put out all these from mountain but sad we have not too much resources for gold mining 😿, and to make the Pakistan rich

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, gold mining is a very costly work. The gold's of Earth's surface were already extracted by our ancestors and so now remains the gold's inside the Earth's surface.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wouldn't mind going back to a time before money, just using exchange. Would be good for the planet too!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would love experience trading fruits for a service haha. That would be amazing experience though. It's rarely happen nowadays. They will just laugh at you. More crypto adoption is what we want.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I watched KFG chapter 2 recently, some influencers said some part of the story is based on facts that gold mining happened in India years ago! which is used in buying and selling goods but now the crypto currency revolutionized the world

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank God for technology, it has made life easier for us. Saving is now done easily.

$ 0.01
2 years ago