Hot Wallet vs Cold Wallet

16 606
Avatar for TheDINO
3 years ago

Well Hello read.cash Readers

I am writing this because I kept getting prompted by read.cash to backup my walletπŸ˜ƒ (thank you @read.cash for reminding me of your "beta status" and helping me watch out for my few dollars of BitcoinCash on this platformπŸ™‚)

I appreciate that read.cash was transparent and prompted me to backup my earnings

Now comes the question? How do I do that??? πŸ˜†

I realize that I sound completely ignorant (which I admit I am) but I did some research and thought I'd post the results for those who may find themselves receiving the same reminders from read.cash. Hope this helps a bit πŸ™‚

So when I looked at wallets - there are MANY to choose from

Of course there is the read.cash wallet, but when researching this is just a sample below of results when "googling" ⬇️ crypto wallet ⬇️ , AND I kept seeing the phrase "hot wallet" and "cold wallet"

WTH Does this mean? πŸ€”

other wallets - Coinbase, Blockchain, Binance Chain, Paxful Wallet, Atomic Wallet, Robinhood Exodus, Electrum, Monero, Edge, Mycelium, GreenAddress, Lumi Wallet, Wallet, BRD, Paper Wallet, Bitcoin Armory - the choice is yours πŸ€“

I was interested though, in the terms "hot wallet" and "cold wallet"

A "hot wallet" is a wallet that is connected to the internet. This type of wallet allows you to store coins / tokens as well as conduct transactions and send / receive cryptocurrency.

If you are going to be using your Bitcoin for payments or basic transactions it seems you need to have a hot wallet to accomplish this. It is considered less secure (obviously anything connected to the internet has possible security risks) However, most of my research claims that hot wallets are not unsafe, just more vulnerable.

On the other side a "cold wallet" is completely offline.

It is a physical cryptocurrency storage device that you keep and is not connected to the internet. (I was unable to find a "cold wallet" photo on Unsplash, but they look KINDA like a flash drive) This is supposed to be a most secure way to store crypto, but from my research it seems that taking funds in and out is a bit of a task.

So, what will I (personally) do?

I don't have a significant crypto investment at this point so I will be using a "hot wallet" then I will likely get a "cold wallet" later (once I have some money savedπŸ˜‚ ) I am still learning and want to be able to see what transactions I can and cannot do. I am not giving anyone advice, just sharing what I learned so far. πŸ€“

Cheers

Thank for the photos

https://pixabay.com/photos/banknote-coin-euro-cash-currency-1396351/

https://pixabay.com/photos/credit-squeeze-taxation-purse-tax-522549/

https://www.pexels.com/photo/photo-of-man-touching-his-head-3752834/

https://www.pexels.com/photo/person-holding-coin-1602726/

https://unsplash.com/photos/4_41-79dHvE

13
$ 7.71
$ 7.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.04 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
+ 3
Avatar for TheDINO
3 years ago

Comments

That's correct information. And I agree that since you don't have a significant crypto investment you shouldn't bother with a cold wallet. Yes, there is a bit of an extra danger with hot wallets but not a significant one, especially if you do your research and pick a good one.

$ 0.06
3 years ago

Thank you, figuring this out as we go πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When you first hear the names Hot Wallet and Cold Wallet, smile. Later when you explain the details about this, I have an idea about these two. I never had an idea before .... Thank you for your kind information ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wrote many beautiful topics. I liked your topics at once.Yes, if there is money, the wallet must be hot and if there is no money, the wallet is cold. I am expecting from the readcash of hot money in the wallet of my life.😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the useful info. One day I will have a "cold wallet" .

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Lol, same here (when I have something to put in itπŸ™‚)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha that sounds pretty wow honestly I've started with 0$ and my wallet is empty like my mind these days but as I've made my mind to work hard and try my luck with crypto starting from readcash so right now I'll have my readcash wallet but hope so if I made even upto 5$ I'll start looking for both hot and cold wallet lol 😹

$ 0.01
3 years ago

We WILL get there πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also learned about these two wallets today. Sounds ridiculous. But I never had any idea about hot wallet and cold wallet before....πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.Thank you for your kind information...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok. See I'm learning too so what I'm using in coinbase and binance are hot wallets lol. Seriously I don't have a clue of some of the terminologies but learning little by little. Thank you for this! I know now what its called lol

$ 0.01
3 years ago

tysm @tired_mama I'm right here with ya πŸ™‚

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Having problem with coinbase with this wallet thing. There's load to choose from hard to pick one when you don't know what you're doing. πŸ˜…

$ 0.10
3 years ago

agree

I ended up using Coinbase and also using https://wallet.bitcoin.com/ app

Please share your findings, there is large room for error or mistakes so I would like to learn now before I have money 🀣 (at least if I mess up now it's not going to bankrupt me for $5)

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I have to switch to binance my dear. Coinbase just letting me put money but not letting me sell or cash out. Unfair.

Hahaha we were not going to cry a river over $5 but I still be thinking that's my $5 πŸ˜‚!

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Haha AGREE 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago